LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Thomas Enger - Author

About the Author

Thomas Enger (b. 1973) is a former journalist. He made his debut with the crime novel Burned (Skinndod) in 2009, which became aninternational sensation before publication. Burned is the first in a series of 5 books about the journalist Henning Juul, which delves into the depths of Oslo's underbelly, skewering the corridors of dirty politics and nailing the fast-moving world of 24-hour news. Rights to the series have been sold to 26 countries to date. In 2013 Enger published his first book for young adults, a dark fantasy thriller called The Evil Legacy, for which he won the U-prize (best book Young Adult). Enger also composes music, and he lives in Oslo.

Featured books by Thomas Enger

Other books by Thomas Enger

Smoke Screen

Smoke Screen

Author: Thomas Enger & Jorn Lier Horst Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/02/2021

When the mother of a missing two-year-old girl is seriously injured in a suspected terrorist attack in Oslo, crime-fighting duo Blix and Ramm join forces to investigate the case, and things aren't adding up ... The second instalment in the addictive, atmospheric, award-winning Blix & Ramm series. 'An exercise in literary tag-teaming from two of Norway's biggest crime writers with a bold new take ... a series with potential' Sunday Times 'Grim, gory and filled with plenty of dark twists ... There's definitely a Scandinavian chill in the air with this fascinating read' Sun 'Alongside Jo Nesbo's Knife, Smoke Screen is this summer's most anticipated read, and it doesn't disappoint' Tvedestrandsposten, Norway ------------------------ Oslo, New Year's Eve. The annual firework celebration is rocked by an explosion, and the city is put on terrorist alert. Police officer Alexander Blix and blogger Emma Ramm are on the scene, and when a severely injured survivor is pulled from the icy harbour, she is identified as the mother of two-year-old Patricia Smeplass, who was kidnapped on her way home from kindergarten ten years earlier ... and never found. Blix and Ramm join forces to investigate the unsolved case, as public interest heightens, the terror threat is raised, and it becomes clear that Patricia's disappearance is not all that it seems... ------------------------ Praise for the Blix & Ramm series: 'Everything about this crime novel sings, the relationship between Blix and Emma, which is complex, but also the relationship between Blix and Fosse and Kovic. The past bleeds into the present and the clever melding of the strands of the story and the slow reveal of details that propel the story is masterly. This tale often surprises or shifts in subtle ways that are pleasing and avoid cliche. As the opener for a new series this is a cracker, long live the marriage of Horst and Enger' New Books Magazine 'A fast-moving, punchy, serial killer investigative novel with a whammy of an ending. If this is the first in the Blix and Ramm series, then here's to many more!' LoveReading 'A clever, gripping crime novel with personality, flair, and heart' Crime by the Book 'A stunningly excellent collaboration from Thomas Enger and Jorn Lier Horst .... It's a brutal tale of fame, murder, and reality TV that gets the pulse racing' Russel McLean 'Now - what happens when you put two of the most distinguished writers of Nordic noir in tandem? Death Deserved by Thomas Enger and Jorn Lier Horst suggests it was a propitious publishing move; a ruthless killer is pursued by a tenacious celebrity blogger and a damaged detective' Financial Times

Killed

Killed

Author: Thomas Enger Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/02/2018

Investigative journalist Henning Juul follows a dangerous trail to find his young son's murderer, in the explosive, heart-breaking finale to the international, bestselling Henning Juul series. 'Outstanding' Ragnar Jonasson 'A gripping narrative that begs comparison to Stieg Larsson' Bookpage 'Satisfyingly tense and dark ... a deep and complex book' Sunday Times ------------------------ Crime reporter Henning Juul thought his life was over when his young son was murdered. But that was only the beginning... Determined to find his son's killer, Henning doggedly follows an increasingly dangerous trail, where dark hands from the past emerge to threaten everything. His ex-wife Nora is pregnant with another man's child, his sister Trine is implicated in the fire that killed his son and, with everyone he thought he could trust seemingly hiding something, Henning has nothing to lose ... except his own life. Packed with tension and unexpected twists, Killed is the long-awaited finale of one of the darkest, most chilling and emotive series you may ever read. Someone will be killed. But who? ------------------------ Praise for Thomas Enger 'One of the most unusual and intense writers in the field' Barry Forshaw, Independent 'MUST HAVE' Sunday Express S Magazine 'Intriguing' Guardian 'Sophisticated and suspenseful' Literary Review 'Full of suspense and heart' Crime Monthly 'Thomas Enger writes with verve, colour and a pace that builds to a thrilling climax' European Literature Network 'Superbly compelling ... the characters leap right off the page' Shotsmag 'Destined to become Nordic Noir classic' Yrsa Sigurdardottir 'Slick, compelling and taut' Chris Ewan

