Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Testimony by James Smythe
  

The Testimony

Science Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is a pretty unsettling and powerfully compelling debut, well worth a read for the original storyline alone. The world seems to stop and some people hear the words ‘My Children. Do not be afraid’. Confusion and terror reign and we follow the lives of 26 people not all of which heard the message. This gripping is a high concept dystopian thriller that will appeal to fans of Inception or Flashforward and we look forward to seeing what James Smythe follows it up with.

If you like James Smythe you might also like to read books by Charles Stross, Douglas Coupland and Joe Hill.

Synopsis

The Testimony by James Smythe

A global thriller presenting an apocalyptic vision of a world on the brink of despair and destruction. What would you do if the world was brought to a standstill? If you heard deafening static followed by the words, 'My children. Do not be afraid'? Would you turn to God? Subscribe to the conspiracy theories? Or put your faith in science and a rational explanation? The lives of all twenty-six people in this account are affected by the message. Most because they heard it. Some because they didn't. The Testimony - a gripping story of the world brought to its knees and of its people, confused and afraid.

Reviews

'[An] utterly gripping and highly original debut novel...a tour de force of virtuoso writing that explodes off the page'
DAILY MAIL

'As if Philip K Dick and David Mitchell had collaborated on an episode of The West Wing ... unsettling, gripping and hugely thought-provoking'
FHM

'A fiercely-imagined dystopia of the near future. Intelligent, visionary and compulsively readable'
ALEX PRESTON, author of The Revelations

'A literary post-apocalyptic novel built around a clever conceit'
GUARDIAN

About the Author

James Smythe

James Smythe was born in London in 1980. Since completing a PhD in Cardiff University, he has taught creative writing, and is currently writer/narrative designer for a major forthcoming video game. He lives on the grounds of a boarding school in West Sussex. He has also written a novel called The Testimony, which was published by Blue Door/HarperCollins in 2011.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th February 2013

Author

James Smythe

More books by James Smythe
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

jpsmythe.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Blue Door an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007467723

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools