The Journals: Volume 1

by John Fowles

Biography / Autobiography

LoveReading View on The Journals: Volume 1

Long before The Collector, back in the 40’s as an Oxford student, Fowles kept a journal and continued to do so for the next half century. They have been edited by Charles Drazin is the acclaimed author of The Third Man.

The Journals: Volume 1 Synopsis

In 1963 John Fowles won international recognition with his first published novel The Collector. But his roots as a serious writer can be traced back long before to the journal he began as a student at Oxford in the late 1940s and continued to keep faithfully over the next half century. Written with an unsparing honesty and forthrightness, it reveals the inner thoughts and creative development of one of the twentieth century's most innovative and important novelists. Commencing with his final year at Oxford, this first volume chronicles the year he then spent lecturing at a university in France; his experiences as a young school teacher on the Greek island of Spetsai, which would inspire his second novel The Magus; his love affair there with the married woman who would later become his wife; his return to England and the long struggle to achieve literary success. It reveals not only his devotion to Greek and French culture, but also the huge part that a life-long passion for natural history has played in his life and writing.

This first-hand account of the road to fame and fortune holds the reader's attention with all the narrative power of the novels, but also offers an invaluable insight into the intimate relationship between Fowles's own life and his fiction.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Wonder
Mothering Sunday
The Wonder
Revolution A History of England Volume IV

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780099443421
Publication date: 04/11/2004
Publisher: Vintage
Format: Trade Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780099443421
Publication date: 4th November 2004
Author: John Fowles
Publisher: Vintage
Format: Trade Paperback
Pagination: 704 pages
Genres: Biography / Autobiography,
Categories: Diaries, letters & journals,

About John Fowles

John Fowles was born in 1926. He won international recognition with The Collector, his first published title, in 1963. He was immediately acclaimed as an outstandingly innovative writer of exceptional imaginative power, and this reputation was confirmed with the appearance of his subsequent works: The Aristos, The Magus, The French Lieutenant's Woman, The Ebony Tower, Daniel Martin, Mantissa, and A Maggot. John Fowles died in Lyme Regis in 2005. Two volumes of his Journals have recently been published; the first in 2003, the second in 2006.

More About John Fowles

More Books By John Fowles

Cover for The French Lieutenant's Woman by John Fowles
Cover for The Magus by John Fowles
View All Books By John Fowles

Share this book