Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers win prizes
Search our site
A Long Way from Home by Cathy Glass Read the opening extract of the brand new Cathy Glass book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Q : A Love Story by Evan J. Mandery
  

Q : A Love Story

Relationship Stories   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

In a gripping tale of time travel and true love that will appeal to fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and The Confessions of Max Tivoli, a successful writer meets his future self, who advises him not to marry Q, the love of his life. Tissue boxes at the ready!

Synopsis

Q : A Love Story by Evan J. Mandery

Would you give up the love of your life on the advice of a stranger? A picturesque love story begins at the cinema when our hero -- an unacclaimed writer, unorthodox professor and unmistakeable New Yorker -- first meets Q, his one everlasting love. Over the following weeks, in the rowboats of Central Park, on the miniature golf courses of Lower Manhattan, under a pear tree in Q's own inner-city Eden, their miraculous romance accelerates and blossoms. Nothing, it seems -- not even the hostilities of Q's father or the impending destruction of Q's garden -- can disturb the lovers, or obstruct their advancing wedding. They are destined to be together. Until one day a man claiming to be our hero's future self tells him he must leave Q. In Q, Evan Mandery has fashioned an epic love story on quantum foundations. The novel wears its philosophical and narrative sophistication lightly: with exuberant, direct and witty prose, Mandery brings an essayist's poise to this fabulous romance. And, finally, Q has an ending that will melt even the darkest heart.

Reviews

Praise for 'Q':

'the payoff is big. A word to the tear prone: don't attempt to read the ending in public. Susannah Meadows, The New York Times

'Mandery is a worthy son of Vonnegut, Barthelme, and Barth.' Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

'A poignant, often hilarious, consideration of our universal curse of second guessing...It will take a reader with a very hard-heart not to be moved by Q.'
San Francisco Book Review

About the Author

Evan J. Mandery

Evan Mandery is a graduate of Harvard Law School and a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City. He is the author of two works of non-fiction and two previous novels, 'Dreaming of Gwen Stefani' and 'First Contact'.

Author photo © Ilona Lieberman

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd February 2012

Author

Evan J. Mandery

More books by Evan J. Mandery
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

evanmandery.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Fourth Estate Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback

Categories

Relationship Stories
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780007447602

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools