Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

book price comparison likeyoulove
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice
  

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets

Historical Fiction   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This review is provided by bookgroup.info.

THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS, set in 1954 - 1955 is more than a fluent and very enjoyable love story. Although Eva Rice fails to resuscitate a war ravaged country house, she describes an evolving generation to a T. Gleefully, but with compassion, she makes light work of the heavier-than-air predicament of the young. Given a good editor and a modern setting, her next book could be a classic. I loved the book but could not help being aware of Enid Blyton and Nancy Mitford lurking in the walled garden and behind the suits of armour. I hope she will write with confidence of now or just yesterday. She has no need of dead poets: today is her time, her style and her joy. We need her now, with her breath of genius, we really do.

The Lovereading view...

Reviewed on Richard and Judy on 22 February 2006. This is a pure delight, a charming period piece of social change in the 50s when appearances and standards began to disappear as the impoverished middle-classes adapted to a new age. A tale of an unexpected friendship, of love, of heartache, music, youth and hope. It throbs with unexpected energy, a coming-of-age novel with an old-fashioned feel. I loved it.

Comparison: Jane Austen, Elizabeth Buchan, Victoria Clayton.

If you like Eva Rice you might also like to read books by Jane Yardley, Nancy Mitford and Rachel Johnson.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a SIGNED copy of The Wanderers and The Horseman!

To mark the release of second book in The West Country Trilogy by Tim Pears, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of both The Horseman and The Wanderers to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 12 February 2018. The winners will be notified by 19 February 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 12/02/2018

Synopsis

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice

Set in the 1950s, in an England still recovering from the Second World War, THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS is the enchanting story of Penelope Wallace and her eccentric family at the start of the rock'n'roll era. Penelope longs to be grown-up and to fall in love; but various rather inconvenient things keep getting in her way. Like her mother, a stunning but petulant beauty widowed at a tragically early age, her younger brother Inigo, currently incapable of concentrating on anything that isn't Elvis Presley, a vast but crumblng ancestral home, a severe shortage of cash, and her best friend Charlotte's sardonic cousin Harry... Eva Rice's novel is an utterly engrossing read, in the tradition of Nancy Mitford and I CAPTURE THE CASTLE.

Reviews

This tenth anniversary edition of Rice's modern classic is a treat for fans of Nancy Mitford and Elizabeth Jane Howard. Stylishly written with a touch of whimsical charm * The Lady * A delight of Nancy Mitford-esque trials and tribulations * Vogue * So good we could hardly speak * Observer *


About the Author

Eva Rice

Eva Rice's first book, A Guide to the Characters of Enid Blyton, was published in 1997. Her first novel Standing Room Only was published in 2000 and is available from Coronet. She lives in London.

Photograph © Debra Hurford Brown

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th October 2005

Author

Eva Rice

More books by Eva Rice
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Book Publishing Ltd

Format

Paperback (b Format)
480 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780755325504

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools