Divided Kingdom

Paperback edition released 30/08/2012

by Rupert Thomson

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Science Fiction eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Divided Kingdom

You’ll either love this or hate this! No one can dispute the fact that Thomson’s prose is lyrical and truly mesmerizing but unless you can understand and are prepared to believe a United Kingdom that is split into four countries divided by walls and wire you may struggle with the plot. The story of one man (at the beginning, a boy) forms the main thread throughout as he travels through these divided countries and meets incredibly diverse cultures and thought-provoking ideas. I found it very compelling.

To view a reading guide for this title click here


Divided Kingdom Synopsis

It is winter, somewhere in the United Kingdom, and an eight-year-old boy is removed from his home and family in the middle of the night. He learns that he is the victim of an extraordinary experiment. In an attempt to reform society, the government has divided the population into four groups, each representing a different personality type. The land, too, has been divided into quarters. Borders have been established, reinforced by concrete walls, armed guards and rolls of razor wire. Plunged headlong into this brave new world, the boy tries to make the best of things, unaware that ahead of him lies a truly explosive moment, a revelation that will challenge everything he believes in and will, in the end, put his very life in jeopardy ...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781408833124
Publication date: 30th August 2012
Author: Rupert Thomson
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Primary Genre Science Fiction
Other Genres:

Like For Like Featured Books

The Dervish House
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August
Mann Alone

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781408833124
Publication date: 30/08/2012
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780747578925
Publication date: 03/04/2006
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Rupert Thomson

RUPERT THOMSON is the author of eight highly acclaimed novels, of which Air and Fire and The Insult were shortlisted for the Writer's Guild Fiction Prize and the Guardian Fiction Prize respectively. His most recent novel, Death of a Murderer, was shortlisted for the 2008 Costa Novel Award. His memoir This Party's Got to Stop was published in 2009.

More About Rupert Thomson

More Books By Rupert Thomson

Divided Kingdom
Divided Kingdom
Divided Kingdom
View All Books By Rupert Thomson

Share this book