Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

debuts of the month win prizes
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Dilly Court Book and Novel

Dilly Court - Author


Dilly Court grew up in North-east London and began her career in television, writing scripts for commercials. She is married with two grown-up children and four grandchildren, and now lives in Dorset on the beautiful Jurassic Coast with her husband. She is the author of seventeen novels and also writes under the name of Lily Baxter.

If you like Dilly Court you might also like to read books by Josephine Cox, Meg Hutchinson and Ellie Dean.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Dilly Court

The River Maid by Dilly Court
The River Maid
Dilly Court
The first in a stunning new series from Sunday Times bestseller, Dilly Court London, 1854: twenty-year-old Essie Chapman lives with her father in poverty stricken Limehouse, working on the river as a boatman. Her life seems set before her, never...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/01/2018
The Button Box by Dilly Court
The Button Box
Dilly Court
The new heartwarming novel from Sunday Times bestselling author, Dilly Court.
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017
The Best of Sisters by Dilly Court
The Best of Sisters
Dilly Court
Twelve-year-old Eliza Bragg has known little in life but the cold, comfortless banks of the Thames. Living above her uncle's chandlery she has grown accustomed to a life of penury and servitude, her only comfort the love and protection of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017
The Christmas Card by Dilly Court
The Christmas Card
Dilly Court
The perfect heartwarming novel for Christmas from Sunday Times bestseller, Dilly Court.
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/11/2016
The Swan Maid by Dilly Court
The Swan Maid
Dilly Court
The brand new compelling novel from the Sunday Times bestseller, Dilly Court.
Format: Paperback - Released: 16/06/2016
Ragged Rose by Dilly Court
Ragged Rose
Dilly Court
The heartwarming new novel from Dilly Court, the author of The Beggar Maid. With the fate of her family in her hands, Rose has to make a terrible choice. Be thrown onto the streets without a penny to her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/02/2016
The Dollmaker's Daughters by Dilly Court
The Dollmaker's Daughters
Dilly Court
This is a powerful saga set in turn-of-the-twentieth-century London from the Sunday Times bestselling author. For Ruby and Rosetta Capretti life in the slums of the East End holds little promise. Although very similar in looks they dream of very...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/01/2016
A Place Called Home by Dilly Court
A Place Called Home
Dilly Court
An author who never fails to tell a good story full of incident does it again, brilliant. Lucy, a prostitute’s daughter, is eventually claimed by her rich father and looks set to inherit a fortune. Enter long lost cousin who...
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/02/2015
The Beggar Maid by Dilly Court
The Beggar Maid
Dilly Court
The nineteenth novel from Dilly Court, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and period sagas, rich in detail and character and certainly one of her best. This one is set in Victorian London where Charity Crosse is forced to become...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/09/2014
The Beggar Maid by Dilly Court
The Beggar Maid
Dilly Court
This is the wonderfully nostalgic, vivid and compelling new novel from the Sunday Times top five bestselling author of A Loving Family.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/01/1970
A Loving Family by Dilly Court
A Loving Family
Dilly Court
Stella is the eldest daughter of Jacinta, a woman sent home from Albania where her nursing mother was dying of cholera. Stella becomes a very good cook and easily gets work passing from one wealthy household to another. Somewhere along...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/03/2014
The Workhouse Girl by Dilly Court
The Workhouse Girl
Dilly Court
Circumstances force eight-year-old Sarah and her widowed mother to enter the notorious St Giles and St George's Workhouse.
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/09/2013

Loading other books by Dilly Court...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.dillycourt.com
Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Dilly Court and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools