books of the month
Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
Blood Donors by Steve Tasane

Blood Donors

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Features an edgy, funny, scary mash-up of urban horror and social realism: for fans of The Misfits and Attack the Block!,with hints of Ian Banks' coming-of-age classic The Wasp Factory. Narrated entirely in Marshall's street voice and set in a multicultural community on a mission to crush the stereotype; a pacy, pulsing read to make you squirm and scratch, with Mega-bugs as a subtext for the social parasites of poverty and crime; and Pitter-pat. Pitter-pat. Pitter-pat. Itchy yet?

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Blood Donors a small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'an exciting, fright-filled, adrenaline-filled book. With funny, convincing characters and a terrifying plot, Blood Donors is the perfect book for horror lovers.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...


Blood Donors by Steve Tasane

Bad blood. Bad drugs. Bad bugs. Welcome to the finger. A Splatterfest with a Social Conscience from radical new voice in teen fiction, Steve Tasane. Meet Marshall O'Connor the First, troubled youf. He lives in The Finger, the scuzzie old tower block where they put the antisociable families. Nobody ain't listening, but he's got a story to tell. So, people keep dying in The Finger. Authorities say it's dirty smack going round, but the bodies aren't all users, and they looked like they died screaming...Then there's the bedbugs, all over the block; infestation - proper nasty, yeah? - they're driving Marshall crazy. True, he's got himself some anger-management issues, but sometimes you gotta fight for your turf. Cos it's not the drugs they should be worrying about: the bloodsucking bugs have grown some, and they're looking for a bigger feed...Believe - This Story 10 Outta 10 On The Scare-Ometer.


A small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review Blood Donors. Read their reviews below.

Safiyah Afghan - 'Blood Donors is an exciting, fright-filled, adrenaline-filled book. With funny, convincing characters and a terrifying plot, Blood Donors is the perfect book for horror lovers.' Click Here to read the full review.

Josh Hall -
'A good book...for those who like gory tales about bloodsucking bugs!' Click Here to read the full review.

Rosa Boran - '
A good book but I found it hard to get into it at the start. By the end I really enjoyed it and felt a bit freaked out...I would love to read more of his books.' Click Here to read the full review.

About the Author

Steve Tasane is a writer and performance poet who rap-funks for everyone from primary schools to May Day anarchists . He has performed at Glastonbury, been writer in residence at the V&A Museum of Childhood, been broadcast on TV and radio, and has just completed a writing residency for Dickens 2012 in Southampton. Blood Donors is his first novel for teens, although he was previously shortlisted for the Diverse Voices Award. Steve lives in Hastings, East Sussex.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

3rd October 2013


Steve Tasane

More books by Steve Tasane
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Walker Books Ltd


256 pages
Interest Age: From 12 to 14 years


NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)



The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe