book price comparison desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Lights of Liverpool by Ruth Hamilton
  

Lights of Liverpool

Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

The story of three families torn apart by poverty, but with a little help and luck they have the chance of being brought back together. Lancashire based saga perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson.

If you like Ruth Hamilton you might also like to read books by Lesley Pearse, Lily Baxter and Josephine Cox.

Synopsis

Lights of Liverpool by Ruth Hamilton

The O'Neils, who have lost brothers and sons into the bowels of London's East End, keep watch over their one remaining young male, a boy named Seamus. Hardworking and good-hearted, they cling together and help each other, and a whole community. Meanwhile, Rosh Allen mourns the loss of Phil, her dearly-beloved husband. Aided and impeded by her mother, Anna, she struggles to raise three fatherless children. With the help of a kind-hearted neighbour, her wounds begin to heal, and she begins to take the first faltering steps into 'normality'. Tess and Don Compton are on the verge of separation. An apparently greedy and selfish woman, Tess wants a semi-detached house, and all her own way. But what really lies behind her desire to live on the posh side of the street. Behind the three families, two men are at work. One will do serious damage; the other will reunite a clan that goes all the way back to Ireland and to ancestors thrown ashore from the ships of the Spanish Armada.

About the Author

Ruth Hamilton

Ruth Hamilton is one of North West England's most popular writers. She is the bestselling author of twenty-five novels, including Spinning Jenny, The Bells of Scotland Road, Mulligan's Yard, Mersey View and That Liverpool Girl. She was born in Bolton, which is the setting for many of her novels, and has spent most of her life in Lancashire. She now lives in Liverpool.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Ruth Hamilton

More books by Ruth Hamilton
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www2.ruth-hamilton.co.uk/

Publisher

Format

Paperback

Categories

Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780330522250

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools