10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Meet Me Under the Clock

View All Editions

£7.99 £7.19

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

Meet Me Under the Clock Synopsis

As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, two sisters must decide what they really want from life – and if they're brave enough to fight for it. Meet Me Under the Clock is a beautiful wartime story from Annie Murray. Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse have always been like chalk and cheese. When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiancé Ian – while Audrey jumps at the career opportunities the Women's Auxiliary Air Force (WAAF) throws her way. Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but soon finds that her new freedom also brings temptation. When she goes too far, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to her fiancé’s dismay. He thinks the job is unfeminine - unlike Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent nature hides a dark secret . . . A heartbreaking yet inspiring wartime set novel, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781035015184
Publication date: 31st August 2023
Author: Annie Murray
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 528 pages
Primary Genre Sagas
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

You Might Also Like...

The Dressmaker's Secret

Lorna Cook

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

Like Mother, Like Daughter

Maggie Hope

Paperback

In Stock

£14.39 £15.99

The Lucky Penny

Dilly Court

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

Girl From No.22

Joan Jonker

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

A Child of the Dales

Diane Allen

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

A Postcard from Capri

Alex Brown

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99