Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

books of the month tudor queens series
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

One Moment by Kristina McBride
  

One Moment

NewGen - YA Fiction   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

All it takes is one second for everything to change. One moment to realise that it's the people you love who hurt you the most. Compelling, heart-breaking and unforgettable; this is the American Dream ripped apart.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Cat Patrick as well as TV shows such as Revenge and One Tree Hill.

Synopsis

One Moment by Kristina McBride

It was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a party the night before. She remembers climbing the path hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers his hand in hers as they ready themselves to jump into the glistening water below. But something goes terribly wrong. Joey jumps alone, hitting his head on the way down. When Maggie looks down into the gorge he lies motionless, dead.
Something happened at the top of the gorge but Maggie can’t remember what. As she struggles to come to terms with Joey’s death and her memory loss, people start to wonder - what really went on at the top of the rock? And why did he jump alone?

Reviews

"Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"McBride skillfully interweaves Maggie’s flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery."—Publishers Weekly

"Infused with page-turning mystery, One Moment is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic."—Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived

"Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages."—Lauren Barnholdt, author of Two-Way Street

About the Author

Kristina McBride

Kristina McBride is a former English teacher and Yearbook advisor. One Moment is her first novel to be published in the UK.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st July 2013

Author

Kristina McBride

More books by Kristina McBride
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

kristinamcbride.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites

Thrillers (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781409557463

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools