books of the month win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood
  

The Bellwether Revivals

Literary Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

January 2013 Debut of the Month.

Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2012.

An unforgettable debut from an outstanding new talent. Set in Cambridge where Oscar, having used his intelligence to escape from his impoverished background, becomes captivated by Iris Bellwether and falls in with her glamorous circle of friends which includes her charismatic yet unstable brother Eden. A beautifully written, brooding, suspenseful book with a wonderful pace to the story that will keep you hooked. With shades of Brideshead Revisited, The Bellwether Revivals is perfect for fans of Donna Tart's The Secret History.

If you like Benjamin Wood you might also like to read books by Naomi Alderman, Donna Tartt and Alan Hollinghurst.

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood

Bright, bookish Oscar Lowe has escaped the urban estate where he was raised and made a new life for himself amid the colleges and spires of Cambridge. He has grown to love the quiet routine of his life as a care assistant at a local nursing home, where he has forged a close friendship with the home's most ill-tempered resident, Dr. Paulsen. But when he meets and falls in love with Iris Bellwether, a beautiful and enigmatic medical student at King's College, Oscar is drawn into her world of scholarship and privilege, and soon becomes embroiled in the strange machinations of her brilliant but troubled brother, Eden, who believes he can adapt the theories of a forgotten Baroque composer to heal people with music. Eden's self-belief knows no bounds, and as he draws his sister and closed circle of friends into a series of disturbing experiments to prove himself right, Oscar realises the extent of the danger facing them all...

Reviews

'In prose that's unfussy but effortlessly vivid, filled with nice descriptive flourishes (he's good at quite difficult things, such as describing the growing sound of music as it thickens the air of a room), Wood's confident, sometimes creepy novel draws you in - like the faintly heard strain from that hauntingly played pipe-organ - and then, once you're inside, holds on, ever tightening the grip' Independent on Sunday

'Music offers no real cure for sickness, as Oscar slowly and disturbingly discovers. The bright boy from the sink estate realises the Cambridge set he's been sucked into, in an attempt to ensnare beautiful Iris, is racing towards a terrible danger' Daily Mirror

'In this multi-themed and far-reaching novel, the dichotomies of reason and superstition, sanity and madness, science and faith, are given close and sustained attention … An accomplished novel, suffused with intelligence and integrity. Wood gives voice to theories and ideas in a lucid and accessible way … This skilful novel has flow, pace and a lightness of touch' Guardian

'There's more than a hint of Donna Tartt's The Secret History about this novel, with Cambridge taking the place of Vermont… highly effective' Daily Mail

'Its lodestone [is] Brideshead Revisited … Donna Tartt's The Secret History is also in the DNA here, and there are echoes of another literary analysis of the unhealthy emotional bond between a brother and sister, L P Hartley's Eustace and Hilda…. The fact that Wood can hold his own in such heavyweight company is a measure of his achievement' Independent

About the Author

Benjamin Wood

Benjamin Wood was born in 1981 and grew up in north-west England. In 2004, he was awarded a Commonwealth Scholarship to attend the MFA Creative Writing Programme at the University of British Columbia, Canada, where he was also fiction editor of the Canadian literary journal PRISM International. Benjamin is now a lecturer in Creative Writing at Birkbeck, University of London. The Bellwether Revivals is his first novel.

Author photo © Mark Pringle

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

20th December 2012

Author

Benjamin Wood

More books by Benjamin Wood
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.benjamin-wood.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780857206961

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools