LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Angel's Mark

by S. W. Perry

Part of the The Jackdaw Mysteries Series

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Crime / Mystery Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Angel's Mark

London, 1570. The body of a “male child, malformed in the limbs” is washed-up in the mud of the Thames. While the Queen’s Coroner presumes him to have drowned, Dr Nicholas Shelby deduces that the marks on the boy’s body point to him being murdered but, since the boy is of no importance, no one cares, except for principled Shelby himself. When a second body is found bearing the same markings, he sets about discovering the killer’s identity, and it soon becomes clear that there are more victims besides. An exhilarating cast of characters emerge from the unfolding action, among them Bianca, an enigmatic innkeeper with apothecary skills. And so a richly suspenseful story of risk and betrayal plays out against a backdrop of political instability, paranoia and heresy. 

Fans of CJ Sansom and SG Maclean will surely be heartily satisfied by this elegant historical mystery.

Books in The Jackdaw Mysteries Series:

1. The Angel's Mark

2. The Serpent's Mark

3. The Saracen's Mark

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Joanne Owen

The Angel's Mark Synopsis

Longlisted for the Crime Writers' Association Historical Fiction Dagger, 2019

A Walter Scott Prize Academy Recommended Read 2019

Heresy. Conspiracy. Murder...

London, 1590: Amidst a tumultuous backdrop of Spanish plotters, Catholic heretics and foreign wars, Queen Elizabeth I's control over her kingdom is wavering.

And a killer is at work, preying on the weak and destitute of London...

Idealistic physician Nicholas Shelby becomes determined to end these terrible murders. Joined in his investigations by Bianca, a beautiful but mysterious tavern keeper, the pair find themselves caught in the middle of a sinister plot.

With the killer still at large, Bianca finds herself in terrible danger. Nicholas's choice seems impossible - to save Bianca, or save himself...

'Wonderful! Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it.' Giles Kristian

The Angel's Mark Press Reviews

[A] sad, compassionate story beautifully told. - Daily Express

A tense whodunit and a fine debut. - Weekend Sport

The Angel's Mark has the pace of a thriller... S.W. Perry is a welcome addition to the ranks of historical crime novelists. - Simon Brett, author of the Fethering Mystery series

An impressively dramatic and gripping debut novel. Elegantly written, thoroughly researched, The Angel's Mark draws us into the murky world of Elizabethan London where life is a game of chance, and savage death a close neighbour, quick to pounce on the unsuspecting. I predict that we will be seeing much more of Nicholas Shelby, physician and reluctant spy. - Anne O'Brien, author of The Scandalous Duchess

A remarkably assured and classy debut. Perry grabs your attention from the first paragraph and holds it throughout a fascinating journey into high and low life of Tudor London. This could, hopefully, be the start of an addictive series. - L. C. Tyler, author of the John Gray Historical Mystery series

I knew before I got to the bottom of the first page that The Angel's Mark was the real thing. In an increasingly crowded field, this one is going to stand out. - S. G. MacLean

An engaging Elizabethan thriller. - Sunday Times

Wonderful! Beautiful writing, and Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it. - Giles Kristian

A strong and convincing debut. -- Antonia Senior - The Times

A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. It immerses you in the late 16th century and leaves you wrung out with terror. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous. - Rory Clements

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Boy from the Woods
Hunter Killer
Families of Spies
Into the Fire

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781786494948
Publication date: 02/05/2019
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781786494924
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781786494948
Publication date: 2nd May 2019
Author: S. W. Perry
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Crime / Mystery, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical mysteries, Espionage & spy thriller,

About S. W. Perry

S. W. Perry was a journalist and broadcaster before retraining as an airline pilot. He lives in Worcestershire with his wife and two spaniels.

More About S. W. Perry

More Books By S. W. Perry

Cover for The Saracen's Mark by S. W. Perry
Cover for The Serpent's Mark by S. W. Perry
Cover for The Serpent's Mark by S. W. Perry
View All Books By S. W. Perry

Share this book