The Driftwood Girls

by Mark Douglas-Home

Part of the The Sea Detective Series

Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense

The Driftwood Girls Synopsis

Kate and Flora have always been haunted by a mystery - their mother, Christine, vanished without trace when they were children.

But now Kate has a more urgent problem: Flora has disappeared too.

In desperation, she searches Flora's house, and finds a scrap of paper with a name scribbled on it: Cal McGill.

Cal is a 'sea detective': an expert in the winds and the tides, and consequently adept at finding lost things - and lost people.

Can Cal find Flora?

And might he even know the secret of what happened to their mother, all those years ago . . . ?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781405923637
Publication date: 9th January 2020
Author: Mark Douglas-Home
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Closing date: 07/11/2021

We are teaming up with translated crime fiction aficionados Bitter Lemon Press to offer a brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include a copy of all six 2021 releases. The titles up for grabs are: Crocodile Tears by Mercedes Rosende The Measure of Time by Gianrico Carofiglio How To Betray Your Country by James Wolff The Basel Killings by Hansjo?rg Schneider The Transparency of Time by Leonardo Padura The Foreign Girls by Sergio Olguín This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 7th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Driftwood Girls

Love Me Not
The Wych Elm
No Lovelier Death

Mark Douglas-Home Press Reviews

A first-class mystery...satisfying, intelligent and compelling, perhaps the finest, so far, of the Sea Detective series - a series that is established already as one of the best in contemporary crime fiction. - The Scotsman

Full of suspense, a gripping 'whodunnit' laced with psychological tension. Douglas-Home is an author who can pull the wool over the reader's eyes until the very end - Scottish Field

It's a first-class mystery, perplexing and at times disturbing, but also with a couple of comic scenes to lighten the atmosphere - Yorkshire Post

The unusual background and the layered plots make this a series for those who enjoy their puzzles dense and strange - Morning Star

A first-class mystery . . . satisfying, intelligent and compelling, perhaps the finest, so far, of the Sea Detective series - a series that is established already as one of the best in contemporary crime fiction - The Scotsman

A first-class mystery - perplexing and at times disturbing - i paper

Douglas-Home's intelligence, imagination and lucid writing, coupled with David Monteath's addictively accented narration, successfully carries the listener through a somewhat labyrinthine plot, ingeniously weaving in every apparent loose end. - The Times (Audiobook of the Week)

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781405923637
Publication date: 09/01/2020
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Mark Douglas-Home

Mark Douglas-Home is a journalist turned author, who was editor of the Herald and the Sunday Times Scotland. His career in journalism began as a student in South Africa where he edited the newspaper at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. After the apartheid government banned a number of editions, he was deported from the country. He is married with two children and lives in Edinburgh.

More About Mark Douglas-Home

More Books By Mark Douglas-Home

The Driftwood Girls
The Driftwood Girls
The Driftwood Girls
View All Books By Mark Douglas-Home

Share this book