LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Little Friends

by Jane Shemilt

Little Friends Synopsis

THE STUNNING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB SENSATION DAUGHTER 'Extremely clever, readable and elegant ... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best' Suzy K Quinn, bestselling author of Don't Tell Teacher Their children are friends first. They hit it off immediately, as kids do. And so the parents are forced to get to know each other. Three wildly different couples. Three marriages, floundering. There are barbecues, dinner parties, a holiday in Greece. An affair begins, resentments flare, and despite it all the three women become closer. Unnoticed, their children run wild. The couples are so busy watching each other that they forget to watch their children. Until tragedy strikes. Because while they have been looking the other way, evil has crept into their safe little world and every parent's biggest nightmare is about to come true... 'Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!!' Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me 'Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps' Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes What readers are saying about Little Friends: 'I loved this book - it thrilled me, it chilled me' ***** Cheryl, Netgalley Reviewer It's impossible to put down as you desperately want to know what happens next' ***** Ceecee, Netgalley Reviewer 'Dark and electrifying' ***** Vikki, Netgalley reviewer

Little Friends Press Reviews

Clever * Sun * Suspenseful, brooding * Sunday Mirror * Gripping to the last page * My Weekly * Taut and thought-provoking * Woman & Home * Well-written, taut and tense -- Wendy Holden * Daily Mail * A dark and twisty tale * Heat * Utterly gripping. A tautly-coiled spring of suspicion and suspense which builds to a devastating ending * Mail on Sunday * Builds layer upon layer of tension in a novel you won't be able to put down -- Tess Gerritsen, bestselling author of I Know a Secret Thrilling * Sunday Express * We absolutely loved this -- Richard & Judy Book Club A compelling sense of place, good twists, and a tense, intense ending -- Sarah Vaughan, bestselling author of Anatomy of a Scandal Praise for Jane Shemilt * - * A fantastically clever novel with some wonderful twists * Jo's Book Blog * Surefire suspense [. . .] riveting creepiness * New York Times * Countless psychological thrillers get compared to Big Little Lies; Shemilt's is the real deal * People * A compelling, disturbing and beautifully told story. I loved Jane's debut Daughter and adored The Drowning Lesson but Jane has topped them both with Little Friends -- Diane Jeffrey, author of He Will Find You A fierce reminder that control is only an illusion * The Book Review Hub * Such a clever, beautifully written read that was tense and thrilling throughout with an ending that gave me goosebumps. Highly recommended! -- Claire Douglas, author of Then She Vanishes The plot was breathlessly gripping, with an emotional punch that turned the last couple of chapters into a teary blur -- Sarah Naughton, author of The Hanged Man Rises Little Friends is beautifully written. I was in the kitchen; in the garden; on holiday with all the characters. And I was there at the fallout. Jane Shemilt has a talent for taking you into her world - but be careful. It might not be what you think... -- Sunday Times bestseller Jane Corry Little Friends taps into your darkest fears. Beautifully told, with a rich cast of characters, I couldn't put it down -- Rachel Blok, author of Under the Ice Intelligent, compelling and deeply unsettling. My kind of book!! -- Ali Land, bestselling author of Good Me Bad Me Extremely clever, readable and elegant... perfect for fans of Big Little Lies. Domestic noir at its best -- #1 eBook bestseller Suzy K Quinn Little Friends is beautifully written and suffused with dread. Jane Shemilt's compelling literary thriller explores with acuity the pressure cooker challenges of adult responsibility, and the assumptions we make. The domestic settings are seductively vivid and the final outcome is profoundly shocking and terrifying -- Gilly Macmillan, author of The Nanny

Book Information

ISBN: 9780718180911
Publication date: 20th February 2020
Author: Jane Shemilt
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 384 pages
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Crime & mystery,

About Jane Shemilt

While working as a GP, Jane Shemilt completed a postgraduate diploma in Creative Writing at Bristol University and went on to study for the MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa, gaining both with distinction. Her first novel, Daughter, was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club, shortlisted for the Edgar Award and the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, and went on to become the bestselling debut novel of 2014. She and her husband, a professor of neurosurgery, have five children and live in Bristol.

More About Jane Shemilt

More Books By Jane Shemilt

Cover for The Drowning Lesson by Jane Shemilt
Cover for Daughter by Jane Shemilt
Cover for How Far We Fall  by Jane Shemilt
View All Books By Jane Shemilt

Share this book