likeyoulove
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Stallo by Stefan Spjut
  

Stallo

Horror   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Following the disappearance of a young boy from a remote cabin in a Swedish forest, his mother claims he was abducted by a giant to credulous reaction. He is never found again. Years later, Susso, a young woman fascinated by legends and mysteries and intent on proving the existence of mysterious creatures is drawn to the woods after an old woman claims to have observed a small creature outside her house, eyeing her small grandson. Her expedition will prove a trek into the unknown and will reveal so much more than all the speculations she entertained on her website. Mythology is turned upside down in this doorstepper of a supernatural thriller with atmosphere, surprises and chills to spare, at times reminiscent of the wonderful LET THE RIGHT ONE IN, albeit with different creatures from the darkness involved. Compelling and as good as any Stephen King excursion into the unknown. Horror with a touch of compassionate humanity. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Stallo by Stefan Spjut

What if something is out there? This is a haunting supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage and Salem's Lot. I was enthralled form the very first page...the words seems to sparkle on the page. (Karl Ove Knausgaard). In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found. The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes. On its back sits a creature, which the photographer claims is something extraordinary. Twenty-five years later, and back in Laponia, Susso runs a much-maligned web page, one dedicated to searching for creatures whose existence have not yet been proven: the Yeti, the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot. But Susso has her own obsession, one inherited from her grandfather, the well-known wildlife photographer. When an old woman claims that a small creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours, Susso picks up her camera and leaves for what will become a terrifying adventure into the unknown...

About the Author

Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic and culture editor. His debut novel Fiskarens garn (Fisherman's Yarn) was published in 2008. He lives in Stockholm and has two children, a girl and a boy. He holds a black belt in taekwondo and considers himself a reprobate MMA-junkie.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th June 2015

Author

Stefan Spjut

More books by Stefan Spjut
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Faber & Faber

Format

Paperback
608 pages

Categories

Horror
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Horror & ghost stories
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780571296781

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools