LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

What Remains

by Tim Weaver

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on What Remains

November 2015 Book of the Month.

A crime novel with an ending that you do not see coming – terrific.  Now into his sixth mystery missing persons investigator, David Raker thrillers just seem to get better with each.  This brings back Colm Healy from The Dead Tracks , a damaged police officer both physically and mentally, who has a complicated relationship with Raker.  We also get more of Raker’s private life so knowledge of the earlier series is an advantage but not essential.  Here we are once again thrown into a gripping story with relentless tension, lots of twists, and plenty of action.  A great read.  Highly recommended.  He really is an excellent crime writer. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

 

Click here to find out how you can download a podcast by Tim Weaver called Missing which looks into how it is possible for someone to disappear.

Sarah Broadhurst

What Remains Synopsis

The bestselling author of the David Raker series, including Fall From Grace and Never Coming Back, is back with a new missing person's sensation investigation. When all has been lost what is there left to find? Colm Healy used to be one of the Met's best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his life was left in ruins. His failure to find an elusive killer - or even a motive for such a merciless crime - consumed him, his career and his family. Missing persons investigator David Raker is the only friend Healy has left. The only one who understands that redemption rests on solving these murders. As they reopen the investigation together, Raker learns the hard way how this case breeds obsession - and how an unsolvable puzzle can break even the best detective. Their search will take them down a trail of darkness, unravelling a thread of tragedy spanning years, and will force them to sacrifice everything they have left...No Goodbye. No Trace. Know Weaver. For fans of Broadchurch, The Missing, Michael Connelly and Linwood Barclay.

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/03/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from December to March. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: Winterkill by Ragnar Jonasson - Published December 2020 There's Only One Danny Garvey by  David F. Ross - Published January 2021 Deity by Matt Wesolowski - Published February 2021 Smoke Screen by Thomas Enger, Jorn Lier Horst - Published February 2021 Hotel Cartagena by Simone Buchholz  - Published March 2021? Bound by Vanda Symon - Published March 2021 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st March 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What Remains Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Janet Gilliard - 'I read this book almost in one go and now am waiting for the next in the series...Highly recommended.'
  • Sue Burton - 'Another great book by a great author...this book did not disappoint...Roll on the next book from Mr Weaver.
  • Carol Peace - 'A great book that had me holding my breath right until the last page.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'A great detective story that will keep you turning the pages, wanting to read late into the night.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This is a big book, almost 600 pages, and I read it one day, it was that good! if you love mysteries and thrillers then this really fast paced plot will tick all those boxes.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Opening pages had me hooked but overall felt this was not Tim Weaver at his best.'
  • Ray Orgill - 'An exciting investigation.'
  • Sarah Tilley - 'An absolutely cracking read, with more twists and turns in it than an alpine pass.'
  • Lynda DeFreitas - 'Tense, gripping and puzzling. Another excellent David Raker mystery.'
  • Ann Peet - 'Clever, complex, gripping thriller.'
  • Cathy Burman - 'Gripping, creepy, enthralling, complex, horrific, tense and spine chilling.  I would be willing to bet that this will keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing right until the end. Enjoy!'
  • Vicki Sharman - 'while this book is hugely enjoyable, it doesn't quite hit the heady heights of the other books. It's still a great read and I'm looking forward to the next one.'
  • Tracey Poulter - 'The story is intricately woven, with many layers, which keeps the reader enthralled. It raises questions about the impact of our past, what makes people cross the line and redemption. Not for the faint-hearted but well worth reading.'
  • Tania - 'A dark and complex thriller.'

What Remains Press Reviews

Praise for Tim Weaver:

'Weaver has become one of this country's most respected, best-selling crime writers, and he fully deserves to be. Written with elegance, care and craft, What Remains is a luminous example of what a considerable talent Weaver has become. Catch him at once.' Daily Mail

'Weaver's books get better each time - tense, complex, sometimes horrific, written with flair as well as care.' Guardian

'I couldn't put it down. (Sun). Weaver has delivered another cracking crime thriller.' Daily Mail

'Weaver knows how to construct a complex plot...you will be kept guessing until the last few pages. David Raker has joined a select band of fictional characters whose return in a new book excites existing fans and collects new ones with every publication...he dominates the stage...one of the more vibrant and unusual protagonists in modern crime fiction.' Crime Fiction Lover

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Night Swim
Camino Winds
Invisible Girl
Trust

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405913485
Publication date: 22/10/2015
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780718181673
Publication date: 16/07/2015
Publisher: Michael Joseph Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405913485
Publication date: 22nd October 2015
Author: Tim Weaver
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath.

More About Tim Weaver

More Books By Tim Weaver

Cover for No One Home by Tim Weaver
Cover for You Were Gone  by Tim Weaver
Cover for Broken Heart by Tim Weaver
View All Books By Tim Weaver

Share this book