Killing It

by Asia Mackay

Thriller and Suspense Action Adventure Humorous fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Killing It

A fiercely entertaining and unique read snapping with wit and humour.

Oh, how I thoroughly enjoyed this feisty, entertaining, full-on read. Working mum Alexis returns to the office after maternity leave. She’s one of only a few women agents at Platform Eight, an especially secret part of Her Majesty’s Secret Service. She now has to prove she can fit motherhood around the male dominated world of being a spy. Alexis stamps her personality all over the prologue, convincingly setting the scene. She tells her own story in a fast, tongue-in-cheek, bright tone, and I immediately warmed to her. Firmly on side and by her side as she races through her first operation I smirked and chortled as I read. Asia Mackay balances the theme of working mum with spy just perfectly, and I didn’t question it once. Killing It is uniquely fabulous and full of attitude, The Nursery is next in what will hopefully continue as a series, and just can’t come soon enough.

Liz Robinson

Killing It Synopsis

Every working mum has had to face it.

The guilt-fuelled, anxiety-filled first day back in the office after maternity leave.

But this working mum is one of a kind.

Meet Alexis Tyler.

An elite covert agent within Her Majesty's Secret Service.

Her first project back is a high-stakes hit of global significance and the old boys network of government espionage is far from ready for the return of an operational mother. But woe betide anyone who ever tells Alexis Tyler 'you can't'.

She will have it all. Or she'll die trying . . .

And yes, she damn well will be home for bath time.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781785764530
Publication date: 12th July 2018
Author: Asia Mackay
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Collections: 70+ Action-Packed Books, 80+ Humorous Novels - from Wry and Sly Observations to Outright Chuckles and Laughter.,
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Closing date: 07/11/2021

We are teaming up with translated crime fiction aficionados Bitter Lemon Press to offer a brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include a copy of all six 2021 releases. The titles up for grabs are: Crocodile Tears by Mercedes Rosende The Measure of Time by Gianrico Carofiglio How To Betray Your Country by James Wolff The Basel Killings by Hansjo?rg Schneider The Transparency of Time by Leonardo Padura The Foreign Girls by Sergio Olguín This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 7th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Killing It

The Exile
The Tenth Case
Invisible Streets
The Boy Who Saw

Asia Mackay Press Reviews

An annoyingly brilliant and funny first novel - Hugh Grant

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! It's so new and different and refreshing and I found it such fun (also loved the feminist message) - Marian Keyes

Witty and original . . . one for your suitcase this summer - Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go

I loved it. Really entertaining, good fun and captures the mum juggle/guilt perfectly. Would love to go out for a drink with Lex. PS You had me at Monkey Music #TeamLex - The Unmumsy Mum

A riotously fun read . . . James Bond should retire now: Lex Tyler shows him up for the tired old has-been he is. With prose as sharp as her heroine's (actual) killer heels, Asia Mackay puts the sass in assassin as it's never been done before - L. S. Hilton

Witty . . . fun . . . clever. BRILLIANT! - Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Killing It will bring to the screen an urgently contemporary, kick-ass action heroine for our times. Lex Tyler is the ultimate female trail-blazer: as dextrous with a breast pump as she is with a gun. We're so excited to be going on a thrilling action adventure with Lex, to cinematise her battle with returning to work, trying to take care of a young baby and, of course, trying to save the country . . . - Rory Aitken, Producer, 42 Media & Production

This might be the best fun I've ever had reading a book. Funny, observant and proper adrenaline inducing thrills, I now solely aspire to be even half the woman Lex Tyler is. A bad ass with a baby: every mother's dream - Georgia Tennant

What new mother can't relate to murder? This is the funny and thrilling story of how one woman does what all women do all the time - manage every single thing - and throws in a bit of efficient killing. Brilliant, wish I'd done more of that . . . - Arabella Weir

Bold and ballsy with style to burn, Killing It takes a sledgehammer to the spy genre and the result is pure brilliance - Chris Whitaker, winner of the CWA John Creasey Dagger

I really think it deserves to be read as a feminist rallying cry to all of those mothers doing such a lot of emotional, as well as physical, work to keep their families happy - Stephanie Butland, author of Lost for Words

Mackay's debut is fresh and fun, and adroitly combines social and parenting comedy with detail-rich derring-do -- John Dugdale - The Sunday Times

Mackay's debut is fresh and fun, and adroitly combines social and parenting comedy with detail-rich derring-do - Sunday Times

With a slick plot, pin-sharp prose and an authentic feel, this fiercely feminist and witty thriller will keep you gripped . . . and rooting for a rather wonderful heroine - Sunday Mirror

With dark humour, a twisty plot and a healthy dose of genuine emotion, this unique novel is a thrilling ride - Heat magazine

This fiercely feminist and witty thriller will keep you gripped - and rooting for the really rather wonderful heroine - Sunday People

Forget James Bond and meet this summer's most fearless, most resourceful and most entertaining superhero-spy . . . In her hilarious, clever and refreshingly original debut, Asia Mackay shows us just what fun can be extracted from the creation of a breast-feeding but strong-willed woman who can successfully combine espionage with motherhood . . . As fast with her mother-of-the-baby quips as she is with a loaded .38 pistol, Lex Tyler is a brilliant new feminist hero . . . Mackay's twist on the traditional male spy genre - starring an agent who uses her equivalent of Bond's Q to rig up surveillance gadgets for 'hands-free parenting' - is entertainment at its most imaginative and enjoyable. With put-downs aplenty, breathtaking action sequences, and fascinating emotional insights into every working mother's innermost guilt complex, this is a hit-woman thriller that certainly hits the spot! - Lancashire Evening Post

Exciting and very funny - http://bookoxygen.com

Killing It is lighthearted, funny and very easy to read . . . I couldn't put this one down - The L Space

With put-downs aplenty, breathtaking action sequences, and fascinating emotional insights into every working mother's innermost guilt complex, this is a hit-woman thriller that certainly hits the spot! - Lancashire Evening Post

Smart, funny and pacy, Killing It is SUCH fun . . . (think James Bond meets Villanelle/Killing Eve) and a total feminist badass protagonist with sharp wit. An immensely satisfying read for fans of Lisa Lutz and Janet Evanovich, or for those who love their crime fiction but would like to find something in the genre that's refreshing and fun - Better Read Than Dead

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781785764530
Publication date: 12/07/2018
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781510094222
Publication date: 12/07/2018
Format: CD-Audio

ISBN: 9781785764479
Publication date: 12/07/2018
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

About Asia Mackay

A half-Chinese, half-Scottish Londoner, Asia studied Anthropology at Durham University, after which she started a career in television. She presented and produced lifestyle programmes in Shanghai before moving back to London, where she worked for Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman as Project Manager on their round the world motorbike documentaries. She started writing Killing It on maternity leave and undertook a Faber Academy course to help her finish it. Asia lives in London with her husband, four young children and two dogs. Killing It was her debut novel.

More About Asia Mackay

More Books By Asia Mackay

Killing It
Killing It
Killing It
View All Books By Asia Mackay

Share this book