Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Meet Me Under the Clock by Annie Murray
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Following the lives of chalk and cheese sisters, Audrey, strong and determined and Sylvia, kindly and soft in nature. We meet them just after the outbreak of World War II and follow them into the 60s. Audrey joins the RAF and questions her sexuality, falling for a fellow air woman but, in a weak moment, succumbs to the clutches of an older man. Sylvia, engaged to a local boy, has a fist full of troubles. Lots of incident, tragedy and yet brimming with hope, this is an engaging read.

If you like Annie Murray you might also like to read books by Mary Jane Staples, Lilian Harry and Rita Bradshaw.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Meet Me Under the Clock by Annie Murray

Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse have always been like chalk and cheese. When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiance Ian while Audrey jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way. Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but soon finds that her new freedom also brings temptation. When she goes too far, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to Ian's dismay. Ian thinks the job is unfeminine - unlike Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent nature hides a dark secret ...As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they're brave enough to fight for it. A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.

Reviews

'Annie Murray's superbly drawn characters will live with you long after you have finished reading'
Margaret Dickinson

About the Author

Annie Murray

Annie Murray graduated from Oxford in 1983. She has worked as a journalist and a nurse, has had short stories published in several magazines, and won the She/Granada Television Short Story Competition in 1991. She now lives in Reading with her husband and four children, Brummies all.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th March 2014

Author

Annie Murray

More books by Annie Murray
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.anniemurray.co.uk/

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
528 pages
Interest Age: From 18 years

Categories

Sagas and Romance
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447233749

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools