desmond elliott 2017 twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Fuse by Julianna Baggott
  

Lovereading view...

The second book in the Pure trilogy for fans of The Passage, The Road and The Hunger Games. Theirs is a struggle against a formidable foe, and it is a fight that will push them over boundaries of land and of sea, of heart and of mind. They can only hope for success because failure is unimaginable...

If you like Julianna Baggott you might also like to read books by Lauren Oliver, Stephenie Meyer and Suzanne Collins.

Synopsis

Fuse by Julianna Baggott

When the end came, the world was divided. Those considered perfect, the Pure, sheltered inside the controlled Dome. Outside, the Wretches struggled in a destroyed world, crippled by the fusings that branded them after the apocalypse that changed everything. Partridge, a Pure, has left the safety of the Dome in search of the truth. Pressia, a Wretch, is desperate to decode the secret that will cure her people of their fusings forever. Together, they must seek out the answers that will save humankind, and prevent the world's annihilation. But the betrayal of Partridge's departure has not been forgotten. As the Dome unleashes horrifying vengeance upon the Wretches in an attempt to get Partridge back, Partridge has no choice but to return to face the darkness that lies there, even as Pressia travels to the very ends of the world to continue their search.

Reviews

'A great, gorgeous novel, boundless in its imagination. You will be swept away'
Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage

'Discomfiting and unforgettable'
The New York Times

'This novel sizzles with invention and viscerally disturbs with its portraits of catastrophe'
The Sunday Times

'She has a flair for keeping the pages turning with a combination of short, sharp action beats and drip-fed revelations. Strong stuff, and gripping to boot'
SFX magazine

About the Author

Julianna Baggott is an award-winning poet, novelist, and young adult writer. For years, she has been thinking about writing a futuristic dystopian novel about a society of haves--the Pure, who escaped the apocalypse and live in an uncontaminated dome-covered city--and have-nots--the wretched survivors who live in the nearly-destroyed outside world.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th July 2013

Author

Julianna Baggott

More books by Julianna Baggott
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

juliannabaggott.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
560 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9781472201423

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools