Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

tudor queens series books of the month
Search our site
A Country Escape by Katie Fforde Read the opening extract of the brand new Katie Fforde book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Nowhere to Hide by Alex Walters
  

Nowhere to Hide

Crime / Mystery   Books of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

December 2012 Book of the Month.

Opening with four murders and and an apparent suicide attempt the pace of this compulsively readable thriller is pretty breathtaking. Warring gangs and police corruption make an undercover investigation even more dangerous especially as you have no idea who you can trust!

Alex Walters is the new pen-name for Michael Walters, the author of the critically acclaimed Nergui novels – a series of crime thrillers set in modern-day Mongolia. We loved the first in the series called Trust No One and we rate this one as well.

If you like Alex Walters you might also like to read books by Peter Robinson, Peter James and P. J. Tracy.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Nowhere to Hide by Alex Walters

They're above the law and they're watching her every move...A compulsively readable thriller, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Peter Robinson. The lines between good and bad are indistinguishable...On the North Wales coast two people traffickers are brutally murdered; a drug dealer is mown down in inner-city Stockport and in a remote Pennine cottage a police informant is shot dead. Seemingly random, these murders are the work of one professional hitman. Reluctantly, Marie Donovan takes on another undercover role and finds herself working with DI Jack Brennan, a high-flying detective with a tarnished career. Soon, mistrustful of each other and their superiors, both begin to suspect that they are mere pawns in a complex game of criminal rivalry and police corruption. As Marie struggles to uncover the truth, she realises that nothing is as it seems. With every move, she draws the threat ever closer until ultimately the killer is watching Marie herself. Out on her own, she finds herself with no friends, no-one to trust and nowhere to hide.

Reviews

Praise for Trust No One:

'A relentlessly exciting debut crime novel.
Hull Daily Mail

About the Author

Alex Walters

Alex Walters was educated in Nottingham and at Cambridge University. After leaving university, he worked in management roles in the oil industry, broadcasting and banking, before moving into management consultancy. Having worked for various global practices, he now runs his own specialist consultancy firm working in the UK and abroad. In recent years he has specialised in various aspects of the criminal justice sector, including police, prisons and probation, as well as various public bodies including parliaments in the UK and abroad. He lives in Manchester with his three sons.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd November 2012

Author

Alex Walters

More books by Alex Walters
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Books of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781847562876

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools