LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Angel's Mark

by S. W. Perry

Part of the The Jackdaw Mysteries Series

Crime and Mystery Historical fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading Expert Review of The Angel's Mark

This richly-imagined, immersive cauldron of Elizabethan intrigue, blackmail and betrayal heralds the arrival of a fine, fresh talent in the field of historical fiction.

London, 1570. The body of a “male child, malformed in the limbs” is washed-up in the mud of the Thames. While the Queen’s Coroner presumes him to have drowned, Dr Nicholas Shelby deduces that the marks on the boy’s body point to him being murdered but, since the boy is of no importance, no one cares, except for principled Shelby himself. When a second body is found bearing the same markings, he sets about discovering the killer’s identity, and it soon becomes clear that there are more victims besides. An exhilarating cast of characters emerge from the unfolding action, among them Bianca, an enigmatic innkeeper with apothecary skills. And so a richly suspenseful story of risk and betrayal plays out against a backdrop of political instability, paranoia and heresy. 

Fans of CJ Sansom and SG Maclean will surely be heartily satisfied by this elegant historical mystery.

Books in The Jackdaw Mysteries Series:

1. The Angel's Mark

2. The Serpent's Mark

3. The Saracen's Mark

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

Joanne Owen

The Angel's Mark Synopsis

'A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure... Historical fiction at its most sumptuous.' Rory Clements LONDON, 1590. Queen Elizabeth I's control over her kingdom is wavering. Amidst a tumultuous backdrop of Spanish plotters, Catholic heretics and foreign wars threatening the country's fragile stability, the body of a small boy is found in the City of London, with strange marks that no one can explain. When idealistic physician Nicholas Shelby finds another body displaying the same marks only days later, he becomes convinced that a killer is at work, preying on the weak and destitute of London. Determined to find out who is behind these terrible murders, Nicholas is joined in his investigations by Bianca, a mysterious tavern keeper. As more bodies are discovered, the pair find themselves caught in the middle of a sinister plot. With the killer still at large, and Bianca in terrible danger, Nicholas's choice seems impossible - to save Bianca, or save himself...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781786494948
Publication date: 2nd May 2019
Author: S. W. Perry
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Primary Genre Espionage and Spy Thriller
Other Genres:

What To Read After The Angel's Mark

The Accidental Agent
A Prince and a Spy
The Thirty-nine Steps
Sentinel A Spycatcher Novel

S. W. Perry Press Reviews

A remarkably assured and classy debut. Perry grabs your attention from the first paragraph and holds it throughout a fascinating journey into high and low life of Tudor London. This could, hopefully, be the start of an addictive series. - L C Tyler

The Angel's Mark has the pace of a thriller... S.W. Perry is a welcome addition to the ranks of historical crime novelists. - Simon Brett

An impressively dramatic and gripping debut novel. Elegantly written, thoroughly researched, The Angel's Mark draws us into the murky world of Elizabethan London where life is a game of chance, and savage death a close neighbour, quick to pounce on the unsuspecting. I predict that we will be seeing much more of Nicholas Shelby, physician and reluctant spy. - Anne O'Brien

I knew before I got to the bottom of the first page that The Angel's Mark was the real thing. In an increasingly crowded field, this one is going to stand out. - S. G. MacLean

Wonderful! Beautiful writing, and Perry's Elizabethan London is so skilfully evoked, so real that one can almost smell it. - Giles Kristian

A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. It immerses you in the late 16th century and leaves you wrung out with terror. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous. - Rory Clements

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781786494948
Publication date: 02/05/2019
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781786494924
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About S. W. Perry

S. W. Perry was a journalist and broadcaster before retraining as an airline pilot. He lives in Worcestershire with his wife and two spaniels.

More About S. W. Perry

More Books By S. W. Perry

The Angel's Mark
The Angel's Mark
The Angel's Mark
View All Books By S. W. Perry

Share this book