Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

desmond elliott 2017 book price comparison eleanor oliphant
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater
  

The Forgotten Summer

Literary Fiction   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2016 eBook of the Month.

Seductively beautiful and evocative writing ensures ‘The Forgotten Summer’ is hard to put down. A vineyard in France holds the key to secrets and lies that have been hidden in history. 48 year old Jane finds herself torn, she is desperate for the truth, yet afraid of what she might discover as she explores the mystery surrounding her husband’s family. There were times when the vivid descriptions of the vineyard almost planted me in the fertile soil, allowing an emotional connection with the surroundings. The story seeps under your skin, there is a gentleness to the writing, interspersed with occasionally intense, slicing moments. As you read, you may have your suspicions, in fact Carol Drinkwater encourages your thoughts to explore further afield, helping you to empathise with Jane. Set aside some quality reading time as this is a lovely and entirely captivating, richly bittersweet tale. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Maz Tucker - 'Great book, really well written. This is a great sorry with lots of twists and turns.'
  • Trilby Humphryes - 'From the heady heights of the warm inviting opening chapters to the lows of the dark dreary days in wet Paris, The Forgotten Summer’ pulls you into its story with beautiful and emotive writing. '
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'The Forgotten Summer instantly transported me to France and a way of life I had seen many times but long forgotten...it does seem a very well researched story and reminded me of those written by Victoria Hislop.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'A great novel to get your teeth into - all is not what it seems and reading each page makes you want to know more and find out who, why, where and when.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'I knew from very early on that I was going to enjoy this story as the writing is simply beautiful...Highly recommend!'
  • Cathy Small - 'This story starts in the realms of running a successful vineyard in the south of France into the unsettling story of a family that has secrets that cause resentful feelings.'
  • Hannah Ward - 'I think this is a book to enjoy at any time of the year. But I think it is best read in the evening with a nice big glass of wine.'
  • Carrie Johnson - 'Sun, wine & a mystery set in Provence, the perfect holiday read!'
  • Ann Peet - 'Intriguing, atmospheric novel of family secrets set in Provence.'
  • Nicola Edwards - 'A beautiful, atmospheric story of loss, family drama and mystery.'
  • Pauline Braisher - 'Carol's love of Provence shines through in the evocative descriptions of the Provencal countryside and way of life. The characters are well-drawn and the story is interesting, with a few unexpected twists.'
  • Angie Rhodes - ' I really enjoyed the tense story… and the secret? Well let's just say it was not what I was expecting!!' 
  • Kirsty McGowan - 'An exquisite atmospheric story of family drama, loss and mystery. The characterisation is excellent particularly the women, Jane’s emotions are raw and felt throughout.'
  • Susan Mooney - 'Splendid -Splendid -Splendid! A Fabulous Read.'
  • Melanie Kane - 'This novel was beautifully written and so descriptive which really ensured I felt part of the story line.'
  • Julie Bertschin - 'The Cambon family is shrouded in mystery, considered outsiders in their community, keeping themselves apart.  Their hidden history is slowly revealed; their secrets and lies. Tantalising reading.'
  • Julie Bickerdyke - 'A thoughtful story set in scenic France in a family vineyard.  A story spanning decades with twists and turns to keep you guessing.'

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Question of Trust!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of Penny Vincenzi's latest page-turner, A Question of Trust, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater

Secrets ripen and fester over a long sweltering summer in France...The annual grape harvest at the Cambon family's magnificent vineyard is always a cause for celebration. But not this year. When an accident destroys the crop, leaving the estate facing ruin, Clarisse Cambon knows exactly who to blame - her daughter-in-law Jane. It's just the latest incident in a decades-long feud whose origin both women have concealed from Luc, who struggles to keep his wife and mother on speaking terms. But is Luc the saint he appears to be? When tragedy strikes, Jane is thrown into doubt. What secrets has her husband been keeping? Forced to take charge of the ailing vineyard, Jane uncovers further proof that Luc may not be the man she fell in love with twenty years ago. And, worse still, she knows that her old enemy Clarisse is the only one who knows the truth...For fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop, The Forgotten Summer is an atmospheric tale of secrets, forbidden passion and heartbreak.

Reviews

'Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this' Santa Montefiore


About the Author

Carol Drinkwater

Carol Drinkwater was our Guest Editor in May 2011 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.

Carol Drinkwater is a multi-award-winning actress who is best known for her portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC television series All Creatures Great and Small. She is also the author of over twenty books, both fiction and non-fiction. Her quartet of memoirs set on her olive farm in the south of France have sold over a million copies worldwide and her solo journey round the Mediterranean in search of the Olive tree's mythical secrets inspired a five-part documentary film series, The Olive Route. Carol lives in the south of France where she is writing her next novel.

Author Photo © Michel Noll

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th February 2016

Author

Carol Drinkwater

More books by Carol Drinkwater
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.caroldrinkwater.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Michael Joseph Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Literary Fiction
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780718183080

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools