Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

hold back the stars debuts of the month tudor queens series
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

What Remains by Tim Weaver
  

Lovereading view...

Colm Healy used to be one of the Met's best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his life was left in ruins. His failure to find an elusive killer - or even a motive for such a merciless crime - consumed him, his career and his family.

If you like Tim Weaver you might also like to read books by Tess Gerritsen, Robert Goddard and Peter James.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

What Remains by Tim Weaver

The bestselling author of the David Raker series, including Fall From Grace and Never Coming Back, is back with a new missing person's sensation investigation. When all has been lost what is there left to find? Colm Healy used to be one of the Met's best detectives. Until, haunted by the unsolved murders of a mother and her twin daughters, his life was left in ruins. His failure to find an elusive killer - or even a motive for such a merciless crime - consumed him, his career and his family. Missing persons investigator David Raker is the only friend Healy has left. The only one who understands that redemption rests on solving these murders. As they reopen the investigation together, Raker learns the hard way how this case breeds obsession - and how an unsolvable puzzle can break even the best detective. Their search will take them down a trail of darkness, unravelling a thread of tragedy spanning years, and will force them to sacrifice everything they have left...No Goodbye. No Trace. Know Weaver. For fans of Broadchurch, The Missing, Michael Connelly and Linwood Barclay. Praise for Tim Weaver: Weaver's books get better each time - tense, complex, sometimes horrific, written with flair as well as care. (Guardian). I couldn't put it down. (Sun). Weaver has delivered another cracking crime thriller. (Daily Mail). Tim Weaver is the bestselling author of Chasing the Dead, The Dead Tracks, Vanished, Richard and Judy Book Club selection Never Coming Back, which was also nominated for a National Book Award, and most recently Fall From Grace. All his novels feature missing persons investigator David Raker. A former journalist and magazine editor, he lives near Bath with his wife and daughter.

Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

Janet Gilliard - 'I read this book almost in one go and now am waiting for the next in the series...Highly recommended.' Sue Burton - 'Another great book by a great author...this book did not disappoint...Roll on the next book from Mr Weaver. Carol Peace - 'A great book that had me holding my breath right until the last page.' Angie Rhodes - 'A great detective story that will keep you turning the pages, wanting to read late into the night.' Edel Waugh - 'This is a big book, almost 600 pages, and I read it one day, it was that good! if you love mysteries and thrillers then this really fast paced plot will tick all those boxes.' Phylippa Smithson - 'Opening pages had me hooked but overall felt this was not Tim Weaver at his best.' Ray Orgill - 'An exciting investigation.' Sarah Tilley - 'An absolutely cracking read, with more twists and turns in it than an alpine pass.' Lynda DeFreitas - 'Tense, gripping and puzzling. Another excellent David Raker mystery.' Ann Peet - 'Clever, complex, gripping thriller.' Cathy Burman - 'Gripping, creepy, enthralling, complex, horrific, tense and spine chilling. I would be willing to bet that this will keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing right until the end. Enjoy!' Vicki Sharman - 'while this book is hugely enjoyable, it doesn't quite hit the heady heights of the other books. It's still a great read and I'm looking forward to the next one.' Tracey Poulter - 'The story is intricately woven, with many layers, which keeps the reader enthralled. It raises questions about the impact of our past, what makes people cross the line and redemption. Not for the faint-hearted but well worth reading.'

'Weaver's books get better each time - tense, complex, sometimes horrific, written with flair as well as care' Guardian

'I couldn't put it down' Sun

About the Author

Tim Weaver

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Tim Weaver

More books by Tim Weaver
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.timweaverbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories


ISBN

9780718181673

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools