Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Carol Drinkwater - Author

About the Author

Carol Drinkwater was our Guest Editor in May 2011 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.

Carol Drinkwater is a multi-award-winning actress who is best known for her portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC television series All Creatures Great and Small. She is also the author of over twenty books, both fiction and non-fiction. Her quartet of memoirs set on her olive farm in the south of France have sold over a million copies worldwide and her solo journey round the Mediterranean in search of the Olive tree's mythical secrets inspired a five-part documentary film series, The Olive Route. Carol lives in the south of France where she is writing her next novel.

Author Photo © Michel Noll

Featured books by Carol Drinkwater

Other books by Carol Drinkwater

The Lost Girl A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies

The Lost Girl A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies

Author: Carol Drinkwater Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/03/2018

'A story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the glorious countryside of southern France' Dinah Jefferies A LOVEREADING BOOK OF THE YEAR Since her teenage daughter went missing four years ago, Kurtiz Ross has blamed and isolated herself. Until, out of the blue, Lizzie is sighted in Paris. But within hours of her arrival, Kurtiz sees the City of Light plunged into terror. Amid the fear and chaos, a hand reaches out. A sympathetic stranger offers to help a terrified mother find her daughter. The other woman's kindness - and her stories of her own love and loss in post-war Provence - shine unexpected light into the shadows. The night may hold the answers to a mystery - but dare Kurtiz believe it could also bring a miracle? 'A gripping tale' Sunday Post 'Mesmerising, haunting and extraordinarily relevant' Lovereading 'An unforgettable journey of family, romance, regret and renewal' The Gloss 'The perfect holiday read that manages to keep you guessing the whole way through' Living France

My Story: Suffragette (centenary edition)

My Story: Suffragette (centenary edition)

Author: Carol Drinkwater Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/02/2018

18th June, 1910 We marched from the Embankment to the Albert Hall. It was a glorious day. The sun shone warmly. Everyone was in good spirits. There were aristocrats, artists, even my mother looked happy. She who has been so opposed to my work with the WSPU. More than 10,000 people had rallied and there were dozens of bands playing. It was quite incredible. We waved banners, carried flowers, sang along with the tunes. Hundreds who have been imprisoned for our Cause marched together in a powerful band. It was all very rousing of spirit. I felt proud to be a woman, proud to be alive, proud to be a part of a movement that is fighting to make a difference.

The Lost Girl

The Lost Girl

Author: Carol Drinkwater Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 29/06/2017

Lizzie, the only daughter of celebrated war photographer Kurtiz Ross, went missing four years ago. Kurtiz and her ex-husband, Oliver, arrive in Paris, following an unconfirmed sighting of their daughter. Oliver rushes to find her while Kurtiz waits, praying for a reunion. As sirens wail, Kurtiz finds comfort in Marguerite Courtenay - a glamorous former actress. As Marguerite distracts Kurtiz with stories of her life in post-war Provence, Kurtiz must confront her own ghosts and face up to home truths.

The Hunger

The Hunger

Author: Carol Drinkwater Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/02/2015

THE HUNGER is the exciting tale of a girl swept up in the fight for a free and fair Ireland, set at the time of the Potato Famine. It's 1845, and blight has destroyed the precious potato crop leaving Ireland starving. Phyllis works hard to support her struggling family, but when her mother's health deteriorates she sets off in search of her rebel brother and is soon swept up in Ireland's fight for freedom...

Complete Olive Series Collection

Complete Olive Series Collection

Author: Carol Drinkwater Format: eBook Release Date: 01/08/2013

The bestselling Olive Farm series by writer and actress Carol Drinkwater, now available as a complete ebook collection.Carol Drinkwater's much-loved Olive Farm memoirs, THE OLIVE FARM, THE OLIVE HARVEST, THE OLIVE ROUTE, THE OLIVE SEASON, THE OLIVE TREE and RETURN TO THE OLIVE FARM chart the adventures of Carol and her husband Michel on their Provencal Olive farm in the south of France.THE COMPLETE OLIVE SERIES COLLECTION includes all six books in Carol's vibrant and heartwarming series, from the humble beginnings of the organic olive farm and the highs and lows of life in provincial France; to Carol's sixteen month journey across the Mediterranean in search of the routes that olive growing has taken over the centuries; and back again to France for more life and love, olive oil and beehives at the farm in Provence.

The Olive Season By The Author of the Bestselling The Olive Farm

The Olive Season By The Author of the Bestselling The Olive Farm

Author: Carol Drinkwater Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/05/2011

I scan the terraces, planted with row upon row of ancient olive trees. It is April, late spring. Here in the hills behind the Cote d'Azur the olive groves are delicately blossomed, with their tiny, white-forked flowers. Beyond them, perched halfway up the slope of the hill, our belle epoque villa comes into view. Abounding in balustrade terraces, nestling among cedars and palms, facing out at a south-westerly angle, overlooking the bay of Cannes towards the sun-kissed Mediterranean, there it is, Appassionata, awaiting us... THE OLIVE FARM told how Carol Drinkwater and partner Michel fell in love with and bought an abandoned Provencal olive farm. Now, in THE OLIVE SEASON, Carol is pregnant and their ever-loyal gardener is leaving to oversee the marriage of his son. Often unassisted, and with new challenges to face, Carol takes on the bulk of the farm work alone. Water is, as ever, a costly problem, and she goes in search of a diviner who promises almost magical results. But, as the harvest season approaches, dramatic events cast dark shadows of their olive farm.

Crossing the Line Young Women Talk About Being in Trouble with the Law

Crossing the Line Young Women Talk About Being in Trouble with the Law

Author: Carol Drinkwater Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/04/2000

Young women talk about what led them to cross the line, and how they both coped with, and learned from, their experiences. The collection also includes young women who have had friends or family in jail, and what it has meant for them.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.caroldrinkwater.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Carol Drinkwater on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more