Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Hue and Cry : A Hew Cullan Mystery

by Shirley McKay

Part of the The Hew Cullan Mysteries Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Hue and Cry : A Hew Cullan Mystery

For fans of Ellis Peters and C J Sansom we think we have found a new historical detective to follow, Hew Cullan a newly qualified 16th century lawyer. The opening chapters of Hue and Cry were shortlisted for a Debut Dagger (very hightly prized by crime writers) but the author took 7 years to complete it and it was worth the wait. Well researched and well written it will keep you gripped and guessing to the last page.

 

The Hew Cullan series:
1. Hue & Cry
2. Fate & Fortune
3. Time & Tide
4. Friend & Foe
5. Queen & Country

Hue and Cry : A Hew Cullan Mystery Synopsis

1579, St. Andrews. A thirteen-year old boy meets his death on the streets of the university city of St. Andrews and suspicion falls upon one of the regents at the university, Nicholas Colp. Hew Cullan, a young lawyer recently returned home from Paris, uncovers a complex tale of passion and duplicity, of sexual desire in tension with the repressive atmosphere of the Protestant Kirk and the austerity of the academic cloister.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

Hue and Cry : A Hew Cullan Mystery Press Reviews

'A gripping mystery that holds the reader to the very last page, and a marvellous portrait of St Andrews in the 16th century'
JOHN BURNSIDE

If you loved this, you might like these...

Is There Life on Mars? The 20 Big Universe Questions
The Day without Yesterday
The Sensorium of God
The Sky's Dark Labyrinth

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781846971525
Publication date: 22/04/2010
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781846971525
Publication date: 22nd April 2010
Author: Shirley McKay
Publisher: Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Reading Groups, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About Shirley McKay

Shirley McKay was born in Tynemouth but now lives with her family in Fife. At the age of fifteen she won the Young Observer playwriting competition, her play being performed at the Royal Court Theatre Upstairs. She went on to study English and Linguistics at the University of St Andrews before attending Durham University for postgraduate study in Romantic and seventeenth century prose. She was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Shirley works as a freelance proofreader. Below is a Q&A with with the author.  1. Do you have a favourite character in the book? It has ...

More About Shirley McKay

More Books By Shirley McKay

Cover for 1588: A Calendar of Crime A Novel in Five Books by Shirley McKay
Cover for 1588: A Calendar of Crime A Novel in Five Books by Shirley McKay
Cover for Queen & Country A Hew Cullan Mystery by Shirley McKay
View All Books By Shirley McKay

Share this book