rebus 30th anniversary eleanor oliphant book price comparison
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

One Moment by Kristina McBride
  

One Moment

NewGen - YA Fiction   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

All it takes is one second for everything to change. One moment to realise that it's the people you love who hurt you the most. Compelling, heart-breaking and unforgettable; this is the American Dream ripped apart.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Cat Patrick as well as TV shows such as Revenge and One Tree Hill.

Synopsis

One Moment by Kristina McBride

It was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie's life. Now it's the one she'd do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a party the night before. She remembers climbing the path hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers his hand in hers as they ready themselves to jump into the glistening water below. But something goes terribly wrong. Joey jumps alone, hitting his head on the way down. When Maggie looks down into the gorge he lies motionless, dead.
Something happened at the top of the gorge but Maggie can’t remember what. As she struggles to come to terms with Joey’s death and her memory loss, people start to wonder - what really went on at the top of the rock? And why did he jump alone?

Reviews

"Good, solid drama about the power of secrets to test the bounds of friendship, with just enough tension to satisfy teen readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"McBride skillfully interweaves Maggie’s flashes of memory with present action, making for a tense and absorbing psychological mystery."—Publishers Weekly

"Infused with page-turning mystery, One Moment is as heartbreakingly real as it is unexpectedly romantic."—Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived

"Beautifully written, achingly romantic, and so much tension the pages seem like they're turning themselves. One of the best books I've read in ages."—Lauren Barnholdt, author of Two-Way Street

About the Author

Kristina McBride

Kristina McBride is a former English teacher and Yearbook advisor. One Moment is her first novel to be published in the UK.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st July 2013

Author

Kristina McBride

More books by Kristina McBride
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

kristinamcbride.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thrillers (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781409557463

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools