LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Would Like to Meet

by Rachel Winters

Debut Books of the Month Debuts Humour (fiction) Relationship Stories Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on Would Like to Meet

An absolute delight of a romantic comedy debut, stuffed full of smiles, flirtations, and feel-good moments. Evie has to prove that it is possible to meet and fall in movie-style love, her job depends on it, and so her life is taken over by arranging ridiculously cheesy meet-cutes. The intriguing chatty prologue made me snort with laughter and I found myself relaxing and sinking into the story. Text messages, emails, and screenplay excerpts appear within the pages (but not too many), which keeps things interesting. Anette, and Evie’s friends are a fabulous supporting cast, while the two leading men add an edge to the will-they-won’t-they potential! Rachel Winters keeps things beautifully bright and breezy, bringing out the very best of the romcom. Would Like To Meet is very lovely indeed, in fact, it allows you to properly escape reality for a while and I really didn’t want to leave the pages! 

 

Liz Robinson

Would Like to Meet Synopsis

Long-suffering assistant Evie Summers will lose her job unless she can convince her film agency's biggest and most difficult client, Ezra Chester, to finish the script for a Hollywood romcom. The catch? He hasn't started writing it.

Suffering from 'writer's block,' he will only put pen to paper if singleton Evie can prove to him that you can fall in love like they do in the movies. Forget internet dating, Evie can only meet a man the way that Sally met Harry, or Hugh Grant meets anyone. Cue her entering into one ridiculous romcom scenario after another. But can life ever be like the movies?

Of course, real life is never that straightforward . . .

For readers who enjoyed Hot Mess, Everything I Know About Love and To All The Boys I've Loved Before

Would Like to Meet Press Reviews

This is The Perfect romcom, sharp and clever and so funny! - Michele Gorman

a writer who's one to watch - Sarra Manning

Relive your favourite rom-com movie moments in this charming and delightful meet-cute novel -- Erin Reinelt Winters's charming debut combines tropes from classic romantic comedy films to hilarious effect. - Publishers Weekly

This was a dream of a rom-com! A delightful summer read that had me revelling in the meet-cutes and rooting for a happy-ever-after. Touching and smart, with a cast of warm, funny characters I completely fell for. -- Holly Miller A fresh and funny romcom with all the magic of the movies. Would like to read more! -- Anna Bell I completely loved it. Smart, self-aware, and properly funny. I was cheering Evie on from page one. -- Richard Roper Funny, fresh and heart-warming - a book to fall in love with -- Stella Newman -

If you loved this, you might like these...

This Time Next Year
My One True North
The Country Bride
A Village Scandal

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409184911
Publication date: 30/04/2020
Publisher: Trapeze an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409184911
Publication date: 30th April 2020
Author: Rachel Winters
Publisher: Trapeze an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Debuts of the Month, Debuts, Humour, Relationship Stories, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Adult & contemporary romance, Performing arts: comedy,

About Rachel Winters

Rachel Winters has lived and worked in London, since graduating with a degree in Creative Writing, and Masters in Publishing. Her first role in the publishing industry involved writing a newspaper column for cat breeders, though she has never owned a cat. It was as Sex and the City as it sounds, but set her on the path to becoming a commissioning editor for a major publisher by day, and a debut novelist by night. Would Like to Meet is her first novel.

More About Rachel Winters

More Books By Rachel Winters

Cover for Would Like to Meet by Rachel Winters
View All Books By Rachel Winters

Share this book