twitter book price comparison win prizes
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Happy Hour in Hell by Tad Williams
  

Happy Hour in Hell

Part of the Bobby Dollar Series
Action Adventure / Spy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £18.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

The follow-up to The Dirty Streets of Heaven takes Bobby off to hell to rescue his one true love, Casimira. Tad Williams’ vision of hell owes a lot to Dante and Hieronymus Bosch. It is graphic, disturbing, disgusting and relentless. Bobby the angel is tortured, persecuted and pursued as he travels the various regions of hell in an attempt to free Caz, his demonic lover. The book starts and ends in modern America but is mostly taken up by the epic journey through hell’s blood, muck, puss and worse. Stomach-turning tortures are common place, casual cruelty is everywhere, a lot of it is very hard to read without cringing and the extremely disturbing images stay with you for a long time. It is not a book to be enjoyed, but even as it disgusts and terrifies, it cannot be put down. Bobby’s struggle is compelling and after all the pain and misery you, the reader, are desperate for the ending. It is not like The Dirty Streets of Heaven, a clever urban thriller, but an odyssey of heartbreaking and gut-wrenching intensity for that most noble of causes, true love.

If you like Tad Williams you might also like to read books by Neil Gaiman, Sergei Lukyanenko and Terry Goodkind.

Synopsis

Happy Hour in Hell by Tad Williams

Bobby Dollar has a problem or four of epic proportions. Problem one: his best friend Sam has given him an angel's feather that also happens to be evidence of an unholy pact between Bobby's employers and those who dwell in the infernal depths. Problem two: Eligor, Grand Duke of Hell, wants to get his claws on the feather at all costs, but particularly at all cost to Bobby . Problem three: Bobby has fallen in love with Casimira, Countess of Cold Hands, who just happens to be Eligor's girlfriend. Problem four: Eligor, aware of Problem three, has whisked Casimira off to the Bottomless Pit itself, telling Bobby he will never see her again unless he hands over the feather. But Bobby, long-time veteran of the endless war between above and below, is not the type of guy who finds Hell intimidating. All he has to do is toss on a demon's body, sneak through the infernal gates, solve the mystery of the angel's feather, and rescue the girl. Saving the day should just be a matter of an eon or two of anguish, mutilation and horror. If only it were that easy.

Reviews

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN: 'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.
Patrick Rothfuss

'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, My god, they can do something with this form, and it's Tad doing it.'
George R

.R. Martin 'This is urban fantasy at its best.
EpicBookReviews

'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.'
Geek Syndicate

'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.'
SFF World

About the Author

Tad Williams

World-famous fantasy novelist Tad Williams is the author of the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, Otherland and Shadowmarch series. His work is revered by fantasy masters George R. R. Martin and Christopher Paolini. He lives in California with his wife Deborah Beale, co-author of the Ordinary Farm Adventures series, and their family.

Author photo © Deborah Beale

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th September 2013

Author

Tad Williams

More books by Tad Williams
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.tadwilliams.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hodder & Stoughton Ltd an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Hardback
416 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Fantasy

ISBN

9781444738605

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools