books of the month debuts of the month twitter
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Meet Me Under the Clock by Annie Murray
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Following the lives of chalk and cheese sisters, Audrey, strong and determined and Sylvia, kindly and soft in nature. We meet them just after the outbreak of World War II and follow them into the 60s. Audrey joins the RAF and questions her sexuality, falling for a fellow air woman but, in a weak moment, succumbs to the clutches of an older man. Sylvia, engaged to a local boy, has a fist full of troubles. Lots of incident, tragedy and yet brimming with hope, this is an engaging read.

If you like Annie Murray you might also like to read books by Anne Bennett, Catherine Cookson and Rita Bradshaw.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Cornish Gift!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of A Cornish Gift, Fern Britton's festive short story collection - each with a book plate signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Meet Me Under the Clock by Annie Murray

Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse have always been like chalk and cheese. When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiance Ian while Audrey jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way. Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but soon finds that her new freedom also brings temptation. When she goes too far, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to Ian's dismay. Ian thinks the job is unfeminine - unlike Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent nature hides a dark secret ...As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they're brave enough to fight for it. A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.

Reviews

'Annie Murray's superbly drawn characters will live with you long after you have finished reading'
Margaret Dickinson

About the Author

Annie Murray

Annie Murray graduated from Oxford in 1983. She has worked as a journalist and a nurse, has had short stories published in several magazines, and won the She/Granada Television Short Story Competition in 1991. She now lives in Reading with her husband and four children, Brummies all.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th March 2014

Author

Annie Murray

More books by Annie Murray
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.anniemurray.co.uk/

Publisher

Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
528 pages
Interest Age: From 18

Categories

Sagas and Romance
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447233749

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools