Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter likeyoulove
Search our site
A Long Way from Home by Cathy Glass Read the opening extract of the brand new Cathy Glass book before its publication on 22/02/2018

The Medusa Chronicles by Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter
  

The Medusa Chronicles

Science Fiction   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

The much-lamented Arthur C. Clarke wrote the classic A Meeting with Medusa, award-winning short story in 1971 in which an alien creature is found on Jupiter. Years later, two of the best British SF writers of today have combined their talents for a worthy sequel. Following the life of Howard Falcon who discovered Medusa and is now as a result more than human, having been transformed into something of a cyborg, and is seemingly immortal as he witnesses the passing of the centuries and mankind's evolution and assists in its transition while himself evolving into a new consciousness with benevolent effect. Humanist, meditative, this is old-fashioned science fiction as evidenced by its sense of wonder and a positive attitude to scientific progress but, alongside, manages to keep the thrills on overdrive and the cosmic and planetary problems ticking along. A good read. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Simon Spanton's view...

This is an ambitious and impressive novel sequel to Arthur C. Clarke’s short story A Meeting With Medusa. Given that, you might expect a traditional SF novel and there are many of traditional SF’s virtues here; grand scope, challenging ideas, high adventure and awe-inspiring encounters with otherness. But award-winning and bestselling authors Baxter and Reynolds are not at the forefront of modern SF without good reason this novel is also built around the very latest ecological concerns and our nervous experiments with machine intelligence. It’s a heady brew.

The story spans nearly a thousand years; much of the third millennium and follows extraordinary developments as mankind leaves earth, leaves its traditional humanity and heads out into the far solar system. It would be easy for this to feel a little remote but we are guided through these events by post human cyborg Howard Falcon. Nearly killed in an accident Falcon is now essentially a near immortal human mind in a robot body and it is with him that we both meet with the alien intelligences within Jupiter and the machine intelligences we create. Falcon is an endearingly bolshy and opinionated companion and he gives this book real heart. You’ll remember him. But you’ll also remember the extraordinary descriptions of Jupiter, of the vast sweep of centuries and the amazing transformations Baxter and Reynolds predict for us. This is a vast and dangerous future but it is also one of incredible opportunities. Fans of Kim Stanley Robinson and Peter F. Hamilton will find a similar sense of wonder here. ~ Simon Spanton

Synopsis

The Medusa Chronicles by Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter

Inspired by Sir Arthur C. Clarke's short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space-exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond. All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds. Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident ...and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back. Not as himself, but as an augmented human: part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable. The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space. A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian.

Reviews

'The Medusa Chronicles engenders in me the sense of wonder that first brought me to SF, and reminds me why I love it so much. Two masters of the genre taking up the mantle of the grandmaster himself' -- Gavin Smith


About the Author

Alastair Reynolds was born in Barry, South Wales, in 1966. He studied at Newcastle and St Andrews Universities and has a Ph.D. in astronomy. He stopped working as an astrophysicist for the European Space Agency to become a full-time writer. Revelation Space and Pushing Ice were shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award; Revelation Space, Absolution Gap, Diamond Dogs and Century Rain were shortlisted for the British Science Fiction Award and Chasm City won the British Science Fiction Award. You can learn more by visiting his website.

Stephen Baxter is the pre-eminent SF writer of his generation. With Terry Pratchett he has co-authored the Long Earth novels. Published around the world he has also won major awards in the UK, US, Germany, and Japan. Born in 1957 he has degrees from Cambridge and Southampton. He lives in Northumberland with his wife. Visit Stephen Baxter's website.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

19th May 2016

Author

Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter

More books by Alastair Reynolds, Stephen Baxter
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.stephen-baxter.com

Publisher

Gollancz an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Hardback
336 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9781473210189

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools