Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Dead Pretty The 5th DS McAvoy Novel

by David Mark

Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading Expert Review of Dead Pretty The 5th DS McAvoy Novel

Longlisted for the CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger 2016.

‘Dead Pretty’ is a distinctive, stimulating and provocative read. This is the fifth DS McAvoy novel, but my first, it’s wonderful when you come across a new author and find their books are right up your ever so slightly twisted alley. DS McAvoy is a rock solid mountain of a man and most definitely someone you would want on your side. The policing team have previously taken a bit of a battering, but there is no rest for the wicked as a murder investigation is next on their list. This story doesn't just capture your attention, it also stamps up and down all over it. At times there is a biting sparsity to the writing, at others the descriptive detailing surprises and almost forces you to stop and think, so you can imagine the gangs of words all together in the flesh. David Mark releases enough information to allow your suspicions to be released and wander about on the smug side, but is still capable of deviously lopping off their legs with an unexpected hit. So, excuse me while I rush off to read the first four in the series and then wait impatiently for the next!

Liz Robinson

Dead Pretty The 5th DS McAvoy Novel Synopsis

Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means...DEAD PRETTY is the stunning new novel from one of Britain's most original crime writers.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781444798098
Publication date: 28th January 2016
Author: David Mark
Publisher: Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Hardback
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Win a Signed Copy of for Any Other Truth by Denzil Meyrick

Win a Signed Copy of for Any Other Truth by Denzil Meyrick

Closing date: 01/08/2021

For Any Other Truth by Denzil Meyrick is "a twisty, intricate, and action-packed crime novel based in Scotland full of schemes, intrigue, and shenanigans." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of the ninth book in the 'DCI Daley series', we're working with Birlinn Ltd in order to give away a signed copy of For Any Other Truth. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st August 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Dead Pretty The 5th DS McAvoy Novel

The Kill
The Black Book
The Poet
The Lincoln Lawyer

David Mark Press Reviews

'More twists and turns than a corkscrew through the eyeball' -- Val McDermid

'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer and an exciting young talent' -- Peter James

'Breathtaking. Mark writes badness beautifully' -- Peter May

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781444798098
Publication date: 28/01/2016
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About David Mark

David Mark was a journalist for over fifteen years, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post in its Hull office. Original Skin is his second novel, and the follow-up to his critically acclaimed bestselling debut and 2012 Richard and Judy Book Club pick, Dark Winter. He lives in Lincolnshire with his family.   photo credit: @art east

More About David Mark

More Books By David Mark

Dead Pretty The 5th DS McAvoy Novel
Dead Pretty The 5th DS McAvoy Novel
Dead Pretty The 5th DS McAvoy Novel
View All Books By David Mark

Share this book