book price comparison granchester katie fforde eleanor oliphant tudor queens series

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice
  

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets

Historical Fiction   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

This review is provided by bookgroup.info.

THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS, set in 1954 - 1955 is more than a fluent and very enjoyable love story. Although Eva Rice fails to resuscitate a war ravaged country house, she describes an evolving generation to a T. Gleefully, but with compassion, she makes light work of the heavier-than-air predicament of the young. Given a good editor and a modern setting, her next book could be a classic. I loved the book but could not help being aware of Enid Blyton and Nancy Mitford lurking in the walled garden and behind the suits of armour. I hope she will write with confidence of now or just yesterday. She has no need of dead poets: today is her time, her style and her joy. We need her now, with her breath of genius, we really do.

The Lovereading view...

Reviewed on Richard and Judy on 22 February 2006. This is a pure delight, a charming period piece of social change in the 50s when appearances and standards began to disappear as the impoverished middle-classes adapted to a new age. A tale of an unexpected friendship, of love, of heartache, music, youth and hope. It throbs with unexpected energy, a coming-of-age novel with an old-fashioned feel. I loved it.

Comparison: Jane Austen, Elizabeth Buchan, Victoria Clayton.

If you like Eva Rice you might also like to read books by Jane Yardley, Nancy Mitford and Anton Disclafani.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice

Set in the 1950s, in an England still recovering from the Second World War, THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS is the enchanting story of Penelope Wallace and her eccentric family at the start of the rock'n'roll era. Penelope longs to be grown-up and to fall in love; but various rather inconvenient things keep getting in her way. Like her mother, a stunning but petulant beauty widowed at a tragically early age, her younger brother Inigo, currently incapable of concentrating on anything that isn't Elvis Presley, a vast but crumblng ancestral home, a severe shortage of cash, and her best friend Charlotte's sardonic cousin Harry... Eva Rice's novel is an utterly engrossing read, in the tradition of Nancy Mitford and I CAPTURE THE CASTLE.

Reviews

'So good we could hardly speak'
Observer

'A delight of Nancy Mitford-esque trials and tribulations'
Vogue

About the Author

Eva Rice

Eva Rice's first book, A Guide to the Characters of Enid Blyton, was published in 1997. Her first novel Standing Room Only was published in 2000 and is available from Coronet. She lives in London.

Photograph © Debra Hurford Brown

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

24th October 2005

Author

Eva Rice

More books by Eva Rice
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Book Publishing Ltd

Format

Paperback (b Format)
448 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780755325504

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools