Stallo

by Stefan Spjut

eBooks of the Month Horror Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Stallo

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Following the disappearance of a young boy from a remote cabin in a Swedish forest, his mother claims he was abducted by a giant to credulous reaction. He is never found again. Years later, Susso, a young woman fascinated by legends and mysteries and intent on proving the existence of mysterious creatures is drawn to the woods after an old woman claims to have observed a small creature outside her house, eyeing her small grandson. Her expedition will prove a trek into the unknown and will reveal so much more than all the speculations she entertained on her website. Mythology is turned upside down in this doorstepper of a supernatural thriller with atmosphere, surprises and chills to spare, at times reminiscent of the wonderful LET THE RIGHT ONE IN, albeit with different creatures from the darkness involved. Compelling and as good as any Stephen King excursion into the unknown. Horror with a touch of compassionate humanity. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Maxim Jakubowski

Stallo Synopsis

What if something is out there? This is a haunting supernatural thriller for fans of Let the Right One In, The Passage and Salem's Lot. I was enthralled form the very first page...the words seems to sparkle on the page. (Karl Ove Knausgaard). In the summer of 1978 a young boy disappears without trace from a summer cabin in the woods. His mother claims that he was abducted by a giant. The boy is never found. The previous year, over in a Swedish National Park, a wildlife photographer takes a strange picture from his small airplane, of a bear running over the marshes. On its back sits a creature, which the photographer claims is something extraordinary. Twenty-five years later, and back in Laponia, Susso runs a much-maligned web page, one dedicated to searching for creatures whose existence have not yet been proven: the Yeti, the Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot. But Susso has her own obsession, one inherited from her grandfather, the well-known wildlife photographer. When an old woman claims that a small creature has been standing outside her house, observing her and her five year old grandson for hours, Susso picks up her camera and leaves for what will become a terrifying adventure into the unknown...

If you loved this, you might like these...

Dark Legacy
Sweet Heart
Little Eve
Strange Weather

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571296781
Publication date: 04/06/2015
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571296781
Publication date: 4th June 2015
Author: Stefan Spjut
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 608 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Horror, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Horror & ghost stories, Thriller / suspense,

About Stefan Spjut

Stefan Spjut (b. 1973) has worked as a literary critic and culture editor. His debut novel Fiskarens garn (Fisherman's Yarn) was published in 2008. He lives in Stockholm and has two children, a girl and a boy. He holds a black belt in taekwondo and considers himself a reprobate MMA-junkie.

More About Stefan Spjut

More Books By Stefan Spjut

Cover for Stallo by Stefan Spjut
View All Books By Stefan Spjut

Share this book