Sarah Crossan - Author

About the Author

Sarah Crossan has lived in Dublin, London and New York, and now lives in Hertfordshire. She graduated with a degree in philosophy and literature before training as an English and drama teacher at Cambridge University. She received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Since completing a masters in creative writing, she has been working to promote creative writing in schools. 

Sarah is a judge at the first The National Literacy Poetry Prize"Poetry is the first language we speak. When we are born, we own it and we love it but somehow, along the way, children turn away from this, the most primitive of languages. It's everyone's job to make sure children feel that poetry belongs to them - which is does."

 

Featured books by Sarah Crossan

Other books by Sarah Crossan

Moonrise

Moonrise

Author: Sarah Crossan Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/07/2018

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD 2017 SHORTLISTED FOR THE YA BOOK PRIZE 2018 SHORTLISTED FOR THE CBI BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 2018 SHORTLISTED FOR THE CLiPPA AWARD 2018 'Devastating ... Any reader with a heart will weep buckets' Sunday Times Book of the Week They think I hurt someone. But I didn't. You hear? Cos people are gonna be telling you all kinds of lies. I need you to know the truth. Joe hasn't seen his brother for ten years, and it's for the most brutal of reasons. Ed is on death row. But now Ed's execution date has been set, and Joe is determined to spend those last weeks with him, no matter what other people think ... From one-time winner and two-time Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this poignant, stirring, huge-hearted novel asks big questions. What value do you place on life? What can you forgive? And just how do you say goodbye?

Moonrise

Moonrise

Author: Sarah Crossan Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/09/2017

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD 2017 SHORTLISTED FOR THE YA BOOK PRIZE 2018 SHORTLISTED FOR THE CBI BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 2018 'Devastating ... Any reader with a heart will weep buckets' Sunday Times Book of the Week They think I hurt someone. But I didn't. You hear? Cos people are gonna be telling you all kinds of lies. I need you to know the truth. Joe hasn't seen his brother for ten years, and it's for the most brutal of reasons. Ed is on death row. But now Ed's execution date has been set, and Joe is determined to spend those last weeks with him, no matter what other people think ... From one-time winner and two-time Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this poignant, stirring, huge-hearted novel asks big questions. What value do you place on life? What can you forgive? And just how do you say goodbye?

We Come Apart

We Come Apart

Author: Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/02/2017

YA rising stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers' hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross'd lovers. Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn't left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as a puppy, even when they're picking up litter in the park for community service. He's so not her type. Appearances matter to Jess. She's got a lot to hide. Nicu thinks Jess is beautiful. His dad brought Nicu and his mum here for a better life, but now all they talk about is going back home to find Nicu a wife. The last thing Nicu wants is to get married. He wants to get educated, do better, stay here in England. But his dad's fists are the most powerful force in Nicu's life, and in the end, he'll have to do what his dad wants. As Nicu and Jess get closer, their secrets come to the surface like bruises. The only safe place they have is with each other. But they can't be together, forever, and stay safe - can they? An extraordinary, high-impact, high-emotion collaboration between two Carnegie honoured rising stars of YA. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Rainbow Rowell and John Green. Sarah Crossan received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Brian Conaghan's powerful debut, When Mr Dog Bites, was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, Peters Book of the Year and CBI Book of the Year Award.

Resist: Breathe 2

Resist: Breathe 2

Author: Sarah Crossan Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/10/2013

Resistance to the Pod Leadership has come apart. The Grove has been destroyed but so has the Pod Minister. Quinn, Bea and Alina separately must embark on a perilous journey across the planet's dead landscape in search of the rumoured resistance base Sequoia. The welcome they receive at Sequoia is not what they expect, and soon they are facing a situation that seems as threatening as that of the Pod inhabitants. Meanwhile the former Pod Minister's son, Ronan, is beginning to have his doubts about the regime but as a member of an elite force he is sent out of the pod to hunt down the Grove's survivors. In a world in which the human race is adapting to survive with little air, the stakes are high. This action-packed sequel to Breathe is every bit as nail-biting and satisfying as its predecessor - visionary storytelling of the highest quality.

The Weight of Water

The Weight of Water

Author: Sarah Crossan Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/01/2013

Armed with a suitcase and an old laundry bag filled with clothes, Kasienka and her mother head for England. Life is lonely for Kasienka. At home her mother's heart is breaking and at school friends are scarce. But when someone special swims into her life, Kasienka learns that there might be more than one way for her to stay afloat. The Weight of Water is a startlingly original piece of fiction; most simply a brilliant coming of age story, it also tackles the alienation experienced by many young immigrants. Moving, unsentimental and utterly page-turning, we meet and share the experiences of a remarkable girl who shows us how quiet courage prevails.

Epic Firsts Teen Sampler

Epic Firsts Teen Sampler

First memory. First kiss. First love. First fight. First heartbreak. There's a first time for everything. Discover five first-time authors with sneak peeks of their debut novelsDon't Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon, Breathe by Sarah Crossan, What's Left of Me by Kat Zhang, Through to You by Emily Hainsworth, and Defiance by C. J. Redwine.