LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

How to Kidnap the Rich

by Rahul Raina

Crime / Mystery Debut Books of the Month Humour (fiction) Political Thrillers Star Books Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on How to Kidnap the Rich

Smart and smirky as heck, this is a furiously wonderful wow of a crime caper that will no doubt be sitting on my list of favourite books of the year.  Ramesh has set himself up with a business sitting exams for the kids of India’s middle classes, it all goes spectacularly wrong when he accidentally scores the highest mark in the country. The opening slapped my attention, in fact from the first sentence I was as hooked as a hooked thing can be! This is Rahul Raina’s debut, and he has created the most extraordinary voice in Ramesh. Ramesh tells his own story, words spill from him in a torrent that feels so incredibly authentic even as my eyebrows reached for the stars. The words ganged together to create the most exhilarating story. The plot alternately sang or punched me in the guts, just when I felt comfortable, bang, my thoughts were swinging in free fall again. There is a political commentary to be found among the whirlwind wit and satire, however it certainly doesn’t preach, it just lays it out you to view, and then consider. How to Kidnap the Rich is a hugely entertaining wild ride, so good it had to be a Liz Pick of the Month and a LoveReading Star Book.

Liz Robinson

How to Kidnap the Rich Synopsis

Ramesh has a simple formula for fame and success: find a wealthy kid, make him a star and create an elaborate scheme to extort money from his parents, what could go wrong?

As a self-styled 'examinations consultant', Ramesh is the cog in the wheel that keeps India's middle classes thriving. When he takes an exam for Rudi - an intolerably lazy but rich teenager - he accidently scores the highest mark in the country and propels Rudi into stardom.

What next?

Blackmail. Reality television. Grotesque wealth.

And after that?

Kidnap. Double-kidnap. Reverse kidnap.

In a studio filled with hot lights, with millions of eyes on the boys, and a government investigator circling, the entire country begins to question: who are they?

Win a copy of The Lost Hours and Forgive me by Susan Lewis

Win a copy of The Lost Hours and Forgive me by Susan Lewis

Closing date: 01/05/2021

The Lost Hours by Susan Lewis is a "a satisfying and lively family drama, perfect for those who like a few twists and turns along the way." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of The Lost Hours we're working with HarperCollins to offer a give away a hardback copy of the book as well as a paperback of Forgive Me, also by Susan Lewis This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st May 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

How to Kidnap the Rich Press Reviews

Part crime novel, part satire on modern India and told with authenticity, razor-sharp wit and a biting turn of phrase, Rahul Raina's How to Kidnap the Rich is a book I've been waiting a long time for. I can't remember the last time I read such an assured debut. Raina writes like he's been doing this all his life. Ladies and gentlemen, it's time to welcome a new star to the world of international crime fiction -- Abir Mukherjee, author of A RISING MAN

Brutally funny and fast-paced, this debut from Rahul Raina proves he is a star in the making -- Nikesh Shukla

Rahul Raina's voice crackles with wit and the affecting exuberance of youth. His ripping good story grabs you on page one and doesn't let go, taking you on a monstrously funny and unpredictable wild ride through a thousand different Delhis at top speed. How To Kidnap the Rich roars with brilliance, freshness and so much heart -- Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians

Rahul Raina's How to Kidnap the Rich has already been optioned by HBO: a Delhi-set, reality TV-based literary crime crossover, it will appeal to fans of Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians - Daily Mail

A satire, a love story and a thriller, How To Kidnap The Rich by Rahul Raina has shades of The Talented Mr Ripley that also casts an unerring eye over the huge disparity in Indian society. A rollercoaster of a read, this is going to be big - Stylist

White Tiger meets Caddyshack the movie in Raina's lively novel, brimming with rat-a-tat-tat wit, breezy prose and a keen observation of colorism, casteism and social inequity. Unputdownable! -- Alka Joshi, NYT bestselling author of The Henna Artist

Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale from the very first line . . . A hugely entertaining and unique debut that satirically dissects India's inequalities - Cosmopolitan

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Postscript Murders
The Silent Wife
The Source
Vera Kelly Is Not A Mystery

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408713341
Publication date: 06/05/2021
Publisher: Little, Brown an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408713341
Publication date: 6th May 2021
Author: Rahul Raina
Publisher: Little, Brown an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 304 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Debuts of the Month, Humour, Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month, Political Thrillers, Star Books, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Rahul Raina

Rahul Raina divides his time between Oxford and Delhi. He runs his own consultancy in England for part of the year, and works for charities for street children and teaches English in India in the down season.

More About Rahul Raina

More Books By Rahul Raina

Cover for How to Kidnap the Rich by Rahul Raina
View All Books By Rahul Raina

Share this book