LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Jane Shemilt - Author

About the Author

While working as a GP, Jane Shemilt completed a postgraduate diploma in Creative Writing at Bristol University and went on to study for the MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa, gaining both with distinction. She was shortlisted for the Janklow and Nesbit award and the Lucy Cavendish fiction prize for Daughter, which is her first novel. She and her husband, a Professor of Neurosurgery, have five children and live in Bristol.

 

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

Featured books by Jane Shemilt

Other books by Jane Shemilt

Little Friends

Little Friends

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

THE STUNNING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB SENSATION DAUGHTER 'Extremely clever, readable and elegant ... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best' Suzy K Quinn, bestselling author of Don't Tell Teacher Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do. And so the parents are forced to get to know each other. Three wildly different couples. Three marriages, floundering. There are barbecues, dinner parties, a holiday in Greece. An affair begins, resentments flare, and despite it all the three women become closer. Unnoticed, their children run wild. The couples are so busy watching each other that they forget to watch their children. Until tragedy strikes. Because while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept into their safe little world and every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true... 'Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!' Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me 'Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps' Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes What readers are saying about Little Friends: 'I loved this book - it thrilled me, it chilled me' ***** Cheryl, Netgalley Reviewer It's impossible to put down as you desperately want to know what happens next' ***** Ceecee, Netgalley Reviewer 'Dark and electrifying' ***** Vikki, Netgalley reviewer

How Far We Fall

How Far We Fall

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/09/2018

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE BESTSELLING PHENOMENON DAUGHTER A wife who must keep her affair secret. A husband who has the power to bring her lover down. A marriage that could end in murder. Beth was still reeling from the end of her affair the night she met Albie - a man who knows her ex better than anyone, but has no idea of their history. He's perfectly placed to give Beth the revenge she craves - if only she can keep her secret safe. But how far is she willing to go? 'Instantly intriguing, chilling' Daily Mail 'A breathtaking dissection of a marriage' Woman & Home 'A brilliant exploration of power and responsibility, jealousy and vengeance, set against the fascinating backdrop of the world of neurosurgery' Daily Express

How Far We Fall

How Far We Fall

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/06/2018

From the author of bestselling phenomenon Daughter comes a thrilling exploration of a marriage consumed by ambition and revenge . . . The perfect couple Meeting Albie gave Beth a fresh start - a chance to leave her past behind. Now she has her new husband; an ambitious, talented young neurosurgeon. The perfect marriage Their marriage gives Beth the safe haven she's always wanted - with just one catch. Albie has no idea of the secrets she's keeping. He doesn't know that years ago, Beth had an affair with Ted, the boss helping Albie's star ascend. Nor that the affair's devastating ending will have consequences for their own future. The perfect storm So when Ted's generous patronage begins to sour, Beth senses everything she's built could crumble. And she sees an opportunity. To satisfy Albie's ambitions, and her own obsessive desire for revenge . . . She'll keep her marriage and her secret safe. But how far will the fall take them? Praise for Daughter: 'You won't be able to put it down' Tess Gerritsen 'Utterly gripping' Mail on Sunday 'Thrilling' Sunday Express 'We absolutely loved this' Richard & Judy Book Club

Author Info

Author's Website

https://https://janeshemilt.wordpress.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more