Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

Harry Potter House Eds eleanor oliphant rebus 30th anniversary newgen books for YA readers

One Dance in Paris by Julia Holden
  

One Dance in Paris

Relationship Stories   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Great escapist fiction to lose yourself in. Everyone loves a story about an ugly duckling turning in to a swan and this is so much more than that. It is a journey of discovery and a glamorous, funny, romantic romp through the streets of Paris. Fans of Olivia Goldsmith and Marion Keyes will love it.

WIN COLD FEET BOOK AND DVD

Raise a glass as Cold Feet celebrates its 20th anniversary! and win one of 3 copies of the book - The Lost Years by Carmel Harrington - and Series 7 of Cold Feet which is available on DVD and to download-to-own from 20th November 2017.

The DVD is also available to pre-order from Amazon, as is the DVD of Cold Feet Series 1-7 Anniversary Collector's edition

To have a chance of winning a copy of The Lost Years by Carmel Harrington AND a DVD of Series 7 of Cold Feet, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 5 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017 and is in collaboration with ITV Studios Global Entertainment

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2017

Synopsis

One Dance in Paris by Julia Holden

Linda Stone barely remembers her mother. But she's about to go from knowing precious little about her to oh-so-blushingly much....

What if you just learned that your mother was a famous - and infamous - international showgirl? That she wore a tall headdress of rhinestones and peacock feathers. Glittering high-heeled sandals. And a dress...a dress unlike anything you've ever seen: barely there, beautiful and shocking, simultaneously sexual and like something out of a fairy tale? A sensual whisper of a dress that gave her the power to become the talk of the town, the queen of Paris, the star of the Folies Folies Bergère?

All her life Linda Stone has felt awkward and out of place - motherless and friendless, long-legged and small-busted, standing head and shoulders taller than her curvy classmates. Then one day a mysterious package arrives, containing clues about her mother's past, and about Linda's own future. If her mother - Linda's mirror image - could spark passionate fires in hosts of handsome men, what about Linda? Does she dare to break away from her aimless existence and slip on her mother's showgirl gown, to step into those sparkling shoes, and to dance her own dance?

Reviews

'Julia Holden is addictive infectiously so.' - Meg Cabot'


About the Author

Julia Holden
Julia Holden is an entertainment business executive. She lives in Hollywood. A Dangerous Dress is her first novel.

She says: ‘I have spent considerable portions of my life in Indiana, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, California, and Paris … although not necessarily in that order. For seven years, I served as an executive for a major motion picture studio in Los Angeles, and I continue to work in and around the entertainment industry. My family and I currently reside in Southern California. Because I need to eat lunch in this town again, “Julia Holden” is, alas, a pseudonym.

The first, and only, creative writing class I ever took was in high school. My teacher was a nice man who wrote college recommendations for me (I went) and encouraged me to pursue a career in journalism (I didn’t). The teacher’s name was Mr. McCourt. Frank (Angela’s Ashes) McCourt. Who knew?

A Dangerous Dress is my debut novel.

Like Jane Stuart, the heroine of A Dangerous Dress, I am deeply devoted to travel, fashion, and drinking lovely cocktails in exotic locations. Also like Jane, I satisfy those cravings in Paris and New York as often as I possibly can. Unlike Jane, however, I have not met Giorgio Armani.’

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th November 2007

Author

Julia Holden

More books by Julia Holden
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.juliaholden.com/

Publisher

Piatkus Books

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780749938567

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools