The Royal Secret

Paperback edition released 17/02/2022

by Andrew Taylor

Part of the James Marwood & Cat Lovett Series

Historical fiction Crime and Mystery

LoveReading Expert Review of The Royal Secret

A cleverly constructed historical crime novel set in 1670 when a royal plot takes centre stage.

A fabulously pacy, clever, and entertaining historical crime novel packed full of plots and skulduggery. James is asked to investigate a suspicious death while architect Cat finds herself in the middle of a royal secret. This is the fifth book in the highly recommended James Marwood and Cat Lovett series which began so explosively with The Ashes of London. It is such a brilliant set of books that I recommend starting at the beginning even though this could easily be read as a standalone. The intimacy of the story between Cat and James slips so easily into the history and intrigue of King Charles II. I always enjoy following the two stories of the main characters as they gradually merge together. In the third book James held the stage, here Cat takes more of a turn in the spotlight. The sense of time and place just sings, I didn’t question my surroundings, I was there. Andrew Taylor skilfully constructs a number of plot lines which he spins and twists together, the historical note at the end cements this fascinating story in place. The Royal Secret confirms this series as a must-read for any fans of historical crime fiction.

Liz Robinson

The Royal Secret Synopsis

From the No.1 bestselling author of The Last Protector and The Ashes of London comes the next book in the phenomenally successful series following James Marwood and Cat Lovett during the time of King Charles II. Two young girls plot a murder by witchcraft. Soon afterwards a government clerk dies painfully in mysterious circumstances. His colleague James Marwood is asked to investigate - but the task brings unexpected dangers. Meanwhile, architect Cat Hakesby is working for a merchant who lives on Slaughter Street, where the air smells of blood and a captive Barbary lion prowls the stables. Then a prestigious new commission arrives. Cat must design a Poultry House for the woman that the King loves most in all the world. Unbeknownst to all, at the heart of this lies a royal secret so explosive that it could not only rip apart England but change the entire face of Europe...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008325602
Publication date: 17th February 2022
Author: Andrew Taylor
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Win a Copy of The Crystal Crypt and the Poppy Denby Investigates Series So Far

Win a Copy of The Crystal Crypt and the Poppy Denby Investigates Series So Far

Closing date: 12/12/2021

The Crystal Crypt, the latest in Fiona Veitch Smith's Poppy Denby Investigates series is a "wonderfully evocative and vivacious 1920’s murder mystery [that] features a female sleuth and reporter investigating a suspicious death" Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer  To celebrate the release of The Crystal Crypt, we're working with Lion Hudson to give away the whole of the Poppy Denby Investigates series so far. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 12th December 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

A Fatal Inheritance
The Lantern Boats
Descendants of Evil
The Secrets of Wishtide

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008325602
Publication date: 17/02/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008325565
Publication date: 29/04/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Andrew Taylor

Andrew Taylor is the author of a number of crime novels, including the ground-breaking Roth Trilogy, which was adapted into the acclaimed drama Fallen Angel, and the historical crime novels The Ashes of London, The Silent Boy, and The American Boy, a No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and a 2005 Richard & Judy Book Club Choice. He has won many awards, including the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award (the only author to win it three times) and the CWA's prestigious Diamond Dagger.

More About Andrew Taylor

More Books By Andrew Taylor

The Royal Secret
The Royal Secret
The Royal Secret
View All Books By Andrew Taylor

Share this book