CrimeFest is an annual convention that brings together casual crime novel readers and dedicated enthusiasts with top crime authors, readers and editors from around the world. The convention was first established in 2008 and it has become a key event in the crime fiction calendar. The CrimeFest Awards began 16 years ago with the launch of the convention and on the 16th April the shortlist for the 2024 CrimeFest Awards was announced. 

The CrimeFest awards celebrate the best crime books released in the UK in the last year and the awards include the hotly contended Specsavers Debut Crime Novel Awards. CrimeFest takes place in Bristol from the 9th to the 12th May. Winners of this years awards will be announced during the convention, at a gala dinner hosted on Saturday the 11th May at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel.

Among this year's shortlisted authors are LoveReading Guest Editor Elly Griffiths, nominated in the  Last Laugh Award for her book The Great Deciever. Also featured in the Last Laught category, one that highlights the best humorous crime novel first published in the UK in 2023 is LoveReading Star Book The Last Dance by Mark Billingham and The Secret Hours by Mick Herron. 

Works about crime writing greats Ian Fleming and John Le Carré are celebrated in the H.R.F. Keating Award, given to the best biographical or critical book relating to crime fiction. This award is named after H.R.F. 'Harry' Keating, one of Britain's most esteemed crime novelists, crime reviewers and writer of books about crime fiction.

In the Best Crime Ficiton for Young Adults category, Ravena Guron claims two nominations for This Book Kills and Catch Your Death. Both books dazzled us and were Books of the Month on LoveReading4Kids. 

Keep reading to see the full shortlist and shop the books at the bottom of the page.

Specsavers Debut Crime Novel Award

Death Under a Little Sky by Stig Abell

In the Blink Of An Eye by Jo Callaghan

The Messenger by Megan Davis

Thrity Days of Darkness by Jenny Lund Madsen, translated by Megan Turney

Needless Alley by Natalie Marlow

Death of a Bookseller by Alice Slater

H.R.F. Keating Award

Contemporary European Crime Fiction: Representing History and Politics by M, J, F & A Dall'Asta, Migozzi, Pagello & Pepper

Ocular Proof and the Spectacled Detective in British Crime Fiction by Lisa Hopkins

How To Survive a Classic Crime Novel by Kate Jackson

Love Me Fierce In Danger: The Life of James Ellroy by Steven Powell

Ian Fleming: The Complete Man by Nicholas Shakespeare

The Secret Life of John Le Carré by Adam Sisman

Last Laugh Award

The Last Dance by Mark Billingham

The Great Deceiver by Elly Griffiths

The Secret Hours by Mick Herron

Mr Campion's Memory by Mike Ripley

Vera Wong's Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Sutanto

The Beaver Theory by Antti Tuomianen

eDunnit Award

Don't Look Away by Rachel Abbott

The Close by Jane Casey

Sepulchre Street by Martin Edwards

Murder at Bletchley Park by Christina Koning

Prom Mom by Laura Lippman

The Devil's Playground by Craig Russell

Best Crime Fiction Novel for Children 

Mysteries At Sea: Peril On The Atlantic by A.M. Howell

The Detention Detectives by Lis Jardine

The Swifts by Beth Lincoln

The Breakfast Club Adventures: The Ghoul in the School by Marcus Rashford (with Alex Falase-Koya)

The Ministry of Unladylike Activity 2: The Body in the Blitz by Robin Stevens

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Portraits and Poison by J.T. Williams

Best Crime Fiction Novel for Young Adults

The Brothers Hawthorne by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Promise Boys by Nick Brooks

This Book Kills by Ravena Guron

Catch Your Death by Ravena Guron

One of Us is Back by Karen M. McManus

Stateless by Elizabeth Wein

Thalia Proctor Memorial Award for Best Adapted TV Crime Drama

Dalgliesh (series 2), based on the Inspector Dalgliesh books by P.D. James

Reacher (series 2), based on the Jack Reacher books by Lee Child

Shetland (series 8), based on the Shetland books by Ann Cleeves (BBC)

Slow Horses (series 3), based on the Slough House books by Mick Herron (Apple)

The Serial Killer's Wife, based on the Serial Killer books by Alice Hunter (Paramount+)

Vera (series 12), based on the Vera Stanhope books by Ann Cleeves (ITV)