debuts of the month twitter win prizes
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Hunting Shadows An Obsession for Him... Life and Death for Her by Sheila Bugler
  

Hunting Shadows An Obsession for Him... Life and Death for Her

Part of the Karl Kane Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Lovereading view...

A tense thriller that stalks the urban streets of southeast London and the bleak wilderness of the North Kent coast, Hunting Shadows introduces the forceful, compromised police detective, DI Ellen Kelly.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Hunting Shadows An Obsession for Him... Life and Death for Her by Sheila Bugler

'a tour de force...Imagine a collaboration between Ann Tyler and AM Homes' Ken Bruen Lee, southeast London. A young girl has disappeared. There are no witnesses, no leads, no clues. The police are tracking a shadow, and time is running out ...DI Ellen Kelly is at the top of her game - at least she was, until she took the law into her own hands and confronted her husband's killer. Now she's back at work, leading the investigation into the missing child. Her superiors are watching her; the distraught family is depending on her. Ellen has a lot to prove. And she knows it.

Reviews

this chilling thriller is a gripping introduction to DI Kelly -- The Good Book Guide impossible-to-put-down -- Westmeath Independent fans of Tess Gerritsen ... will love Hunting Shadows -- Westmeath Independent wonderful characterisation and a gripping plot. DI Ellen Kelly's mourning felt so tangible that it was heart-wrenching. This debut pulled me in straight away and I was hooked! A book that has stayed with me long after the reading -- Crimesquad terrific ... compelling -- Irish Examiner fast moving ... a lively heroine, with a well-imagined Irish-London background -- mysterypeople.co.uk well-written ... if you like Nicci French, then here's a new author for you to enjoy -- mysterypeople.co.uk skilfully paced and drags the reader along for the ride. More than once I thought I had the story figured out, only to be drip-fed fragments of information that proved me wrong. As the narrative accelerates to heart wrenching finish I was left hungry for more -- gobookyourself fans of Karin Slaughter will love the gritty realism and imperfection that is sometimes lacking in her novels -- gobookyourself Detective Jack Taylor ... you may step down now -- gobookyourself a thrilling debut. I predict a bright future for Sheila Bugler and Detective Ellen Kelly -- gobookyourself impressive debut ... a police procedural with heart ... gritty -- Stellareads.wordpress.com many will no doubt welcome the fact an Irishwoman is writing something other than chick-lit -- Books Ireland a brilliant crime debut ... akin to a narcotic but in a paper form -- Crimesquad.com Bugler has delivered a wonderful creation in the form of DI Ellen Kelly -- Crimesquad.com a haunting tale about mothers and daughters -- Crimesquad.com Bugler delivers an addictive crime novel of such a high standard that I could not leave this book alone until it was finished -- Crimesquad.com a well-written novel with characters that are tangible -- Crimesquad.com an astonishingly good debut and one that remains with you long after that last page has been turned -- Crimesquad.com a thoroughly readable and satisfying thriller, and certainly merits a resounding thumbs-up from this reader -- Raven Crime Reads did this live up to my expectations? I would say, categorically, yes -- Raven Crime Reads Knowing my love/hate relationship with female police characters, and the intrinsic baggage of cliches that usually surrounds them, I have to say that DI Ellen Kelly, rose above the normal mediocre and largely predictable female protagonists that I have encountered, and proves herself a more complex character. I always cite the character of DS Stella Mooney from David Lawrence's excellent and late lamented crime series as my doyen of London female detectives, so was singularly delighted that DI Kelly could easily give Mooney a run for her money... Bugler does not disappoint -- Raven Crime Reads in DS Kelly, Sheila Bugler has created a tough and complicated police officer for our times ... a compulsive psychological thriller ... a page-turning race to the end -- Hull Daily Mail a most assured debut -- crimefictionlover.com a cracking, serpentine plot and a strong central character in Ellen Kelly -- crimefictionlover.com mark my words, we will be hearing from Ellen Kelly again -- crimefictionlover.com Marks the entrance of a major new talent. Sheila Bugler delivers a chilling psychological twister of a novel, laced with homespun horrors, a compelling central character in DI Ellen Kelly and a strong contemporary resonance. Fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, prick up your ears. -- Cathi Unsworth Truly a tour de force. Imagine a collaboration between Ann Tyler and AM Homes. Yes, the novel is that good. Sheila Bugler might well have altered the way we view families and the very essence of mandatory Happiness. This is great writing. -- Ken Bruen


About the Author

Sheila Bugler

Sheila Bugler grew up in the west of Ireland. After studying Psychology at University College Galway, she left Ireland and worked in Italy, Spain, Germany, Holland and Argentina before finally settling in London, where she lives with her husband Sean, and their children, Luke and Ruby. In 2008, she was one of four writers to be offered a place on the Arts Council-funded Apprenticeships in Fiction programme - a mentoring scheme designed to nurture emerging writers in the UK and Ireland. When not writing, Sheila works as an online editor and writer and is also a regular contributor to the writing magazine Words With Jam.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th August 2013

Author

Sheila Bugler

More books by Sheila Bugler
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

sheilabugler.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Brandon an imprint of O'Brien Press Ltd

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781847173669

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools