What Remains

by Tim Weaver

Part of the David Raker Missing Persons Series

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on What Remains

November 2015 Book of the Month.

A crime novel with an ending that you do not see coming – terrific.  Now into his sixth mystery missing persons investigator, David Raker thrillers just seem to get better with each.  This brings back Colm Healy from The Dead Tracks , a damaged police officer both physically and mentally, who has a complicated relationship with Raker.  We also get more of Raker’s private life so knowledge of the earlier series is an advantage but not essential.  Here we are once again thrown into a gripping story with relentless tension, lots of twists, and plenty of action.  A great read.  Highly recommended.  He really is an excellent crime writer. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

 

Click here to find out how you can download a podcast by Tim Weaver called Missing which looks into how it is possible for someone to disappear.

Sarah Broadhurst

What Remains Synopsis

The bestselling author of the David Raker series, including Fall From Grace and Never Coming Back, is back with a new missing person's sensation investigation. When all has been lost what is there left to find? Colm Healy used to be one of the Met's best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his life was left in ruins. His failure to find an elusive killer - or even a motive for such a merciless crime - consumed him, his career and his family. Missing persons investigator David Raker is the only friend Healy has left. The only one who understands that redemption rests on solving these murders. As they reopen the investigation together, Raker learns the hard way how this case breeds obsession - and how an unsolvable puzzle can break even the best detective. Their search will take them down a trail of darkness, unravelling a thread of tragedy spanning years, and will force them to sacrifice everything they have left...No Goodbye. No Trace. Know Weaver. For fans of Broadchurch, The Missing, Michael Connelly and Linwood Barclay.

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

What Remains Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Janet Gilliard - 'I read this book almost in one go and now am waiting for the next in the series...Highly recommended.'
  • Sue Burton - 'Another great book by a great author...this book did not disappoint...Roll on the next book from Mr Weaver.
  • Carol Peace - 'A great book that had me holding my breath right until the last page.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'A great detective story that will keep you turning the pages, wanting to read late into the night.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This is a big book, almost 600 pages, and I read it one day, it was that good! if you love mysteries and thrillers then this really fast paced plot will tick all those boxes.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Opening pages had me hooked but overall felt this was not Tim Weaver at his best.'
  • Ray Orgill - 'An exciting investigation.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'An absolutely cracking read, with more twists and turns in it than an alpine pass.'
  • Lynda DeFreitas - 'Tense, gripping and puzzling. Another excellent David Raker mystery.'
  • Ann Peet - 'Clever, complex, gripping thriller.'
  • Cathy Burman - 'Gripping, creepy, enthralling, complex, horrific, tense and spine chilling.  I would be willing to bet that this will keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing right until the end. Enjoy!'
  • Vicki Sharman - 'while this book is hugely enjoyable, it doesn't quite hit the heady heights of the other books. It's still a great read and I'm looking forward to the next one.'
  • Tracey Poulter - 'The story is intricately woven, with many layers, which keeps the reader enthralled. It raises questions about the impact of our past, what makes people cross the line and redemption. Not for the faint-hearted but well worth reading.'
  • Tania - 'A dark and complex thriller.'

What Remains Press Reviews

Praise for Tim Weaver:

'Weaver has become one of this country's most respected, best-selling crime writers, and he fully deserves to be. Written with elegance, care and craft, What Remains is a luminous example of what a considerable talent Weaver has become. Catch him at once.' Daily Mail

'Weaver's books get better each time - tense, complex, sometimes horrific, written with flair as well as care.' Guardian

'I couldn't put it down. (Sun). Weaver has delivered another cracking crime thriller.' Daily Mail

'Weaver knows how to construct a complex plot...you will be kept guessing until the last few pages. David Raker has joined a select band of fictional characters whose return in a new book excites existing fans and collects new ones with every publication...he dominates the stage...one of the more vibrant and unusual protagonists in modern crime fiction.' Crime Fiction Lover

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sweet Heart
Dead If You Don't
I Know a Secret (Rizzoli & Isles 12)
Insidious Intent (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 10)

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405913485
Publication date: 22/10/2015
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780718181673
Publication date: 16/07/2015
Publisher: Michael Joseph Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405913485
Publication date: 22nd October 2015
Author: Tim Weaver
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 608 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath.

More About Tim Weaver

More Books By Tim Weaver

Cover for Broken Heart by Tim Weaver
Cover for What Remains by Tim Weaver
Cover for Fall from Grace David Raker Novel by Tim Weaver
View All Books By Tim Weaver

Share this book