Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

win prizes join us on facebook likeyoulove
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Happy Hour in Hell by Tad Williams
  

Happy Hour in Hell

Action Adventure / Spy   eBook Favourites   

Lovereading view...

The follow-up to The Dirty Streets of Heaven takes Bobby off to hell to rescue his one true love, Casimira. Tad Williams’ vision of hell owes a lot to Dante and Hieronymus Bosch. It is graphic, disturbing, disgusting and relentless. Bobby the angel is tortured, persecuted and pursued as he travels the various regions of hell in an attempt to free Caz, his demonic lover. The book starts and ends in modern America but is mostly taken up by the epic journey through hell’s blood, muck, puss and worse. Stomach-turning tortures are common place, casual cruelty is everywhere, a lot of it is very hard to read without cringing and the extremely disturbing images stay with you for a long time. It is not a book to be enjoyed, but even as it disgusts and terrifies, it cannot be put down. Bobby’s struggle is compelling and after all the pain and misery you, the reader, are desperate for the ending. It is not like The Dirty Streets of Heaven, a clever urban thriller, but an odyssey of heartbreaking and gut-wrenching intensity for that most noble of causes, true love.

If you like Tad Williams you might also like to read books by Jo Hill, Sergei Lukyanenko and China Mieville.

Synopsis

Happy Hour in Hell by Tad Williams

Bobby Dollar has a problem or four of epic proportions. Problem one: his best friend Sam has given him an angel's feather that also happens to be evidence of an unholy pact between Bobby's employers and those who dwell in the infernal depths. Problem two: Eligor, Grand Duke of Hell, wants to get his claws on the feather at all costs, but particularly at all cost to Bobby . Problem three: Bobby has fallen in love with Casimira, Countess of Cold Hands, who just happens to be Eligor's girlfriend. Problem four: Eligor, aware of Problem three, has whisked Casimira off to the Bottomless Pit itself, telling Bobby he will never see her again unless he hands over the feather. But Bobby, long-time veteran of the endless war between above and below, is not the type of guy who finds Hell intimidating. All he has to do is toss on a demon's body, sneak through the infernal gates, solve the mystery of the angel's feather, and rescue the girl. Saving the day should just be a matter of an eon or two of anguish, mutilation and horror. If only it were that easy.

Reviews

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN: 'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.
Patrick Rothfuss

'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, My god, they can do something with this form, and it's Tad doing it.'
George R

.R. Martin 'This is urban fantasy at its best.
EpicBookReviews

'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.'
Geek Syndicate

'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.'
SFF World

About the Author

Tad Williams

World-famous fantasy novelist Tad Williams is the author of the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, Otherland and Shadowmarch series. His work is revered by fantasy masters George R. R. Martin and Christopher Paolini. He lives in California with his wife Deborah Beale, co-author of the Ordinary Farm Adventures series, and their family.

Author photo © Deborah Beale

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Tad Williams

More books by Tad Williams
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.tadwilliams.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Hardback

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781444738605

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools