Ash Princess

by Laura Sebastian

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Debut Books of the Month Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Ash Princess

In a Nutshell:

Rebellion, romance and an imprisoned princess set on revenge 

This ambitiously epic fantasy debut sees a captive princess rise from the ashes of her traumatic childhood to combat a cruel Kaiser. At the tender age of six Theodosia witnessed the brutal murder of her mother, the Queen of Flame and Fury. Now, ten years on, and backed deeper into a no-hope situation by the cruel Kaiser who’s forced her to live in a degraded state as the Ash Princess, Theodosia is driven to concoct a scheme to exact her revenge. With the assistance of a band of magical rebels she will seduce the Kaiser’s son and ruin him from within in order to reclaim the throne.

While this motif is far from new, the writing is bold and fresh, and this promising debut sparkles with Theodosia’s drive and desire. But, while she’s a straight-talking, sharp-thinking young woman, her lively first-person narrative also reveals hidden fears, doubts and personal conflicts which, alongside the gory grimness of the political climate (slavery, brutal colonisation) and a backdrop of elemental gods, makes for a riveting reading experience that comes recommended for fans of Sarah J Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

Joanne Owen

Ash Princess Synopsis

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Queen of Flame and Fury, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed Ash Princess. When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can't ignore her feelings and memories any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser's warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn't expect to develop feelings for the Prinz. Forced to make impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she's willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she's willing to sacrifice to become Queen.

From author Laura Sebastian comes Ash Princess, a nail-biting YA fantasy debut full of daring and vengeance.

Ash Princess Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

They killed her mother the Queen in front of her and made her stab her own father. She has lived in the palace with the ruthless Kalovaxians who conquered her kingdom for years, enduring the insults. Full review

Sonia Hall, age 15

A powerful and thrilling fantasy, Ash Princess kept me on the edge of my seat with its brilliant storyline, complex characters and exciting plots. I absolutely loved it! Ten out of ten! Full review

Sidney Greenslade, age 14

From the start of it I was instantly enthralled and desperate to read more of it. The characters are so good, it’s like the author has actually carved them from human emotion. Full review

Ella, age 13

This book is a fantastic book that drags you into the story and keeps you there the whole way through. I loved it! Full review

Charlotte Cassidy, age 13

This book was incredible! It was one of those stories that I really wanted to finish but never wanting it to end. Full review

Grace Spear, age 15

Beautiful, magnificent and truly captivating. Ash Princess was a wonderful read that I will never forget. Full review

Faghra Saleem, age 14

I eagerly await Laura Sebastian’s next addition to Theo’s story but in the meantime I would definitely recommend this epic novel. Full review

Emma Baird, age 15

Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, it left me hooked to the end. Full review

Izzy Read, age 17

This was a brutal tale of one woman’s fight to survive. Full review

Edel Waugh

I loved this book! It was a struggle to put it down each night so that I could still go to sleep! I’d definitely recommend it! Full review

Megan Chambers, age 17

This great debut novel is a ‘Game of Thrones’ for YA readers ( sorry no dragons!) Full review

Linda Brown

I would recommend this book. It was amazing, crazy and full of plot twists. Full review

Felicity Kerswell, age 15

Ash Princess Press Reviews

A completely addictive page-turner  Askews & Holts Library Services

Darkness, revenge and betrayal in `an edge-of-your-seat fantasy debut. -- Fiona Noble  The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Brink of Darkness
Open Road Summer
Little Liar
My Messed-Up Life

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781509855209
Publication date: 14/06/2018
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509855209
Publication date: 14th June 2018
Author: Laura Sebastian
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Debuts of the Month, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage), Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Laura Sebastian

Laura Sebastian grew up in South Florida and attended Savannah College of Art and Design. She has written a play published with Playscripts, Inc., and lives in New York City, where she spends her time writing fantasy novels, babysitting and interning in publishing. Ash Princess is her debut novel.

More About Laura Sebastian

Share this book