LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6)

by Sarah Hilary

Part of the D.I. Marnie Rome Series

Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6)

If you were to ask me to recommend a crime fiction series, this is it, this is the one. Sarah Hilary has the ability to write with such beautiful, quiet clarity even when the words scream and pound at your thoughts. ‘Never Be Broken’ is the sixth in the D.I. Marnie Rome series, do go back and start at the beginning if you come to this recommendation for the first time, the books have to be read in order, just simply to make the most of every thought, every word. Sarah Hilary’s debut ‘Someone Else’s Skin’ won the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year, and I have hunted down every one in the series since. The pain and torment at the centre of London society, the stabbings, the gangs, sit at the centre of ‘Never Be Broken’. The first few pages focus on ‘now’, fiercely kicking me right in the centre of my feelings, vividly bruising me before chapter one then returns to 48 hours earlier. This is intense, startling storytelling, it feels… it feels real, as though this is happening right now. ‘Never Be Broken’ may be fiction, you could think it is fact, it hurts, it shocks, it reads so beautifully it just has to be one of my picks of the month. 

Liz Robinson

Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6) Synopsis

Compulsive, gripping and dark, NEVER BE BROKEN is the stunning new novel in the Marnie Rome series, for fans of Peter James, Mark Billingham, and Val McDermid

'Sarah Hilary writes beautifully and unflinchingly' Peter James

Noah Jake has seen dead bodies before but when a young woman falls to her death from a London tower block, landing in the bonnet of his car, everything changes for him. Has he witnessed an accident, suicide, or something worse? Whichever, it affects him deeply.

London's young people are being trafficked into gangs, exploited, and killed. Thirteen-year-old Raffa Jordan was shot in the street, an innocent bystander in a gang war, or so it seems. It looks as if Samantha Haile is just the latest victim in the wave of violence sweeping the city. Only Noah feels the need to treat her differently, to chase down the truth of what happened that day.

Marnie Rome wants to help, but even she cannot grasp why Noah is risking so much for the sake of this stranger he never knew. As Marnie finally finds peace with her own past, she is faced with the far harder task of bringing Noah back from the brink of self-destruction.

Win a Signed Copy of The Poison Garden!

Win a Signed Copy of The Poison Garden!

Closing date: 23/02/2020

We're celebrating the release of The Poison Garden by Alex Marwood by giving away a signed copy of the book! Where Romy grew up, if someone died you never spoke of them again. Shocking, tense and sharply written, The Poison Garden is the gripping new novel from the international bestseller and Edgar award-winning Alex Marwood. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 23rd February 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6) Press Reviews

A satisfyingly complex mystery - Mail on Sunday

Compulsive and page-turning -- Melanie McGrath Magnificent -- Alex Marwood Heartbreaking, tense, intelligent storytelling from a writer at the top of her game. You won't get better writing than this - Live and Deadly blog

Tough, tender, absolutely terrifying -- Erin Kelly Sarah Hilary is going to be up there with the likes of Ruth Rendell, PD James and Val McDermid, as a game changer of British crime fiction - Crime Review

The Marnie Rome stories are clever and sharp, but they also have the most incredibly emotional depth and clarity. I adored it -- Joanna Cannon Addictive, chilling and beautifully written. The timely story pulls you in deep -- Will Dean Never Be Broken gloriously demonstrates that modern crime fiction really isn't all about the murders -- Val McDermid Deeply contemporary, painfully real, heartbreakingly good -- Mick Herron [A] searing perceptive novel - Observer

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Poison Garden
Deep State
A Dark Matter
Their Little Secret

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472249029
Publication date: 23/01/2020
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781472249005
Publication date: 16/05/2019
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472249029
Publication date: 23rd January 2020
Author: Sarah Hilary
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Thriller / suspense,

About Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary's debut novel SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. It was the Observer's Book of the Month ('superbly disturbing'), a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS and TASTES LIKE FEAR continue the DI Marnie Rome series with QUIETER THAN KILLING to follow in early 2017. Sarah lives in Bath. Sarah lives in Bath.   Author photo © Linda Nylind

More About Sarah Hilary

More Books By Sarah Hilary

Cover for Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6) by Sarah Hilary
Cover for Come and Find Me  by Sarah Hilary
Cover for Come and Find Me  by Sarah Hilary
View All Books By Sarah Hilary

Share this book