join us on facebook books of the month twitter
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Ice Child by Camilla Lackberg
  

Lovereading view...

March 2016 eBook of the Month.

A startling, clever and intensely dark tale set in a small Swedish town. This is the ninth novel with Detective Patrik Hedstrom and his crime writing wife Erica at the helm. Although you could read this as a standalone, it really is best to start at the beginning of the series with The Ice Princess. In ‘The Ice Child’ a number of girls have gone missing, one suddenly reappears with horrific injuries, Patrik and his team try to piece together the scant information they have. Right from the offset Camilla Lackberg allows insidious whispers and suggestions to creep into your mind, to set you thinking and considering possibilities. The writing is matter of fact, yet feelings and thoughts sit on the surface, to be tasted and explored. This feels like a jigsaw puzzle with the last piece sitting within sight but just out of reach. With cunning writing waiting to trip you up, ‘The Ice Child’ is a dramatic, sinister and enthralling tale. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Camilla Lackberg you might also like to read books by Anne Holt, Jo Nesbo and Hakan Nesser.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Ice Child by Camilla Lackberg

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrik Hedstrom and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. January, Fjallbacka. A semi-naked girl wanders through the woods in freezing cold weather. When she finally reaches the road, a car comes out of nowhere. It doesn't manage to stop. By the time Detective Patrik Hedstrom receives word of the accident, the girl has already been identified. Four months ago she disappeared on her way home from the local riding school, and no one has seen her since. It quickly becomes clear that she has been subjected to unimaginably brutal treatment. And it's likely she's not the only one. Meanwhile, Patrik's wife, crime writer Erica Falck, is looking into an old case - a family tragedy that led to a man's death. His wife was convicted of murder, but Erica senses that something isn't right. What is the woman hiding? As Erica digs deeper, the past starts to cast a shadow over the present and Patrik is forced to see his investigation in a whole new light.

Reviews

Praise for Camilla Lackberg:

'The hottest female writer in Sweden
Independent

'Heart-stopping and heart-warming ... a masterclass in Scandinavian crime writing'
Val McDermid

'Pacy ... with flashing insight into the dark places of the psyche'
Sunday Times

'Lackberg is an expert at mixing scenes of domestic cosiness with blood-curdling horror'
Guardian

'Both chilling and thrilling'
Sun

About the Author

Camilla Lackberg

Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her first six novels all became Swedish No 1 bestsellers. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.

Author photo © Alma Alexander

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th March 2016

Author

Camilla Lackberg

More books by Camilla Lackberg
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

//www.camillalackberg.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
432 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007518333

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools