Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The 3rd Woman

by Jonathan Freedland

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The 3rd Woman

A discerning, penetrating novel with a difference; there is the double edged substantial plot of a murder investigation, sitting alongside a political thriller. Originally writing under the pseudonym of Sam Bourne, the author Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist. The first chapter simply and immediately sets the scene of a financially downtrodden USA answerable to the People’s Republic of China, while Madison, a brilliant, determined, insomniac of a journalist starts to investigate her own sister's murder...this clever concept works. The author has the ability to tightly tie the two strands together and add many more layers of intrigue and corruption, without ever losing a realistic and believable tone. ‘The 3rd Woman’ has a number of surprises in store, making an already steely and intelligent novel, an impressively stimulating read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

The 3rd Woman Synopsis

A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris. SHE CAN'T SAVE HER SISTER Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing lies and corruption. But she never thought she would be investigating her own sister's murder. SHE CAN'T TRUST THE POLICE Madison refuses to accept the official line that Abigail's death was an isolated crime. She uncovers evidence that suggests Abi was the third victim in a series of killings hushed up as part of a major conspiracy. SHE CAN EXPOSE THE TRUTH In a United States that now bows to the People's Republic of China, corruption is rife - the government dictates what the 'truth' is. With her life on the line, Madison must give up her quest for justice, or face the consequences...

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry was released on the 6th September. To celebrate we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey.  She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

The 3rd Woman Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Joan Sidwell - 'This is a gripping, sinister book, a real page turner with many twists and turns and red herrings.'
  • Amy Maggs - 'Set firmly in my favourite genre; I've now got a new fantastic author to keep my eye on. Absolutely gripping stuff - and most importantly to me - nothing that I've seen before!'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'The 3rd Woman is a brilliant fast-paced intelligent thriller, with short snappy chapters that keep the book moving at a fast pace. I thought that the underlying political background was fascinating.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'This powerful story is set in America – but an America that is working hand in glove with the People's Republic of China. We follow as Maddy, exhausted both physically and mentally, gradually works out the who, what, and why of the web of secrecy.'
  • Lee Ruddin - 'The cast of characters are neither original nor imaginative as they help or hinder Madison in her quest. The 3rd Woman should not be the first choice for fans of Robert Harris.'
  • Neil Williams - 'A clever ‘whodunnit’ set in an alternative reality, this is a gripping tale that kept me holed and intrigued as the story unravelled.'
  • Lynda DeFreitas - 'Great read, pacy thriller that holds your attention.'
  • Michelle McKernan - 'A brilliant, fast-paced book that I struggled to put down.  The story is full of intrigue with well-rounded characters.  An excellent read.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'well written with a clever idea for the plot.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Quite simply, this is an addictive read.  A traditional crime thriller, that is a right roller coaster of full on story.'
  • Helen Lowry - 'Murder, lies and corruption confronts journalist Madison Webb when her own sister is murdered and she begins her own investigation.'
  • Pauline Fraisher - 'Excellent book - a real page-turner.'
  • Rachel Bridgeman - 'A brilliantly breathless thriller that you will carry around with you until it is finished!'

The 3rd Woman Press Reviews

'Nobody does the high-IQ, high-octane thriller better than Jonathan Freedland'
Tony Parsons

'Boldly imaginative ... a magnetic heroine in a heart-racing story'
A D Miller, author of Snowdrops

Praise for Pantheon:

***** 'Shifting his focus from hi-tech present day conspiracies to a very dark chapter of the second world war, Bourne has proved he can more than rub shoulders with the likes of John Le Carre and Robert Harris
Mirror

'Pantheon is a propulsive, satisfying novel which burns with moral indignation, earning Bourne his place at the thriller-writers' high table' Guardian

'Ingeniously constructed ... a page-turner which maintains the tension' Observer

 'An intelligent thriller with a vividly drawn wartime atmosphere' Independent

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Thing She Told Me
The Hunting Party
Into the Night
Top Dog

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007413690
Publication date: 11/02/2016
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007413683
Publication date: 02/07/2015
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007413683
Publication date: 2nd July 2015
Author: Jonathan Freedland
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Jonathan Freedland

Jonathan Freedland is an award-winning journalist, author and broadcaster. He is the Guardian's executive editor for Opinion, overseeing Comment is free, editorials and long reads. He also writes a weekly column. He is a regular contributor to the New York Times and the New York Review of Books, and presents BBC Radio 4's contemporary history series, The Long View. In 2014 he was awarded the Orwell special prize for journalism, having been named columnist of the year in the 2002 What the Papers Say awards. Since 2006 he has published five best-selling novels under the pseudonym Sam Bourne. The first, The Righteous Men, ...

More About Jonathan Freedland

More Books By Jonathan Freedland

Cover for The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland
View All Books By Jonathan Freedland

Share this book