Outlander (Cross Stitch)

by Diana Gabaldon

Part of the Outlander Series

eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Outlander (Cross Stitch)

Oh what an entertaining series this is, I have read each book as it has been published since the early 1990’s. Cross Stitch is the first in the series and sets the scene for Claire and Jamie’s meeting. This is historical fiction with just the tiniest winiest smidgeon of fantasy as Claire Randall steps through a stone circle in 1945 into the midst of a skirmish in 1743. Diana Gabaldon wields a mighty pen, combining a beautiful relationship story with bloody battles, political shenanigans and a somewhat brutal fight for survival. The Outlander series is now on TV, I highly recommend starting with the books, they are fabulous! 

Books in The Outlander Series:

1. Outlander / Cross Stitch

2. Dragonfly in Amber

3. Voyager

4. Drums of Autumn

5. The Fiery Cross

6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes

7. An Echo in the Bone

8. Written in My Own Heart's Blood

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Liz Robinson

Outlander (Cross Stitch) Synopsis

This is the first novel in the bestselling outlander series - soon to be a major new TV series.

Claire Randall is leading a double life. She has a husband in one century - and a lover in another.

In 1945, Claire Randall is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon in Scotland. Innocently she walks through a stone circle in the Highlands, and finds herself in a violent skirmish taking place in 1743.

Suddenly she is a Sassenach, an outlander, in a country torn by war and by clan feuds. A wartime nurse, Claire can deal with the bloody wounds that face her. But it is harder to deal with the knowledge that she is in Jacobite Scotland and the carnage of Culloden is looming. Marooned amid the passion and violence, the superstition, the shifting allegiances and the fervent loyalties, Claire is in danger from Jacobites and Redcoats - and from the shock of her own desire for James Fraser, a gallant and courageous young Scots warrior.

Jamie shows her a passion so fierce and a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire, and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781784751371
Publication date: 19th February 2015
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Publisher: Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 880 pages
Collections: 80 Book Series and Trilogies to Fall in Love With ,
Primary Genre Fiction

What To Read After Outlander (Cross Stitch)

Let The Right One In
The Dark Defiles
The Long Utopia
Truth and Fear

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781784751371
Publication date: 19/02/2015
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon is the internationally bestselling author of many historical novels including CROSS STITCH, DRAGONFLY IN AMBER, VOYAGER, DRUMS OF AUTUMN, THE FIERY CROSS and A BREATH OF SNOW AND ASHES. She lives with her family in Scottsdale, Arizona.   Photo © Nancy Castaldo   Diana Gabaldon on her influences... I know writers of novels who say they don't read fiction at all while working on a book, out of fear of "being influenced" by what they read.   I am struck by horror at the thought of going years without being able to read fiction (though perhaps these ...

More About Diana Gabaldon

More Books By Diana Gabaldon

Outlander (Cross Stitch)
Outlander (Cross Stitch)
Outlander (Cross Stitch)
View All Books By Diana Gabaldon

Share this book