Hegek

Hegek

Author: Thomas Enger Format: eBook Release Date: 23/09/2014

Henning Juul egy internetes ujsag bunugyi tudositoja. Ket ev betegszabadsag utan ter vissza a szerkesztosegbe. A hosszu labadozasra elsosorban lelki okokbol volt szuksege: nem tudta kimenteni kisfiat egy lakastuzbol.

Scarred

Scarred

Author: Thomas Enger Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2014

For fans of Borgen, The Killing and the Wallander series, a thrilling novel of murder and political scandal in Oslo. An elderly woman is found dead in a nursing home. Bjarne Brogeland, who heads up the investigation, soon realises that they are on the trail of a meticulous killer who has developed a keen taste for revenge. A killer who has only just begun... Trine Juul-Osmundsen, Norway's Secretary of State and Henning Juul's sister, is accused of sexually harassing a young male politician. As the allegations cause a media frenzy, Trine receives an anonymous threat telling her to resign. If she doesn't, the truth about what she really did that night will be revealed. Scarred reporter Henning Juul, finds himself torn between the two high profile cases. He wants to help his estranged sister, but as he digs into their past, he discovers memories that haunt them both. Memories of a broken home. Memories of a dead father. As the two cases collide, both their worlds threaten to fall apart. Scarred is the third novel in the acclaimed Henning Juul series, following Burned and Pierced, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Petrona Award.

Jul-Morde

Jul-Morde

Wie feiert man im hohen Norden Weihnachten?Tanzt man um den Tannenbaum, fhrt man Schlitten, genehmigt man sich ein Schlckchen Glgg?Nej, nej!In der norwegischen Einde stapft ein alter Einsiedler wachsam durchs Gehlz. Nicht schon wieder soll ein Tannenbaum aus seinem Wald gestohlen werden, dafr wird er sorgen - notfalls mit roher Gewalt. In Oslo schmiedet eine bse Stiefmutter finstere Plne, wie sie ihre schneeblinde Stieftochter loswerden kann, und im eisigen Stockholm gert ein Kommissar bei einem Verhr gehrig ins Schwitzen. Von einem vorweihnachtlichen Betriebsausflug in die Schren wird eine Kollegin am Ende nicht zurckkehren, und die Tour durch das winterliche Bergslagen wird fr zwei kriminelle Motorradrocker zur buchstblich letzten gemeinsamen Reise. Vor der sdschwedischen Kste wiederum fahren zwei Schwestern mit ihrem Vater ein letztes Mal zur See. Seine Asche haben sie in einer Plastiktte vom Supermarkt dabei. Stellt sich die Frage: Wie ist der geliebte Papa eigentlich gestorben?

Pierced

Pierced

Author: Thomas Enger Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/12/2012

A Convicted Killer: Despite always maintaining his innocence, Tori Pulli, once a powerful player on Oslo's underground crime scene, has been found guilty of murder. A Loose End: Scarred reporter, Henning Juul, is contacted by Pulli, who claims that if Henning can help clear his name he can give him details of who was responsible for the fire which killed his six-year-old son, Jonas. A Double Threat: Desperate to continue his own search for justice, Henning realises that the information Pulli promises is life threatening, to both of them and to others. As events take a deadly turn, Henning finds himself on the trail of two killers for whom the stakes have never been higher...

Burned

Burned

Author: Thomas Enger Format: eBook Release Date: 01/11/2012

Burned

Burned

Author: Thomas Enger Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/11/2011

A BRUTALISED VICTIM IN THE WILDS A solitary tent is found to contain the body of a half-buried woman. She's been stoned to death. There are lash marks across her back. One of her hands has been cut off. A LONE VOICE Two years earlier internet reporter Henning Juul lost his son, Jonas, in a domestic fire. As he returns to work, physically and emotionally scarred, Henning struggles to escape this past and to be taken seriously again as a reporter - by his colleagues, his ex-wife and the police. A MYSTERY IGNITED Told to cover the story of the woman in the tent, he finds an increasingly dangerous trail and, despite an early arrest, he is convinced that the story is more complex than the police think...

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.thomasenger.net

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more