debuts of the month twitter join us on facebook
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Stallo by Stefan Spjut
  

Stallo

Horror   Thriller / Suspense   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   eBook Favourites   

RRP £14.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Following the disappearance of a young boy from a remote cabin in a Swedish forest, his mother claims he was abducted by a giant to credulous reaction. He is never found again. Years later, Susso, a young woman fascinated by legends and mysteries and intent on proving the existence of mysterious creatures is drawn to the woods after an old woman claims to have observed a small creature outside her house, eyeing her small grandson. Her expedition will prove a trek into the unknown and will reveal so much more than all the speculations she entertained on her website. Mythology is turned upside down in this doorstepper of a supernatural thriller with atmosphere, surprises and chills to spare, at times reminiscent of the wonderful LET THE RIGHT ONE IN, albeit with different creatures from the darkness involved. Compelling and as good as any Stephen King excursion into the unknown. Horror with a touch of compassionate humanity. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Stallo by Stefan Spjut

What if something is out there? This is a haunting supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage and Salem's Lot. I was enthralled form the very first page...the words seems to sparkle on the page. (Karl Ove Knausgaard). In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found. The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes. On its back sits a creature, which the photographer claims is something extraordinary. Twenty-five years later, and back in Laponia, Susso runs a much-maligned web page, one dedicated to searching for creatures whose existence have not yet been proven: the Yeti, the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot. But Susso has her own obsession, one inherited from her grandfather, the well-known wildlife photographer. When an old woman claims that a small creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours, Susso picks up her camera and leaves for what will become a terrifying adventure into the unknown...

About the Author

Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic and culture editor. His debut novel Fiskarens garn (Fisherman's Yarn) was published in 2008. He lives in Stockholm and has two children, a girl and a boy. He holds a black belt in taekwondo and considers himself a reprobate MMA-junkie.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th June 2015

Author

Stefan Spjut

More books by Stefan Spjut
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Faber & Faber

Format

Paperback
608 pages

Categories

Horror
Thriller / Suspense
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites

Horror & ghost stories
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780571296781

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools