Jane Shemilt - Author

About the Author

While working as a GP, Jane Shemilt completed a postgraduate diploma in Creative Writing at Bristol University and went on to study for the MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa, gaining both with distinction. She was shortlisted for the Janklow and Nesbit award and the Lucy Cavendish fiction prize for Daughter, which is her first novel. She and her husband, a Professor of Neurosurgery, have five children and live in Bristol.

 

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

Featured books by Jane Shemilt

The Drowning Lesson

The Drowning Lesson

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/09/2015

October 2015 Book of the Month. A well-observed domestic drama turns half way through the book into a compulsive, emotional thriller. We are told right at the start that baby Sam is kidnapped. Then in alternating chapters we are given the family’s first few months in Africa and the year leading up to their decision to go there. They are medical consultants with two girls, aged 11 and 6, and the unplanned baby son. The tussles within the family are beautifully portrayed; should they all uproot or just the husband? It is his research into the links between lymphoma and HIV that the institute in Botswana is interested in. They do all go. The months of adjustment are equally fascinating. Then the tragedy hits, the tension is ratcheted up and you will find the book very hard to put down as the search for baby Sam unfolds. It is an excellent read, highly recommended. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

eBooks of the Month
Daughter

Daughter

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/08/2014

One of our Books of the Year 2014. September 2014 Book of the Month. A tale of abduction/murder/disappearance?  We the reader know not and so the tension and mystery builds.  It is about a medical couple with three children, prosperous, hardworking, happy – so there is no way Naomi would want to run away.  When she vanishes the worst is assumed, the police informed, the hunt is on but nothing comes to light and so the family falls apart.  About a year later her mother begins to clear her room and we race into the final twist.  Terrific.

eBooks of the Month

Other books by Jane Shemilt

The Patient

The Patient

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/04/2022

She is his doctor. He will be her downfall. The bestselling phenomenon returns... 'Beautifully paced' CARA HUNTER 'Beautifully written with an achingly real romance at its heart' SARAH HILARY 'A masterclass in upmarket thriller writing' CHARLOTTE PHILBY 'I raced through it!' EMMA CURTIS When Rachel, a GP in Salisbury, meets Luc, the attraction between them is instant. But Rachel is married with a daughter - and Luc isn't well. Despite themselves, a heady love affair begins - one that threatens to risk everything Rachel has worked for. And when someone in the town is found dead, the spotlight turns to Luc. Torn between her marriage and her heart, Rachel finds herself in the middle of something much darker than she could have imagined... A beautifully written domestic suspense story from the master of the what-if novel. PRAISE FOR THE PATIENT: 'This elegant, multi-layered story has taken my breath away. Much more than a murder mystery, it explores mental health, middle age, marriage and love, while luring you to the edge of your seat' JANICE HALLETT 'A powerful obsession turns dark in this gripping tale of desire, betrayal and murder' T.M. LOGAN 'Constantly surprising' THE SUNDAY TIMES 'With plenty of tension and shocking moments, this atmospheric story is perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Doctor Foster' CANDIS MAGAZINE 'A breath-taking dissection of a marriage' Woman & Home 'A compelling sense of place, good twists, and a tense, intense ending' Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal 'We absolutely loved this . . . It's difficult to believe that this accomplished book is a debut' Richard & Judy Book Club 'Utterly gripping. A tautly-coiled spring of suspicion and suspense which builds to a devastating ending' Mail on Sunday 'Gave me goosebumps' Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes 'Jane Shemilt has a talent for taking you into her world - but be careful. It might not be what you think...' Jane Corry, Sunday Times bestselling author of I Made A Mistake 'Beautifully written and suffused with dread. A compelling literary thriller' Gilly Macmillan, bestselling author of The Nanny

Little Friends

Little Friends

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/02/2020

THE STUNNING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB SENSATION DAUGHTER 'Extremely clever, readable and elegant ... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best' Suzy K Quinn, bestselling author of Don't Tell Teacher Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do. And so the parents are forced to get to know each other. Three wildly different couples. Three marriages, floundering. There are barbecues, dinner parties, a holiday in Greece. An affair begins, resentments flare, and despite it all the three women become closer. Unnoticed, their children run wild. The couples are so busy watching each other that they forget to watch their children. Until tragedy strikes. Because while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept into their safe little world and every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true... 'Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!' Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me 'Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps' Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes What readers are saying about Little Friends: 'I loved this book - it thrilled me, it chilled me' ***** Cheryl, Netgalley Reviewer It's impossible to put down as you desperately want to know what happens next' ***** Ceecee, Netgalley Reviewer 'Dark and electrifying' ***** Vikki, Netgalley reviewer

The Playground

The Playground

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/12/2019

The Playground by Jane Shemilt

How Far We Fall

How Far We Fall

Author: Jane Shemilt Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/09/2018

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE BESTSELLING PHENOMENON DAUGHTER A wife who must keep her affair secret. A husband who has the power to bring her lover down. A marriage that could end in murder. Beth was still reeling from the end of her affair the night she met Albie - a man who knows her ex better than anyone, but has no idea of their history. He's perfectly placed to give Beth the revenge she craves - if only she can keep her secret safe. But how far is she willing to go? 'Instantly intriguing, chilling' Daily Mail 'A breathtaking dissection of a marriage' Woman & Home 'A brilliant exploration of power and responsibility, jealousy and vengeance, set against the fascinating backdrop of the world of neurosurgery' Daily Express

Author Info

Author's Website

https://https://janeshemilt.wordpress.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more