The Ghost Bride

by Yangsze Choo

Relationship Stories Children's & YA Fiction Debut Books of the Month Historical fiction Horror and supernatural fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Ghost Bride

Drawing on traditional Malayan folklore and superstition, The Ghost Bride is a haunting, exotic and romantic read perfect for fans of Empress Orchid and Memoirs of a Geisha.

 

A Piece of Passion from Emily Thomas, Publisher   This is a book that makes you feel enriched and educated as you read it, in a way that satisfies as well as entertains. Yangsze Choo's beautifully constructed narrative weaves romance, mythical intrigue and danger through the story of seventeen-year-old Li Lan's search for her true love and her true home, in earthly Malaysia, the Chinese afterlife and then back again, encountering sorrow and joy and a fair few vengeful spirits along the way. A must-read for anyone who likes bite and substance to their reading, and is not afraid to venture into the darkness...

LoveReading

The Ghost Bride Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Li Lan lives in 1890s Malaya with her quietly-ruined father, who returns one evening with a proposition - the fabulously wealthy Lim family want Li Lan to marry their son. The only problem is, he's dead. After a fateful visit to the Lim mansion, Li Lan finds herself haunted not only by her ghostly would-be suitor, but also her desire for the Lims' handsome new heir. At night she is drawn into the Chinese afterlife - a world of ghost cities, paper funeral offerings, monstrous bureaucracy and vengeful spirits. Enlisting the help of mysterious Er Lang (a dragon turned clerk) Li Lan must uncover the secrets of the ghost world - before she becomes trapped there forever.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781471400797
Publication date: 1st August 2013
Author: Yangsze Choo
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Primary Genre Children's & YA Fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After The Ghost Bride

Wake Book One in the Watersong Series
Under A Dancing Star
The Dark Heroine
No Such Thing as Immortality

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781471400797
Publication date: 01/08/2013
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Yangsze Choo

Yangsze Choo is a fourth generation Malaysian of Chinese descent. Due to a childhood spent in various countries such as Germany and Japan, she can eavesdrop (badly) in several languages. After graduating from Harvard University, she worked as a management consultant before writing her first novel. THE GHOST BRIDE, set in colonial Malaya and the elaborate Chinese world of the afterlife, is about a peculiar historic custom called a spirit marriage.Yangsze lives in California with her husband, two children, and a potential rabbit. She loves to eat and read, and often does both at the same time.

More About Yangsze Choo

More Books By Yangsze Choo

The Ghost Bride
View All Books By Yangsze Choo

Share this book