Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Amazonia by James Rollins
  

Amazonia

Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Books of the Month   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

August 2011 Book of the Month.

Fans of Clive Cussler or Dan Brown will love this fantastic mystery adventure, set deep in the Amazon jungle. Man’s aggressive explotation of the deep amazon jungle threaten to unleash dark forces into the world at large.

If you like James Rollins you might also like to read books by Raymond Khoury, Steve Berry and David Gibbins.

Synopsis

Amazonia by James Rollins

Out of the inhospitable Amazon rainforest a man stumbles into a missionary village. Soon the CIA operative and former special forces soldier, his eyes wide with terror, is dead. The photograph of Agent Clark's corpse in the Brazilian morgue shows two intact upper limbs, yet Agent Clark had only one arm, the other lost to a sniper's bullet. Nathan Rand's father led a scientific mission into the rainforest and never returned - the same expedition that took Clark into the jungle. Now Nate is to follow the elder Rand's trail, along with a team of scientists and experienced US Rangers. For somewhere in the dark, impenetrable depths of Earth's most dangerous region lie mysteries that must be solved ...whatever the cost. As Nate Rand and his party push on into the jungle, they are haunted by a truth: that they are not alone. But each step brings the team closer to an ancient, unspoken terror that even the native people dread. As madness, fear and horrific death descend upon the second cursed expedition, those still living must confront a power beyond human imagining - one that can for ever alter the world beyond the dark, lethal confines of the Amazon rainforest for better ...and for worse.

About the Author

James Rollins

James Rollins is the New York Times bestselling author of international thrillers, translated into more than forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the 'top crowd pleasers' (New York Times) and one of the 'hottest summer reads' (People Magazine). In each novel, acclaimed for its originality, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthroughs, and historical secrets - and he does it all at breakneck speed and with stunning insight.

Author photo © David Sylvian

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st July 2011

Author

James Rollins

More books by James Rollins
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jamesrollins.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
528 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Books of the Month
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780752883847

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools