Bold as Brass

by Isabel Rogers

Part of the The Stockwell Park Orchestra Series Series

Relationship Stories Crime and Mystery Humorous fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Bold as Brass

A gentle amusing mystery set around an orchestra as they invite two local schools to join them.

A gentle (well, apart from the occasional brawl and scuffle), amusing mystery focusing on an orchestra who with good intentions, invite two local schools to join them. The two very different schools have never mixed, and when things start to go missing, accusations aren’t too far around the corner. Add to the mix a dash of romance, an off duty Detective Chief Inspector, a famous composer, plenty of gossip after practice at the pub and you have an enjoyable read in your hands. This is book two in The Stockwell Park Orchestra Series however I joined here and felt entirely comfortable doing so. Isabel Rogers balances the music know-how with more than a whiff of mystery. The characters are bright and engaging, or occasionally downright dastardly. Bold as Brass is an entertaining read, light-hearted it may be, it is also capable of provoking thoughts too.

Liz Robinson

Bold as Brass Synopsis

Community music projects always spread harmony... don't they? When players in Stockwell Park Orchestra fear they may be getting out of touch with their local community, they invite children from two nearby schools to join them for a season. Supercilious, rich Oakdean College pupils have never mixed with the rough Sunbridge Academy kids, and when things go missing and rumours spread, the situation threatens to turn ugly. And that's before any parents - or a godfather who happens to be a famous composer - get involved. DCI Noel Osmar has to tread carefully. After all, he's off duty. Can music heal social rifts? Who has been stealing and why? And will orchestra administrator Pearl have to go to Waitrose for some Duchy Original biscuits to keep the peace? Praise for The Stockwell Park Orchestra Series: I was charmed... a very enjoyable read. Marian Keyes Friendly insults between musicians, sacrosanct coffee-and-biscuit breaks, tedious committee meetings: welcome to the world of the amateur orchestra. BBC Music Magazine ...a witty and irreverent musical romp, full of characters I'd love to go for a pint with. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the Stockwell Park Orchestra and can't wait for the next book in the series. Claire King, author of The Night Rainbow Sharp, witty and richly entertaining. Lev Parikian, author of Why Do Birds Suddenly Disappear? With its retro humour bordering on farce, this novel offers an escape into the turbulent (and bonkers) world of the orchestra. Isabel Costello, author of Paris Mon Amour.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781788421386
Publication date: 11th July 2019
Author: Isabel Rogers
Publisher: Prelude Books (Farrago Books)
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Closing date: 07/11/2021

We are teaming up with translated crime fiction aficionados Bitter Lemon Press to offer a brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include a copy of all six 2021 releases. The titles up for grabs are: Crocodile Tears by Mercedes Rosende The Measure of Time by Gianrico Carofiglio How To Betray Your Country by James Wolff The Basel Killings by Hansjo?rg Schneider The Transparency of Time by Leonardo Padura The Foreign Girls by Sergio Olguín This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 7th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Bold as Brass

The Cambridge Curry Club
Little Siberia
What We Do For Love

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781788421386
Publication date: 11/07/2019
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Isabel Rogers

Isabel Rogers writes poetry and fiction, but never on the same day. She won the 2014 Cardiff International Poetry Competition, was Hampshire Poet Laureate 2016, and her debut collection, Don't Ask, came out in 2017 (Eyewear). Life, Death and Cellos is her first novel to be published. She had a proper City job before a decade in the Scottish Highlands, writing and working in the NHS. She now lives in Hampshire, laughs a lot, and neglects her cello. She is on Twitter @Isabelwriter. More info on her website:

More About Isabel Rogers

More Books By Isabel Rogers

Bold as Brass
Bold as Brass
Bold as Brass
View All Books By Isabel Rogers

Share this book