Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Hunting Shadows An Obsession for Him... Life and Death for Her by Sheila Bugler

Hunting Shadows An Obsession for Him... Life and Death for Her

Part of the Ellen Kelly Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

A tense thriller that stalks the urban streets of southeast London and the bleak wilderness of the North Kent coast, Hunting Shadows introduces the forceful, compromised police detective, DI Ellen Kelly.

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Hunting Shadows An Obsession for Him... Life and Death for Her by Sheila Bugler

'a tour de force...Imagine a collaboration between Ann Tyler and AM Homes' Ken Bruen Lee, southeast London. A young girl has disappeared. There are no witnesses, no leads, no clues. The police are tracking a shadow, and time is running out ...DI Ellen Kelly is at the top of her game - at least she was, until she took the law into her own hands and confronted her husband's killer. Now she's back at work, leading the investigation into the missing child. Her superiors are watching her; the distraught family is depending on her. Ellen has a lot to prove. And she knows it.


this chilling thriller is a gripping introduction to DI Kelly -- The Good Book Guide impossible-to-put-down -- Westmeath Independent fans of Tess Gerritsen ... will love Hunting Shadows -- Westmeath Independent wonderful characterisation and a gripping plot. DI Ellen Kelly's mourning felt so tangible that it was heart-wrenching. This debut pulled me in straight away and I was hooked! A book that has stayed with me long after the reading -- Crimesquad terrific ... compelling -- Irish Examiner fast moving ... a lively heroine, with a well-imagined Irish-London background -- well-written ... if you like Nicci French, then here's a new author for you to enjoy -- skilfully paced and drags the reader along for the ride. More than once I thought I had the story figured out, only to be drip-fed fragments of information that proved me wrong. As the narrative accelerates to heart wrenching finish I was left hungry for more -- gobookyourself fans of Karin Slaughter will love the gritty realism and imperfection that is sometimes lacking in her novels -- gobookyourself Detective Jack Taylor ... you may step down now -- gobookyourself a thrilling debut. I predict a bright future for Sheila Bugler and Detective Ellen Kelly -- gobookyourself impressive debut ... a police procedural with heart ... gritty -- many will no doubt welcome the fact an Irishwoman is writing something other than chick-lit -- Books Ireland a brilliant crime debut ... akin to a narcotic but in a paper form -- Bugler has delivered a wonderful creation in the form of DI Ellen Kelly -- a haunting tale about mothers and daughters -- Bugler delivers an addictive crime novel of such a high standard that I could not leave this book alone until it was finished -- a well-written novel with characters that are tangible -- an astonishingly good debut and one that remains with you long after that last page has been turned -- a thoroughly readable and satisfying thriller, and certainly merits a resounding thumbs-up from this reader -- Raven Crime Reads did this live up to my expectations? I would say, categorically, yes -- Raven Crime Reads Knowing my love/hate relationship with female police characters, and the intrinsic baggage of cliches that usually surrounds them, I have to say that DI Ellen Kelly, rose above the normal mediocre and largely predictable female protagonists that I have encountered, and proves herself a more complex character. I always cite the character of DS Stella Mooney from David Lawrence's excellent and late lamented crime series as my doyen of London female detectives, so was singularly delighted that DI Kelly could easily give Mooney a run for her money... Bugler does not disappoint -- Raven Crime Reads in DS Kelly, Sheila Bugler has created a tough and complicated police officer for our times ... a compulsive psychological thriller ... a page-turning race to the end -- Hull Daily Mail a most assured debut -- a cracking, serpentine plot and a strong central character in Ellen Kelly -- mark my words, we will be hearing from Ellen Kelly again -- Marks the entrance of a major new talent. Sheila Bugler delivers a chilling psychological twister of a novel, laced with homespun horrors, a compelling central character in DI Ellen Kelly and a strong contemporary resonance. Fans of Nicci French and Sophie Hannah, prick up your ears. -- Cathi Unsworth Truly a tour de force. Imagine a collaboration between Ann Tyler and AM Homes. Yes, the novel is that good. Sheila Bugler might well have altered the way we view families and the very essence of mandatory Happiness. This is great writing. -- Ken Bruen

About the Author

Sheila Bugler

Sheila Bugler grew up in the west of Ireland. After studying Psychology at University College Galway, she left Ireland and worked in Italy, Spain, Germany, Holland and Argentina before finally settling in London, where she lives with her husband Sean, and their children, Luke and Ruby. In 2008, she was one of four writers to be offered a place on the Arts Council-funded Apprenticeships in Fiction programme - a mentoring scheme designed to nurture emerging writers in the UK and Ireland. When not writing, Sheila works as an online editor and writer and is also a regular contributor to the writing magazine Words With Jam.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th August 2013


Sheila Bugler

More books by Sheila Bugler
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


Brandon an imprint of O'Brien Press Ltd


448 pages


Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery



If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark