It Must Be Love

by Caroline Khoury

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of It Must Be Love

Destiny, crossing paths, the love of a lifetime, and a whole lot of pounding hearts and tumbling into arms, this contemporary romance tingles with the promise of a happy ending.

If you’re longing for a romantic read that fizzes with “what ifs”, tantalising close encounters, emotional conflict and a sense of destiny, Caroline Khoury’s debut It Must Be Love might just be your flute of bubbles. 

 

With a well-paced narrative playing out in different timeframes — the here and now, and events leading up to the present for over a decade — the novel follows the simmering, slow-burn romance between Abbie and Oz, who met as students on a march. This chance encounter led to an unexpected evening of joy, with an idealistic “if it’s meant to be, it’ll be” notion left on the table when they part — Oz returns home to Istanbul and Abbie embarks on a legal career.

 

Then, years later, another chance encounter cements the bond between them, but their lives have moved on, they have other commitments and family issues to deal with. In short, it’s almost as if fate is conspiring against them. But as more times passes, and their liaisons see them connect in London, Istanbul, Beirut, Damascus, and Paris, it becomes all the more important for them to push fate aside and take control of their own destinies.

 

With a colourful cast of characters and plenty of sub-themes (post-natal depression, the conflict between wanting to make your family proud and do you own thing), It Must Be Love takes readers on an emotional rollercoaster that shows how some things are worth waiting for and pursuing to the end.

Joanne Owen

It Must Be Love Synopsis

Fourteen days together. Fifteen years apart.

Their love story isn't over yet...

When Abbie met Oz they were young, idealistic students from different backgrounds, but their connection was unmistakable. Then Oz went home to Istanbul and life moved on.

Years later, Abbie and Oz meet again - a chance encounter that could change everything.

Despite leading very different lives, they find themselves drawn to eachother once more. But they have commitments, jobs and families that take priority - and too much time has passed... Hasn't it?

From London to Istanbul, Paris to Beirut, It Must Be Love is a heart-wrenching story that will leave you believing in the power of fate and destiny. Perfect for fans of Josie Silver and Sophie Cousens.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529156454
Publication date: 3rd February 2022
Author: Caroline Khoury
Publisher: Penguin an imprint of Cornerstone
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Collections:
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:
Win the Women's Prize for Fiction 2022 Shortlist!

Win the Women's Prize for Fiction 2022 Shortlist!

Closing date: 30/05/2022

The Women’s Prize for Fiction – the greatest celebration of women’s creativity – today announces its 2022 Shortlist. And what a thing of beauty it is. Win a copy of the Shortlist with LoveReading. The Bread The Devil Knead by Lisa Allen-Agostini The Sentence by Louise Erdrich Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason The Book of Form and Emptiness by Ruth Ozeki The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 29th May 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After It Must Be Love

Careering
Thirst
The Language of Flowers
The Kiss

Caroline Khoury Press Reviews

One of the most wonderful will-they-won't-they books I've read. I wasn't sure who Abby was going to end up with and the way the ending rolled around was really unexpected. -- Lorna Cook

'Life-affirming and unforgettable, this is a very special love story' Holly Miller

'A gorgeously romantic and evocative debut ... I know it's going to be a hit!' Emma Hughes

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529156454
Publication date: 03/02/2022
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

Share this book