books of the month
Search our site
Turn a Blind Eye by Vicky Newham Read the opening extract of the brand new Vicky Newham book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Dilly Court Book and Novel

Dilly Court - Author


Dilly Court grew up in North-east London and began her career in television, writing scripts for commercials. She is married with two grown-up children and four grandchildren, and now lives in Dorset on the beautiful Jurassic Coast with her husband. She is the author of seventeen novels and also writes under the name of Lily Baxter.

If you like Dilly Court you might also like to read books by Lily Baxter, Josephine Cox and Lyn Andrews.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Dilly Court

Mermaids Singing by Dilly Court
Mermaids Singing
Dilly Court
Bullied by the kitchen maids, Kitty is soon taken under Lady Arabella's wing and for the first time in her life Kitty dares to hope. Kitty will do anything for her mistress but her loyalty is severely tested as all...
Format: Paperback - Released: 22/02/2018
The River Maid by Dilly Court
The River Maid
Dilly Court
The first in a stunning new series from Sunday Times bestseller, Dilly Court London, 1854: twenty-year-old Essie Chapman lives with her father in poverty stricken Limehouse, working on the river as a boatman. Her life seems set before her, never...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/01/2018
The Button Box by Dilly Court
The Button Box
Dilly Court
The new heartwarming novel from Sunday Times bestselling author, Dilly Court.
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017
The Best of Sisters by Dilly Court
The Best of Sisters
Dilly Court
Twelve-year-old Eliza Bragg has known little in life but the cold, comfortless banks of the Thames. Living above her uncle's chandlery she has grown accustomed to a life of penury and servitude, her only comfort the love and protection of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017
The Christmas Card by Dilly Court
The Christmas Card
Dilly Court
The perfect heartwarming novel for Christmas from Sunday Times bestseller, Dilly Court.
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/11/2016
The Swan Maid by Dilly Court
The Swan Maid
Dilly Court
The brand new compelling novel from the Sunday Times bestseller, Dilly Court.
Format: Paperback - Released: 16/06/2016
Ragged Rose by Dilly Court
Ragged Rose
Dilly Court
The heartwarming new novel from Dilly Court, the author of The Beggar Maid. With the fate of her family in her hands, Rose has to make a terrible choice. Be thrown onto the streets without a penny to her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/02/2016
The Dollmaker's Daughters by Dilly Court
The Dollmaker's Daughters
Dilly Court
This is a powerful saga set in turn-of-the-twentieth-century London from the Sunday Times bestselling author. For Ruby and Rosetta Capretti life in the slums of the East End holds little promise. Although very similar in looks they dream of very...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/01/2016
A Place Called Home by Dilly Court
A Place Called Home
Dilly Court
An author who never fails to tell a good story full of incident does it again, brilliant. Lucy, a prostitute’s daughter, is eventually claimed by her rich father and looks set to inherit a fortune. Enter long lost cousin who...
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/02/2015
The Beggar Maid by Dilly Court
The Beggar Maid
Dilly Court
The nineteenth novel from Dilly Court, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and period sagas, rich in detail and character and certainly one of her best. This one is set in Victorian London where Charity Crosse is forced to become...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/09/2014
The Beggar Maid by Dilly Court
The Beggar Maid
Dilly Court
This is the wonderfully nostalgic, vivid and compelling new novel from the Sunday Times top five bestselling author of A Loving Family.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/01/1970
A Loving Family by Dilly Court
A Loving Family
Dilly Court
Stella is the eldest daughter of Jacinta, a woman sent home from Albania where her nursing mother was dying of cholera. Stella becomes a very good cook and easily gets work passing from one wealthy household to another. Somewhere along...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/03/2014
The Workhouse Girl by Dilly Court
The Workhouse Girl
Dilly Court
Circumstances force eight-year-old Sarah and her widowed mother to enter the notorious St Giles and St George's Workhouse.
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/09/2013

Loading other books by Dilly Court...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.dillycourt.com
Loading twitter updates...

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Dilly Court and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools