Meet Me Under the Clock

by Annie Murray

eBooks of the Month Sagas and Romance

Meet Me Under the Clock Synopsis

Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse have always been like chalk and cheese. When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiance Ian while Audrey jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way. Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but soon finds that her new freedom also brings temptation. When she goes too far, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to Ian's dismay. Ian thinks the job is unfeminine - unlike Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent nature hides a dark secret ...As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they're brave enough to fight for it. A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.

Meet Me Under the Clock Press Reviews

'Annie Murray's superbly drawn characters will live with you long after you have finished reading'
Margaret Dickinson

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Mother's Grace
With a Kiss and a Prayer
A Family Secret
Mothering Sunday

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447233749
Publication date: 27/03/2014
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447233749
Publication date: 27th March 2014
Author: Annie Murray
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 528 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Annie Murray

Annie Murray graduated from Oxford in 1983. She has worked as a journalist and a nurse, has had short stories published in several magazines, and won the She/Granada Television Short Story Competition in 1991. She now lives in Reading with her husband and four children, Brummies all.

More About Annie Murray

More Books By Annie Murray

Cover for Sisters of Gold by Annie Murray
Cover for The Doorstep Child by Annie Murray
Cover for War Babies by Annie Murray
View All Books By Annie Murray

Share this book