Lovereading.co.uk

katie fforde author of the month tainted love we are all made of stars 3rd woman how hard can love be
Vouchers

Historical Fiction Historical Fiction Books

Rich and immersive, transporting and informative, good historical fiction is a sumptuous treat. Sign up for our free emails and stay up-to-date with past.

This Month's Featured Books

Reader Reviewed For the Most Beautiful
Emily Hauser
February 2016 Debut of the Month. The story of the Trojan War told by two of its most important, yet often overlooked, characters: Briseis,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 28/01/2016
     
The Ballroom
Anna Hope
February 2016 Debut of the Month. A striking, eloquent and desperately beautiful novel, set during 1911 in a Yorkshire asylum. John, Ella and Charles...
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/02/2016
     
Reader Reviewed The Dark Days Club
Alison Goodman
This first novel in a trilogy of deliciously dark, supernatural page-turners set in Regency England is packed with passion, period detail and devastating demons. London, 1812, and sharp-minded, strong-spirited Lady Helen Wrexhall is about to be presented to Queen Charlotte....
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/01/2016
     
The Madagaskar Plan
Guy Saville
Drawing on the Nazis' original plans for the Jews, Guy Saville has meticulously imagined a world-that-nearly-was to tell an epic tale of love, revenge and survival. 1953 and there has been no holocaust, rather all Jews have been exiled to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2016
     
Paradise Sky
Joe R. Lansdale
East Texas pulpster Lansdale never writes a dull book and his new novel proves no exception. This latest wild tale veers sharply towards the western, albeit in a highly picaresque fashion, narrating the tale of Nat Love, a buffalo soldier,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2016
     
Reader Reviewed Watch the Lady
Elizabeth Fremantle
Elizabeth Fremantle has delivered another fabulously engrossing read, her ability to bring some of the most fascinating women from the 16th century to the forefront of historical fiction is truly impressive. History declares that Penelope Devereux was much more than...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/02/2016
     
The End of Law
Therese Down
A heartbreaking, penetrating and powerful work of fiction steeped in the hellish history of the T4 forced euthanasia programme of Nazi Germany. Set just before and during the Second World War ‘The End of Law’ explores the capabilities of the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/01/2016
     
The Absolution of Otto Finkel
John R. McKay
An expressive and poignant tale, of six children who meet while on holiday in France in 1928, then as adults face the Second World War from very different perspectives. The prologue sets the tale firmly in motion, one man is...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/07/2015
     
Reader Reviewed The Girl in the Photograph
Kate Riordan
The suppression of women dominates this dual-time tale. Alice, a disgraced pregnant girl, is sent to the country by her mother in 1933. Fascinated by the history of the house she hides in she feels the presence of unhappy spirits....
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/01/2015
     
Ferney
James Long
Mysterious, exciting, immensely rewarding, it is one of those memorable books that has to be among your of all-time favourites. I fell in love with this book when it was first published in 1997. It did moderately well but not...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2016
     
Stasi Child A Compelling Cold War Thriller
David Young
A murder in the shadow of the Berlin Wall - in a world of conspiracy and espionage, can Karin Muller find the truth? Stasi Child is David Young's brilliant and page-turning debut novel.
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/02/2016
     
Neverhome
Laird Hunt
This is the story of Gallant Ash during two hard years of war. Married to a quiet, weak man she decides to take his place when he’s called up to defend the American Republic and goes off to war dressed...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/02/2016
     
At the Water's Edge
Sara Gruen
A gripping and poignant love story set in a remote village in the Scottish Highlands at the end of the Second World War from the author of Water for Elephants.
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/02/2016
     
House of the Rising Sun
James Lee Burke
From its opening scene in revolutionary Mexico to the Battle of the Marne in 1918, and on to the bordellos and saloons of San Antonio during the reign of the Hole in the Wall Gang, House of the Rising Sun...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2016
     
Sweet Memories of You
Ellie Dean
When Doreen barely survives a traumatic disaster whilst on leave in London, she returns home to Peggy and Cliffehaven in the hope that the love and comfort she will find there can help her recover. However, Eddie continues to be...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2016
     
The Bomb Girls
Daisy Styles
On an ordinary day in 1941, a letter arrives on the doormats of five young women, a letter which will change everything. Lillian is distraught. And whether she tears, hides or burns the letter the words remain the same -...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/01/2016
     

Last Month's Featured Books


War and Peace
Leo Tolstoy
Tolstoy's beguiling masterpiece entwines love, death and determinism with Russia's war with Napoleon and its effects on those swept up by the terror it brings. This is the official BBC...
 
 

War and Peace
Leo Tolstoy
In War and Peace, Tolstoy entwines grand themes - conflict and love, birth and death, free will and faith - with unforgettable scenes of nineteenth-century Russia, to create a magnificent...
 
 

Reader Reviewed Crooked Heart
Lissa Evans
Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2015. This is a completely charming and very different slice of World War Two fiction. ‘Crooked Heart’ explores the relationship of Vera,...
 
 

The Words in My Hand
Guinevere Glasfurd
January 2016 Debut of the Month. A gloriously readable and emotional fictional tale based...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Jazz Files
Fiona Veitch Smith
An entertaining historical mystery supplying oodles of 1920’s fizz and fun, alongside a firm foundation from the suffragette movement and scars of the First World War. It’s the summer of...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Queen's Choice
Anne O'Brien
‘The Queen’s Choice’ is a wonderfully effortless read, where historical fact blends with romance, scheming and subterfuge. Covering a period between 1396 and 1422 the story revolves around Joanna of...
 
 

Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys
Mary Gibson
Amid the chaos of war, a route to freedom suddenly beckons and along with it, new and passionate love. But Peggy's husband is not about to let her go easily....
 
 

Only with Blood A Novel of Ireland
Therese Down
Only With Blood is a stirring novel set against the struggle for the heart of Ireland during the Second World War, when the IRA notoriously sought assistance from the Nazis,...
 
 

Kingmaker: Broken Faith
Toby Clements
October, 1463 England is a divided nation. Bent on revenge for a past outrage, Thomas and Catherine journey to the mighty castle of Bamburgh to join a weakening king as...
 
 

Rosie's War
Kay Brellend
A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale. Rosie Gardiner is having a tough war. She's had to...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Iron Necklace
Giles Waterfield
1910 and a successful German architect, Thomas, marries an up-and-coming British artist, Irene. This is the story of their lives and families through the next three generations and so the...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Looking Glass House
Vanessa Tait
‘The Looking Glass House’ is a bright, bold work of fiction, simply told yet holding a complicated ring of truth. Alice Liddell, the young inspiration for Lewis Caroll, is the...
 
 

The Lazarus Gate (The Lazarus Gate #1)
Mark A. Latham
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Victorian-set adventures with a strong twist of steampunk. Captain John Hartdwick returns from captivity in Burma as...
 
 

The Whispering City
Sara Moliner
Since the deserved worldwide success of Zafon's cultured thrillers, Barcelona has been the place to go for elegant mysteries shrouded in shades of darkness. And why not? In real...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Furies of Rome
Robert Fabbri
Vespasian's ascent to power continues in the seventh gripping instalment of Robert Fabbri's bestselling series: Vespasian is sent to Britannia to halt a growing crisis that goes to the very...
 
 

The Revenant
Michael Punke
THE BOOK THAT INSPIRED THE MOVIE The novel that inspired Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu's epic new movie starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hardy. BLOOD LOST. LIFE FOUND. Hugh Glass isn't afraid...
 
 

The Month Before's Featured Books


The Light Between Oceans
M. L. Stedman
Isolated at the tip of Australia as a lighthouse keeper, emotionally traumatised World War I veteran Tom fears for his wife's sanity after her third miscarriage. Then a boat turns...
 
 
See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp
  
Add to favourites

Once Upon a Time…

With authors like the two-time Man Booker Prize winning Hilary Mantel among its illuminati, it’s no wonder that Historical Fiction is arguably more popular than ever. Follow the lives, loves, betrayals, deaths, trials-and-tribulations of those that went before us.

Whether you follow Sebastian Faulks and P.S Duffy to the hell and displacement of the Front in WWI, Philippa Gregory to the intrigue, immorality and perils of the court of Henry VIII, or get rocked on the high seas of the King’s Navy in Patrick O’Brien’s Master and Commander, there is a wealth of exceptional storytelling to dive headfirst into. Where will you let our time machine take you today?

_______________________________

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.

A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Lindsey Davis 
Peter Ackroyd 
Michael Wood 
Simon Sebag Montefiore 
Umberto Eco 
Pat Barker 
Tracy Chevalier 
Michael Jecks 
Rose Tremain 

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools