twitter book price comparison
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Testimony by James Smythe
  

The Testimony

Science Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a pretty unsettling and powerfully compelling debut, well worth a read for the original storyline alone. The world seems to stop and some people hear the words ‘My Children. Do not be afraid’. Confusion and terror reign and we follow the lives of 26 people not all of which heard the message. This gripping is a high concept dystopian thriller that will appeal to fans of Inception or Flashforward and we look forward to seeing what James Smythe follows it up with.

If you like James Smythe you might also like to read books by Joe Hill, Iain M. Banks and Stephen King.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Testimony by James Smythe

A global thriller presenting an apocalyptic vision of a world on the brink of despair and destruction. What would you do if the world was brought to a standstill? If you heard deafening static followed by the words, 'My children. Do not be afraid'? Would you turn to God? Subscribe to the conspiracy theories? Or put your faith in science and a rational explanation? The lives of all twenty-six people in this account are affected by the message. Most because they heard it. Some because they didn't. The Testimony - a gripping story of the world brought to its knees and of its people, confused and afraid.

Reviews

'[An] utterly gripping and highly original debut novel...a tour de force of virtuoso writing that explodes off the page'
DAILY MAIL

'As if Philip K Dick and David Mitchell had collaborated on an episode of The West Wing ... unsettling, gripping and hugely thought-provoking'
FHM

'A fiercely-imagined dystopia of the near future. Intelligent, visionary and compulsively readable'
ALEX PRESTON, author of The Revelations

'A literary post-apocalyptic novel built around a clever conceit'
GUARDIAN

About the Author

James Smythe

James Smythe was born in London in 1980. Since completing a PhD in Cardiff University, he has taught creative writing, and is currently writer/narrative designer for a major forthcoming video game. He lives on the grounds of a boarding school in West Sussex. He has also written a novel called The Testimony, which was published by Blue Door/HarperCollins in 2011.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th February 2013

Author

James Smythe

More books by James Smythe
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jpsmythe.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Blue Door an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007467723

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools