likeyoulove eligible curtis sittenfeld killer on the wall
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland
  

The 3rd Woman

Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A discerning, penetrating novel with a difference; there is the double edged substantial plot of a murder investigation, sitting alongside a political thriller. Originally writing under the pseudonym of Sam Bourne, the author Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist. The first chapter simply and immediately sets the scene of a financially downtrodden USA answerable to the People’s Republic of China, while Madison, a brilliant, determined, insomniac of a journalist starts to investigate her own sister's murder...this clever concept works. The author has the ability to tightly tie the two strands together and add many more layers of intrigue and corruption, without ever losing a realistic and believable tone. ‘The 3rd Woman’ has a number of surprises in store, making an already steely and intelligent novel, an impressively stimulating read. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Joan Sidwell - 'This is a gripping, sinister book, a real page turner with many twists and turns and red herrings.'
  • Amy Maggs - 'Set firmly in my favourite genre; I've now got a new fantastic author to keep my eye on. Absolutely gripping stuff - and most importantly to me - nothing that I've seen before!'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'The 3rd Woman is a brilliant fast-paced intelligent thriller, with short snappy chapters that keep the book moving at a fast pace. I thought that the underlying political background was fascinating.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'This powerful story is set in America – but an America that is working hand in glove with the People's Republic of China. We follow as Maddy, exhausted both physically and mentally, gradually works out the who, what, and why of the web of secrecy.'
  • Lee Ruddin - 'The cast of characters are neither original nor imaginative as they help or hinder Madison in her quest. The 3rd Woman should not be the first choice for fans of Robert Harris.'
  • Neil Williams - 'A clever ‘whodunnit’ set in an alternative reality, this is a gripping tale that kept me holed and intrigued as the story unravelled.'
  • Lynda DeFreitas - 'Great read, pacy thriller that holds your attention.'
  • Michelle McKernan - 'A brilliant, fast-paced book that I struggled to put down.  The story is full of intrigue with well-rounded characters.  An excellent read.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'well written with a clever idea for the plot.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Quite simply, this is an addictive read.  A traditional crime thriller, that is a right roller coaster of full on story.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Murder, lies and corruption confronts journalist Madison Webb when her own sister is murdered and she begins her own investigation.'
  • Pauline Fraisher - 'Excellent book - a real page-turner.'
  • Rachel Bridgeman - 'A brilliantly breathless thriller that you will carry around with you until it is finished!'

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland

A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. SHE CAN'T SAVE HER SISTER Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing lies and corruption. But she never thought she would be investigating her own sister's murder. SHE CAN'T TRUST THE POLICE Madison refuses to accept the official line that Abigail's death was an isolated crime. She uncovers evidence that suggests Abi was the third victim in a series of killings hushed up as part of a major conspiracy. SHE CAN EXPOSE THE TRUTH In a United States that now bows to the People's Republic of China, corruption is rife - the government dictates what the 'truth' is. With her life on the line, Madison must give up her quest for justice, or face the consequences...

Reviews

'Nobody does the high-IQ, high-octane thriller better than Jonathan Freedland'
Tony Parsons

'Boldly imaginative ... a magnetic heroine in a heart-racing story'
A D Miller, author of Snowdrops

Praise for Pantheon:

***** 'Shifting his focus from hi-tech present day conspiracies to a very dark chapter of the second world war, Bourne has proved he can more than rub shoulders with the likes of John Le Carre and Robert Harris
Mirror

'Pantheon is a propulsive, satisfying novel which burns with moral indignation, earning Bourne his place at the thriller-writers' high table' Guardian

'Ingeniously constructed ... a page-turner which maintains the tension' Observer

'An intelligent thriller with a vividly drawn wartime atmosphere' Independent

About the Author

Jonathan Freedland

Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist, author and broadcaster. He is the Guardian's executive editor for Opinion, overseeing Comment is free, editorials and long reads. He also writes a weekly column. He is a regular contributor to the New York Times and the New York Review of Books, and presents BBC Radio 4's contemporary history series, The Long View. In 2014 he was awarded the Orwell special prize for journalism, having been named columnist of the year in the 2002 What the Papers Say awards. Since 2006 he has published five best-selling novels under the pseudonym Sam Bourne. The first, The Righteous Men, was a Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller, and has been translated into 30 languages. His subsequent novels have all been top five bestsellers. Jonathan was educated at Wadham College, Oxford - where he studied Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) and edited the university newspaper, Cherwell - and, earlier, at University College School, London. He lives in London with his wife and their two children.

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd July 2015

Author

Jonathan Freedland

More books by Jonathan Freedland
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jonathanfreedland.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780007413683

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools