Daisy Waugh - Author

About the Author

Daisy Waugh was our Guest Editor in September 2013 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.

 

Daisy Waugh is a journalist and travel writer. She has worked as an agony aunt and as a restaurant critic. She was a teacher at a girl’s school in Northern Kenya and has also written a weekly column from Los Angeles about her attempts to become a Hollywood scriptwriter. Daisy and her family of five live in London.

 

Click here to read the 'Ask the Author' feature on Daisy Waugh.

 

Author photo © Paul Stuart

Featured books by Daisy Waugh

Other books by Daisy Waugh

Honeyville

Honeyville

Author: Daisy Waugh Format: eBook Release Date: 22/09/2014

A hooker. A mistress. A murder. This town was built on sin.The town of Trinidad, Colorado was a tough place to be a woman in 1913. But it was the best place in the West to find one, if you had the cash.Honeyville, they used to call it.A murder throws Inez and Dora together - two women from opposite sides of town, in a town built for men. Against all odds, the well born girl and the high class hooker are drawn together in friendship...But this is a town that is rotten to the core, and beyond the rustling of silk skirts, the dancing and laughter, deadly unrest is building...Welcome to Honeyville - a town living by its own rules, where nothing is quite as it seemsA STORY INSPIRED BY A LOST CHAPTER IN AMERICAN HISTORY

I Don't Know Why She Bothers Guilt Free Motherhood For Thoroughly Modern Women

I Don't Know Why She Bothers Guilt Free Motherhood For Thoroughly Modern Women

Author: Daisy Waugh Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/05/2014

A timely, intelligent and important book for fans of LEAN IN and Caitlin Moran: why do modern mothers allow themselves to suffer from so much guilt? Mothering skills are now scrutinised, measured, judged, discussed and disapproved of like never before. The bar is set so preposterously high, it's impossible, at least in the early years, not to feel like a long lost loser: and honestly, mothers only have themselves to blame... Motherly love is ferocious, intense, fathomless, unconditional and absolute. Daisy will add a dusting of reality to the sickly sweet bake-your-own rubbish by covering topics such as breast pumps, other children, sleepovers, swearing (yours and theirs) and contagious diseases. It's time to burn the maternity bras and Daisy is the first at the stake to exclaim, 'Enough! Life is short. Mothers adore their children. But they're people too. And that is more than just a mother.'

Melting the Snow on Hester Street

Melting the Snow on Hester Street

Author: Daisy Waugh Format: eBook Release Date: 28/03/2013

Rich. Beautiful. Damned.Sumptuously evoking the Golden Age of Hollywood, a time when money is built on greed and love can be a trick of the light, Daisy Waugh's stunning new novel is a compelling portrait of love, fame, and survival.It is the blistering summer of 1929 and Hollywood's glamorous set appear to have it all. Everybody everywhere is living the Hollywood dream, including the elegant and charming, high-society couple, actor and actress Maximilian and Eleanor Beecham. But beneath the sophistication and glamour their insecure and unhappy marriage is on the brink of divorce and their finances are teetering on a knife's edge after a series of failed films.When the creditors come in to take possession of the house, it seems all is lost and they have nowhere to turn but into the arms of their waiting lovers.But when they receive an invitation to one of the legendary weekend house parties at Hearst Castle - which they know will be filled every Hollywood big-shot around - they cannot resist one last shot of making it in the film industry. With gossip, glamour, scandal and decadence the party is the epitome of the Golden Era, but for Maximilian and Eleanor the time has come to make a decision that will change their future.Will they sacrifice everything for fame and fortune or can Eleanor and Maximilian learn to love each other again?

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.daisywaugh.co.uk

Author's Facebook

Find Daisy Waugh on Facebook