book price comparison Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

One Moment by Kristina McBride
  

One Moment

NewGen - YA Fiction   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

All it takes is one second for everything to change. One moment to realise that it's the people you love who hurt you the most. Compelling, heart-breaking and unforgettable; this is the American Dream ripped apart.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Cat Patrick as well as TV shows such as Revenge and One Tree Hill.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

One Moment by Kristina McBride

It was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a party the night before. She remembers climbing the path hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers his hand in hers as they ready themselves to jump into the glistening water below. But something goes terribly wrong. Joey jumps alone, hitting his head on the way down. When Maggie looks down into the gorge he lies motionless, dead.
Something happened at the top of the gorge but Maggie can’t remember what. As she struggles to come to terms with Joey’s death and her memory loss, people start to wonder - what really went on at the top of the rock? And why did he jump alone?

Reviews

"Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"McBride skillfully interweaves Maggie’s flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery."—Publishers Weekly

"Infused with page-turning mystery, One Moment is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic."—Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived

"Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages."—Lauren Barnholdt, author of Two-Way Street

About the Author

Kristina McBride

Kristina McBride is a former English teacher and Yearbook advisor. One Moment is her first novel to be published in the UK.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st July 2013

Author

Kristina McBride

More books by Kristina McBride
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

kristinamcbride.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thrillers (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781409557463

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools