rebus 30th anniversary twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Q : A Love Story by Evan J. Mandery
  

Q : A Love Story

Relationship Stories   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

In a gripping tale of time travel and true love that will appeal to fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and The Confessions of Max Tivoli, a successful writer meets his future self, who advises him not to marry Q, the love of his life. Tissue boxes at the ready!

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

Q : A Love Story by Evan J. Mandery

Would you give up the love of your life on the advice of a stranger? A picturesque love story begins at the cinema when our hero -- an unacclaimed writer, unorthodox professor and unmistakeable New Yorker -- first meets Q, his one everlasting love. Over the following weeks, in the rowboats of Central Park, on the miniature golf courses of Lower Manhattan, under a pear tree in Q's own inner-city Eden, their miraculous romance accelerates and blossoms. Nothing, it seems -- not even the hostilities of Q's father or the impending destruction of Q's garden -- can disturb the lovers, or obstruct their advancing wedding. They are destined to be together. Until one day a man claiming to be our hero's future self tells him he must leave Q. In Q, Evan Mandery has fashioned an epic love story on quantum foundations. The novel wears its philosophical and narrative sophistication lightly: with exuberant, direct and witty prose, Mandery brings an essayist's poise to this fabulous romance. And, finally, Q has an ending that will melt even the darkest heart.

Reviews

Praise for 'Q':

'the payoff is big. A word to the tear prone: don't attempt to read the ending in public. Susannah Meadows, The New York Times

'Mandery is a worthy son of Vonnegut, Barthelme, and Barth.' Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

'A poignant, often hilarious, consideration of our universal curse of second guessing...It will take a reader with a very hard-heart not to be moved by Q.'
San Francisco Book Review

About the Author

Evan J. Mandery

Evan Mandery is a graduate of Harvard Law School and a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City. He is the author of two works of non-fiction and two previous novels, 'Dreaming of Gwen Stefani' and 'First Contact'.

Author photo © Ilona Lieberman

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd February 2012

Author

Evan J. Mandery

More books by Evan J. Mandery
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

evanmandery.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Fourth Estate Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
384 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007447602

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools