Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Hue and Cry : A Hew Cullan Mystery by Shirley McKay
  

Hue and Cry : A Hew Cullan Mystery

Part of the The Hew Cullan Mysteries Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Historical Fiction   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

For fans of Ellis Peters and C J Sansom we think we have found a new historical detective to follow, Hew Cullan a newly qualified 16th century lawyer. The opening chapters of Hue and Cry were shortlisted for a Debut Dagger (very hightly prized by crime writers) but the author took 7 years to complete it and it was worth the wait. Well researched and well written it will keep you gripped and guessing to the last page.

The Hew Cullan series:
1. Hue & Cry
2. Fate & Fortune
3. Time & Tide
4. Friend & Foe
5. Queen & Country

If you like Shirley McKay you might also like to read books by Cassandra Clark, Shona MacLean and Stuart Clark.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Hue and Cry : A Hew Cullan Mystery by Shirley McKay

1579, St. Andrews. A thirteen-year old boy meets his death on the streets of the university city of St. Andrews and suspicion falls upon one of the regents at the university, Nicholas Colp. Hew Cullan, a young lawyer recently returned home from Paris, uncovers a complex tale of passion and duplicity, of sexual desire in tension with the repressive atmosphere of the Protestant Kirk and the austerity of the academic cloister.

Reviews

'A gripping mystery that holds the reader to the very last page, and a marvellous portrait of St Andrews in the 16th century'
JOHN BURNSIDE

About the Author

Shirley McKay

Shirley McKay was born in Tynemouth but now lives with her family in Fife. At the age of fifteen she won the Young Observer playwriting competition, her play being performed at the Royal Court Theatre Upstairs. She went on to study English and Linguistics at the University of St Andrews before attending Durham University for postgraduate study in Romantic and seventeenth century prose. She was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Shirley works as a freelance proofreader.

Below is a Q&A with with the author.

1. Do you have a favourite character in the book? It has to be Hew, the hero of the series, though he can be exasperating at times. Meg and Giles too are perennial favourites. My books are quite heavily populated, and I enjoy the challenge of creating a panoply of new characters while developing old ones.

2. What was your inspiration to write this story? / Was there a particular moment of inspiration that pushed you to write this? Queen & Country is the fifth in the Hew Cullan series, and naturally evolves from the fourth book, Friend and Foe, which ends on a bit of a cliff-hanger. The inspiration for the series is the life and progress of the young King James VI, as he struggles to maturity, and this provides the context for the struggles in the books. Each book is framed, however obliquely, by a definitive historical event – in the case of Queen & Country, the death of Mary, queen of Scots.

3. What is your favourite scene or moment in the book? The final one. To say more would give the game away.

4. What inspired you to become a writer? Reading as a child. The lady in the children’s department of James Thin’s in the early 70s, who knew precisely the right book. Who could have forgotten her?

5. What keeps you motivated as a writer? Self-indulgence, really. The allure of imaginary friends.

6. What’s your favourite book, and why? I don’t have one. But I think Great Expectations has the most perfect plot.

7. Do you have a routine when you’re writing (i.e. silence, a particular genre of music, only working in the morning, only working in your underpants?) I like to write at night, when I’m not disturbed.

8. What advice would you give to anyone who wants to be a writer? Write. There is no other way round it. And read, read, read.

9. How easy was it for you to find a publisher? I think there is a huge amount of luck in this. And I was very lucky, as it turned out. Polygon rejected Hue & Cry (the first book in the series) twice before accepting it, once it was revised. It would never have occurred to me that no need not mean no. But I have a persistent agent, to whom I am extremely grateful.

10. What’s the best experience you’ve had while writing a book? Finding words that say exactly what I want to say, in exactly the way I want to say it, where sound and sense pitch perfectly. This is comparatively rare.

11. Who are you generally writing for? One of three. [‘It is an ancient mariner, And he stoppeth one of three’]. On a good day, two of the three may be willing to stop.

12. If you weren’t a writer, what would you be? A proofreader, as I am still. Not that you would believe it, if you saw my manuscripts.

13. What one thing would improve your life? Worrying less

14. Where would you like to be right now, anywhere in the world? At home, with my family.

15. Are any of your characters based on yourself or people you know? Not consciously. Some of my characters are based on historical figures, such as James VI. But as soon as they enter the world of the books, they are fictions.

16. If you could swap lives with one of your characters, who would you choose and why? I would not choose to live in the sixteenth century.

17. Have you ever regretted how you ended a story and wish you could change it? I find there is a point in each book – fairly late on – where the ending is fixed, and no other version will do. And once a book is published I feel quite detached from it. But because this is a series, when I fail to look ahead I sometimes write into a corner (or a cul-de-sac) which requires some ingenuity to extricate myself – or, more properly, Hew. I know that some readers were dismayed by the end of Friend & Foe, but it was setting up the stage for events in Queen & Country, where I hope at last all will be satisfied.

18. If you weren't a writer, what would your 'dream' occupation be? Something of worth to the world.

19. If your book was a film, who would you cast for the lead character? David Tennant, for Hew. For his emotional, human energy, and because he is a Scot.

20. Why are books important in your opinion? Because they hold inside them all that is human.

21. What are you reading right now? Sweet Caress, by William Boyd

22. Which authors do you particularly admire? Those who write human stories, which are also lyrical: Susan Hill, Kent Haruf. Character over plot.

23. If you had a superpower what would it be? Time travel. Is that a superpower? Because ‘what is now proved was once only imagined’.

Author photo © Peter Adamson

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd April 2010

Author

Shirley McKay

More books by Shirley McKay
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

shirleymckay.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Polygon An Imprint of Birlinn Limited an imprint of Birlinn General

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Historical Fiction
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9781846971525

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools