LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Days of Wonder

by Keith Stuart

Books of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Days of Wonder

A complete and absolute delight, this is a treasure of a read. Tom and his fifteen year old daughter Hannah believe in the magic of the theatre, of creating moments in time that live forever in the memory, when everything comes under threat, can magic prevail? This is one of those wonderful occasions where I just read for the pure spellbinding pleasure of reading. No notes, no overthinking, just cosying in a chair with a beautiful book. The first paragraph took my hand and welcomed me in. Keith Stuart takes ordinary and allows you to see wonder, captures the unimaginable and transforms it to touchable, greets heartache and encourages thoughtful contemplation… and his words are so gorgeously readable. Either Tom or Hannah head each chapter, their voices distinct, clear, vivid in my mind’s eye. Just as a note, I did cry, I had a little wobble as I read (you’ll know when you get there) and had to have a few minutes before I carried on reading, yet Days of Wonder is full of joy, hope, love and is a truly, deeply beautiful read - highly recommended.

Liz Robinson

Days of Wonder Synopsis

The incredible, life-affirming new novel by the author of the Richard & Judy Book Club Bestseller A Boy Made of Blocks for fans of Matt Haig and Jojo Moyes.

Tom, devoted single father to Hannah, is the manager of a tiny local theatre. On each of her birthdays, its colourful cast of part-time actors have staged a fantastical production just for her - a day of wonder. However hard life gets, all Tom wants to do is make every moment magical for her. Now, as Hannah begins to spread her wings, the theatre comes under threat of closure and the two could lose one another. But maybe, just maybe, one final day of magic might just save them both. A story about finding joy in everyday life, Days of Wonder is the most beautiful and uplifting novel you'll read all year. 

Days of Wonder Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

What an amazing book. Informative and candid, it shows both how living with heart disease and parenting can be done. I ended this book feeling not only better informed but also that I could learn from it how to live life a little better. Full review

Jackie Robinson

It made me laugh out loud, it moved me to tears – best book I’ve read in years! Full review

Alexandra Harper-Williams

A wonderful, emotional rollercoaster of a book. Have tissues at the ready and a free couple of days as you won't want to put this down! Full review

Glenda Worth

An emotional story that moves your heart and makes you think that life is just too short and you have to live each day as if it counts. Full review

Katie Lonsdale

Days of Wonder Press Reviews

Blew me away. Keith Stuart has the ability to stop the world around you, but it's more than that, it's almost like he makes the book part of you, and you it - The Quiet Knitter (blog)

This enchanting, uplifting book from the author of A Boy Made of Blocks is a must-read. You'll laugh and cry, but it's an emotional rollercoaster ride you won't want to stop - Candis (Book of the Month)

An uplifting read, full of humour and heart - Sunday Mirror

A beautiful read - Closer

Moving, funny, inspiring and redemptive. It's a long time since a book made me laugh out loud and cry so much and in such equal measure - Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow

Oh Wow. Here is a list of words to describe this story... Beautiful. Powerful. Emotional. Heart-warming. Bold. Touching. Heart-breaking. Wonderful. Outstanding. Brave. A must buy. A must read - Between the Pages Book Club (blog)

Utterly enchanting . . . a truly beautiful story - Ruth Hogan (author of The Keeper of Lost Things)

Days of Wonder is a heart-warming and magical story. A wonderful read - Libby Page (author of The Lido)

This is the most emotionally powerful book we've read all year - Heat

A lovely, funny and very moving novel -- Natasha Harding - Sun

A story of life, love and hope - the perfect antidote to today's world. Phenomenal - Clare Mackintosh

So powerful, yet incredibly gentle and poignant. Utterly and completely beautiful - Joanna Cannon (author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep)

Fans of Jojo Moyes' Me Before You will love Days of Wonder, which packs a similar emotional punch. Made me laugh and cry in turn - Good Housekeeping

If you loved this, you might like these...

The House on the Edge of the Cliff
Call Me Star Girl
Reasons to be Cheerful
A Store at War

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780751563306
Publication date: 07/02/2019
Publisher: Sphere an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780751563306
Publication date: 7th February 2019
Author: Keith Stuart
Publisher: Sphere an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Family Drama, Literary Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Keith Stuart

In 2012 one of Keith Stuart's two sons was diagnosed on the autism spectrum. The ramifications felt huge. But then Keith and both boys started playing videogames together - especially Minecraft. Keith had always played games and, since 1995, has been writing about them, first for specialist magazines like Edge and PC Gamer then, for the last ten years, as games editor for the Guardian. The powerful creative sharing as a family and the blossoming of communication that followed informed his debut novel, A Boy Made of Blocks: a story about a dad who wants to communicate with his autistic son; a ...

More About Keith Stuart

More Books By Keith Stuart

Cover for A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart
Cover for A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart
View All Books By Keith Stuart

Share this book