Harry Potter House Eds join us on facebook eleanor oliphant
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Q : A Love Story by Evan J. Mandery
  

Q : A Love Story

Relationship Stories   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £16.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

In a gripping tale of time travel and true love that will appeal to fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and The Confessions of Max Tivoli, a successful writer meets his future self, who advises him not to marry Q, the love of his life. Tissue boxes at the ready!

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Q : A Love Story by Evan J. Mandery

Would you give up the love of your life on the advice of a stranger? A picturesque love story begins at the cinema when our hero -- an unacclaimed writer, unorthodox professor and unmistakeable New Yorker -- first meets Q, his one everlasting love. Over the following weeks, in the rowboats of Central Park, on the miniature golf courses of Lower Manhattan, under a pear tree in Q's own inner-city Eden, their miraculous romance accelerates and blossoms. Nothing, it seems -- not even the hostilities of Q's father or the impending destruction of Q's garden -- can disturb the lovers, or obstruct their advancing wedding. They are destined to be together. Until one day a man claiming to be our hero's future self tells him he must leave Q. In Q, Evan Mandery has fashioned an epic love story on quantum foundations. The novel wears its philosophical and narrative sophistication lightly: with exuberant, direct and witty prose, Mandery brings an essayist's poise to this fabulous romance. And, finally, Q has an ending that will melt even the darkest heart.

Reviews

Praise for 'Q':

'the payoff is big. A word to the tear prone: don't attempt to read the ending in public. Susannah Meadows, The New York Times

'Mandery is a worthy son of Vonnegut, Barthelme, and Barth.' Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

'A poignant, often hilarious, consideration of our universal curse of second guessing...It will take a reader with a very hard-heart not to be moved by Q.'
San Francisco Book Review

About the Author

Evan J. Mandery

Evan Mandery is a graduate of Harvard Law School and a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City. He is the author of two works of non-fiction and two previous novels, 'Dreaming of Gwen Stefani' and 'First Contact'.

Author photo © Ilona Lieberman

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd February 2012

Author

Evan J. Mandery

More books by Evan J. Mandery
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

evanmandery.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Fourth Estate Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
384 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007447602

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools