make the most of Lovereading twitter lovereading canvas bags book price comparison rebus 30th anniversary
Vouchers


The Journals: Volume 1 by John Fowles
  

The Journals: Volume 1

Biography / Autobiography   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

Long before The Collector, back in the 40’s as an Oxford student, Fowles kept a journal and continued to do so for the next half century. They have been edited by Charles Drazin is the acclaimed author of The Third Man.

If you like John Fowles you might also like to read books by Bruce Chatwin, Graham Swift and Peter Ackroyd.

Synopsis

The Journals: Volume 1 by John Fowles

In 1963 John Fowles won international recognition with his first published novel The Collector. But his roots as a serious writer can be traced back long before to the journal he began as a student at Oxford in the late 1940s and continued to keep faithfully over the next half century. Written with an unsparing honesty and forthrightness, it reveals the inner thoughts and creative development of one of the twentieth century's most innovative and important novelists. Commencing with his final year at Oxford, this first volume chronicles the year he then spent lecturing at a university in France; his experiences as a young school teacher on the Greek island of Spetsai, which would inspire his second novel The Magus; his love affair there with the married woman who would later become his wife; his return to England and the long struggle to achieve literary success. It reveals not only his devotion to Greek and French culture, but also the huge part that a life-long passion for natural history has played in his life and writing.

This first-hand account of the road to fame and fortune holds the reader's attention with all the narrative power of the novels, but also offers an invaluable insight into the intimate relationship between Fowles's own life and his fiction.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

His intellectual perseverance and artistic integrity... remain impressive to the end Observer He is sharp when speaking about his own fiction, and the section dealing with The Collector will no doubt be required reading for all students of Fowles Scotland on Sunday This journal is fascinating, full of stimulating thoughts about aesthetics, national identity and the changing function of literature in post-war Europe Daily Telegraph Fans of The Magus and The French Lieutenant's Woman are in for a treat Time Out Fowles is an artist of great imaginative power Sunday Times


About the Author

John Fowles

John Fowles was born in 1926. He won international recognition with The Collector, his first published title, in 1963. He was immediately acclaimed as an outstandingly innovative writer of exceptional imaginative power, and this reputation was confirmed with the appearance of his subsequent works: The Aristos, The Magus, The French Lieutenant's Woman, The Ebony Tower, Daniel Martin, Mantissa, and A Maggot. John Fowles died in Lyme Regis in 2005. Two volumes of his Journals have recently been published; the first in 2003, the second in 2006.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th November 2004

Author

John Fowles

More books by John Fowles
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.fowlesbooks.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Vintage

Format

Trade Paperback
704 pages

Categories

Biography / Autobiography
eBook Favourites

Diaries, letters & journals

ISBN

9780099443421

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools