books of the month make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Florence Grace by Tracy Rees
  

Florence Grace

Sagas and Romance   Family Drama   Historical Fiction   Romantic Fiction   Sagas and Romance   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A historical family drama to sink into, to feel a part of, to be surprised by. in 1860, Florrie, a 15 year old orphan, yet raised with love, finds herself departing the Cornish Moors for the centre of London society. Flung into a harsh and uncaring household, Florrie must hold her nerve as her life changes beyond all recognition. This is a readable and engaging story, Tracy Rees ensures Florence is a captivating and loveable leading lady. The story remains focused on Florence, yet the surrounding characters add a sparkle of diversion and intensity to the story. With a tantalising love affair, yet firmly planted in the reality of the times, ‘Florence Grace’ is an engaging historical read. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Linda Hill - 'A fabulous tale of identity, longing and love with a heroine for everyone to believe in.'
  • Maggie Crane - 'This book is one which is very hard to put down...Will seek out this author in future and recommend her to members of our book group.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Not since Heathcliff (who is my dream bad boy) have I loved a character as much as I love Turlington Grace, sigh…'
  • Emily Curnow - 'a great story that sweeps you along. I look forward to reading more by Tracy Rees.'
  • Lisa Redmond - 'Florence Grace is a wonderful page turning novel, gripping, emotional and unputdownable. I was utterly enthralled.'
  • Christine Waddington - 'This is a rags to riches story about Florence Grace, a young orphaned Cornish girl who discovers she is related to the wealthy Grace family.'
  • Lou Woods - 'This is an author who writes with the spirit of Du Maurier and Bronte. I was swept along and quite captivated.'
  • Vanessa Wild - 'A delightful and engaging family saga about secrets and their consequences.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This book far exceeded my expectations and I did not want this story to end.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'It was pure Bliss to read because this book contained two of my favourite things: Romance and an historical era!'
  • LindyLouMac - 'An enjoyable relaxing read that left me feeling contented.'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'Florence Grace is a story of belonging, destiny, secrets and courage. Tracy Rees has captured the settings of Cornwall and London beautifully and her characters are very realistic. A book to recommend.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'If you liked Catherine Cookson you will enjoy this.'
  • Barbara Goldie - 'From rags to riches, a great story! It is the first book I have read by Tracy Rees but I hope this will not be the last, highly recommended.'
  • Amrita Dasgupta - 'It's a coming of age book where you suddenly realise that behind all the glamour of respectability lies tears, politics and hard work.'

Synopsis

Florence Grace by Tracy Rees

The stunning second novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies' The Tea Planter's Wife. Florrie Buckley is an orphan, living on the wind-blasted moors of Cornwall. It's a hard existence but Florrie is content; she runs wild in the mysterious landscape. She thinks her destiny is set in stone. But when Florrie is fifteen, she inherits a never-imagined secret. She is related to a wealthy and notorious London family, the Graces. Overnight, Florrie's life changes and she moves from country to city, from poverty to wealth. Cut off from everyone she has ever known, Florrie struggles to learn the rules of this strange new world. And then she must try to fathom her destructive pull towards the enigmatic and troubled Turlington Grace, a man with many dark secrets of his own.

Reviews

'A feisty appealing heroine, a fast-paced, gorgeously descriptive narrative and a mystery to be uncovered ... What more could a reader wish for?' Lucinda Riley on Amy Snow

'Florence is such a strong, intriguing character and the plot is so clever, real and truthful. The whole book feels so very wise, as if it contains half the answers to life' Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen

'A sparkling and compelling mystery ... [it] captured our hearts from the very first page' Richard and Judy on Amy Snow

About the Author

Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

Author photo © Ludwig Esser

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th June 2016

Author

Tracy Rees

More books by Tracy Rees
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Paperback
560 pages

Categories

Sagas and Romance
Family Drama
Historical Fiction
Romantic Fiction
Sagas and Romance
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Historical romance

ISBN

9781784296179

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools