LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

James Henry - Author

About the Author

James Henry is the pen name for James Gurbutt, who has long been a fan of the original R. D. Wingfield Frost books and the subsequent TV series. He worked for several years as an accountant before moving into publishing. In 2009 he set up Corsair, a literary imprint for Constable & Robinson, Wingfield's original publisher. He lives in Essex.

 

After a successful career writing for radio, R. D. Wingfield turned his attention to fiction, creating the character of Jack Frost. The series has been adapted for television as the perennially popular A Touch of Frost, starring David Jason. R. D. Wingfield died in 2007.

Featured books by James Henry

Other books by James Henry

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Author: James Henry Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/10/2018

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/10/2018

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Author: James Henry Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/10/2018

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Sketches of Moravian Life and Character

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/10/2018

Yellowhammer The gripping second murder mystery in the DI Nicholas Lowry series

Yellowhammer The gripping second murder mystery in the DI Nicholas Lowry series

Author: James Henry Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/07/2018

'With well-rounded characters, a terrific sense of time and place and masterful plotting, this solid police procedural is a 24-carat holiday read' Guardian July 1983, Essex. Fox Farm is, thanks to two corpses, neither picturesque nor peaceful. The body in its kitchen belongs to eminent historian Christopher Cliff, who has taken his own life with an antique shotgun. The second, found on the property boundary, remains unidentified. DI Nick Lowry's summer is neither sleepy nor serene. And the two deaths are just the half of it. The fact County Chief Merrydown was a college friend of Cliff's means Lowry is now, in turn, under scrutiny from his severely stressed and singularly unsympathetic boss, Sparks. To catalyze his investigation, Lowry enlists the services of DC Daniel Kenton and WPC Jane Gabriel. Gabriel needs direction, if she is to begin a career as a detective. While Kenton, who appears solely focused on beginning a relationship with Gabriel, needs distraction. Both the heat and the investigation soon intensify. The team find themselves interrogating enigmatic neighbors, antiques merchants, jilted lovers and wronged relatives; all the while negotiating the caprices of Sparks - whose attitudes remain as dated as Fox Farm's antiques. Only when they fully open their eyes and minds will they begin to unpick a web of rural rituals, dodgy dealings and fragmented families - and uncover not just one murder, but two.

Yellowhammer The gripping second murder mystery in the DI Nicholas Lowry series

Yellowhammer The gripping second murder mystery in the DI Nicholas Lowry series

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/07/2018

The new Essex-based thriller from the author of Blackwater and the Detective Jack Frost prequels July 1983, Essex. A boy playing hide-and-seek sees a fox tugging at something up on a railway embankment. He approaches it cautiously. Seconds later, a blast is heard, and rooks ascend from the poplars surrounding the farmhouse at which the boy is spending his summer holiday with cousins. DI Nick Lowry is called upon to investigate two deaths at Fox Farm, the home of eminent historian Christopher Cliff. The body in the farmhouse kitchen is Cliff himself, having seemingly taking his own with an antique shotgun. The fox-disturbed body on the property boundary is as yet unidentified. Lowry is already under pressure: County Chief Merrydown was at college with Cliff and knows the family. He must enlist colleagues Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel to answer two key questions: just who was at the house with Cliff that morning, and just what has since happened to Cliff's wife?

Frost at Midnight

Frost at Midnight

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/11/2017

The fourth prequel to R. D. Wingfield's A TOUCH OF FROST, for anyone who loved watching David Jason as Jack Frost, and readers of sharply plotted detective crime novels. August, 1983. Denton is preparing for a wedding, with less than a week to go until Detective Sergeant Waters marries Kim Myles. But the Sunday before the big day, the body of a young woman is found in the churchyard. Their idyllic wedding venue has become a crime scene. As best man to Waters, Detective Inspector Jack Frost has a responsibility to solve the mystery before the wedding. But with nowhere to live since his wife's family sold his matrimonial home, Frost's got other things on his mind. Can he put his own troubles aside and step up to be the detective they need him to be? 'One of the most successful ventriloquial acts in crime writing.' Financial Times

Aeneidea

Aeneidea

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/07/2017

Thalia Petasata Iterum

Thalia Petasata Iterum

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/07/2017

Frost at Midnight

Frost at Midnight

Author: James Henry Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/05/2017

The fourth prequel to R. D. Wingfield's A TOUCH OF FROST, for anyone who loved watching David Jason as Jack Frost, and readers of sharply plotted detective crime novels. August, 1983. Denton is preparing for a wedding. Detective Sergeant Waters should be on top of the world with less than a week to go until he marries Kim Myles. But the Sunday before the big day, instead of a run-through with his best man, the church is sealed off. The body of a young woman has been found in the churchyard, and their idyllic wedding venue has become a crime scene. Detective Inspector Jack Frost has been homeless for the past three months, ever since his wife's family sold the matrimonial house. He's been staying with Detective Constable Sue Clarke but with a baby to take care of and the imminent arrival of her mother, she's given him his marching orders. But as best man to Waters, he's got a responsibility to solve the mystery of the dead girl in the churchyard. Can he put his own troubles aside and be the detective they need him to be? All in all, August looks set to be a wicked month in Denton...

Thalia Petasata Iterum

Thalia Petasata Iterum

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/05/2017

Blackwater the pulse-racing introduction to the DI Nicholas Lowry thrillers

Blackwater the pulse-racing introduction to the DI Nicholas Lowry thrillers

Author: James Henry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/05/2017

'A fast-moving thriller. I was totally absorbed by it' ELLY GRIFFITHS 'Vivid and compelling, with great evocation of the 1980s period' PETER JAMES 'A masterclass in place and landscape' CHRISTIE WATSON PERFECT FOR FANS OF PETER JAMES AND STUART MACBRIDE. January 1983, Blackwater Estuary A new year brings a new danger to the Essex shoreline. An illicit shipment, bound for Colchester - 100 kilograms of powder that will frantically accelerate tensions in the historic town, and leave its own murderous trace. Detective Inspector Nick Lowry, and his fellow officers Daniel Kenton and Jane Gabriel must now develop a tolerance to one another, and show their own substance, to save Britain's oldest settlement from a new, unsettling enemy.

Secret Worthing

Secret Worthing

Author: James Henry, Colin Walton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/07/2016

Every town and village has a secret or two tucked away; Worthing is no exception. This popular Sussex seaside resort on the south coast is an eclectic mix of Edwardian, Georgian and Victorian architecture, with a splash of art deco and a smattering of medieval if you know where to look. Local history books are an invaluable source of information, charting the development of a town, but there are some oddities and curiosities that lack explanation or merit few words. It is these that James and Colin have set themselves the task of investigating. Few will realise that they are walking in the footsteps of Oscar Wilde or Jane Austen, both of whom were short-term residents of Worthing. Within these pages you'll discover stories of places, people and objects. Join us as we discover those secrets often hidden in plain view.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more